We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous house, and very special!”

Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex
Ranked #1 of 151 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Martin House Complex (Buffalo, NY, 1903-05) exemplifies Frank Lloyd Wright’s Prairie House ideal and ranks as one of his finest residential works. Designed for Larkin Soap Company executive, Darwin D. Martin, the complex is a one-of-a-kind composition consisting of the main Martin House, the smaller Barton House, a carriage house with chauffeur’s quarters and stables, a glass-roofed conservatory linked to the main house by a 100-foot pergola, and a gardener’s cottage integrated architectural masterwork. Tours explore the buildings, surrounding landscape, and an extensive collection of art glass and furnishings, all designed by Wright, which together form a totally integrated architectural masterwork. We welcome you to this National Historic Landmark.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Gorgeous house, and very special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We took the basic one-hour tour of the Darwin Martin House. Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the house, and rightly so. There was so much to see and enjoy here. I'm amazed that so much of the property has actually been reconstructed after having been partially bulldozed in the '60s. The project of full restoring the property is ongoing, but it seems to be mostly complete, and everything here, whether original or replica, is just fantastic. The hardest part for me in Frank Lloyd Wright houses is not sitting down on all the furniture. The rooms just look so cozy it's hard to resist!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fenchurch128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    152
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Transformation !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The last visit I had to the house prior to this visit was in 1985. I was aware of the work and changes that had taken place since that time but this did not prepare me for the amazing transformation that has taken place. I work in the public sector as a landscape architect and I know from first hand experience that the changes at the complex are nothing short of a miracle. The restoration work is almost complete and seeing the level of attention to detail and restoration makes the visit even more interesting. I can honestly say that a visit to this site will inspire you to see the world of historic restoration in a different way. A fantastic treasure - go, see and enjoy!

Garth Armour - Landscape architect

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 300GWA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went with friends from out of town who love anything to do with construction, design, etc. Turned out I loved the tour (so did they)! I'm not a fan of Frank Lloyd Wright's style BUT understanding why he created what he did was SO interesting. The docent was excellent, the tour was just right (I spent the extra for the more in-depth tour) and the time was perfect. I would go again and would bring visitors.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fliesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's an excellent example of the Frank Lloyd Wright's prarie house! The windows are very special.The docents are very knowledgeable.
Marlene

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cold snowy day was warmed up here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My fiancee and I visited Buffalo for a couple days and did a few things. This was the highlight.

The tour guide was top-notch but it is the house itself and it's place in history that is the marvel. I understand that some people have decided they just don't like museums/tours/architecture which is too bad as they are missing out on places like this.

Any other write-up you will read on this house will do a better job than I. So I will keep simple and end off with clear "if you visit Buffalo then you should visit this house."

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorweerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex also viewed

 

Been to Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing