We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex
Ranked #1 of 151 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Martin House Complex (Buffalo, NY, 1903-05) exemplifies Frank Lloyd Wright’s Prairie House ideal and ranks as one of his finest residential works. Designed for Larkin Soap Company executive, Darwin D. Martin, the complex is a one-of-a-kind composition consisting of the main Martin House, the smaller Barton House, a carriage house with chauffeur’s quarters and stables, a glass-roofed conservatory linked to the main house by a 100-foot pergola, and a gardener’s cottage integrated architectural masterwork. Tours explore the buildings, surrounding landscape, and an extensive collection of art glass and furnishings, all designed by Wright, which together form a totally integrated architectural masterwork. We welcome you to this National Historic Landmark.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Darwin D. Martin House Complex was the fourth and final Frank Lloyd Wright house we visited on a recent trip to PA and NY. Although I was afraid we might overdose on FLW with another tour, both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour as much as any. Although the tour was sold out, the facility was not so heavily visited as Fallingwater. The docent we had lead us through the house was, without doubt, the best tour guide we've had in the five FLW houses we have visited. Thoroughly professional, entertaining and well-informed - he made the house come alive, while pointing out the main architectural elements. The tour was precede by a short movie that helped to place the tour into context. Allow two full hours for the visit, tour and exhibition in the annex. Also make reservations in advance to avoid disappointment. We arrived in the morning, but weren't able to get in until the afternoon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbridebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    152
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
krakow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“unbelievable restoration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Arcihtectural masterpeice lovingly and accurately restored in an ongoing project. The docents leading the tours are knowledgable and enthusiastic. Worth a trip from many miles away for anyone interested in FLW and American architecture.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank buffalogal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I've always been a fan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Buffalo has a few examples of FLW homes and this complex underwent years of renovations into a visitors center. Worth stopping by for a tour and asking where to spot other FLW homes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank A R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flw1, Manager at Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. Buffalo is home to many examples of Wright's architecture. Two are private residences and the others are available to tour. At the Martin House complex you can see the Darwin D. Martin House (1904-5), Barton House (1903) and Gardener's Cottage (1909). Also in Buffalo are the Fontana Boat House (2007) and Blue Sky Mausoleum (2004). Mrs. Martin was the client for Graycliff (1926-31) the Martin's summer home on the shore of Lake Erie in Derby, NY, a short drive from Buffalo. There are still tickets available for this year's All Wright All Day Tour. The tour visits the public Wright sites, includes lunch and transportation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“another Fabulous place in Buffalo~what an impressive "home"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've watched this building since the 70s and seeing it in it's present state is just wonderful-though I was surprised at how many more renovations are still needed. We did the longer of the guided
tours ($30, Seniors $28) and felt we got our money's worth! Our docent was very knowledgable,
informative and friendly. The history of the family and the ensuing friendship of the Martins and Wright was most interesting. The main house, the conservatory-spectacular! the Gardner's Cottage-wow! and grounds are a tribute to the glory days of Buffalo...Easy to get to, right off the 198-the tour was well worth the time and money. The gift shop has some very interesting, pricey items and beautiful cards.
It is closed on Tuesdays-check the schedule! On street parking in the lovely neighborhood.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rbrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
168 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An interesting glimpse into Buffalo History and Frank Lloyd Wright's architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hour tour was a bit short to really take in the film in the beginning and then see the house. A wonderful experience. The house has progressed so much since we first saw it in 2007 and the visitos' center is a good addition full of information. Definitely a must when in town.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex also viewed

 

Been to Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing