We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Niagara Falls”
Review of Parkside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkside House
Ranked #1 of 4 Buffalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here at this charming B&b for a couple of nights and were welcomed by the very pleasant hosts. Our main reason for staying was to visit Niagara Falls but we chose to stay here rather than Niagara after seeing reviews of the 'touristy' hotels. This was perfect for us, quiet location, lovey furniture and pretty front veranda where Chris kindly gave us dips and nibbles to have with our beers. Our room had the most fantastic bathroom with walk in shower which my husband loved and cast iron bath which suited my guilty pleasure of reading and soaking my weary feet.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SusieB121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 251 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Tucked away in a leafy green neighborhood of mansions, Parkside House is a wonderful, welcoming surprise in the city. Chris' love for his historic home is evident in the meticulous details and beautiful art (some by Johnny!) throughout the house. One look and we were in love! Couple that with extraordinarily gracious hosts and we realized we'd hit the jackpot.

We chose the Jewett Room based on the description of the large adjoining bathroom and we were not disappointed. The room was handsomely furnished, hot wi-fi was complimentary, the bed oh so comfortable, and of course, the bathroom with its HUGE jetted shower and separate clawfoot tub won us over. We also had the opportunity to see the Woodward Room and it is a masterpiece. The morning sun shone through the large bank of nearly floor to ceiling windows making it warm and inviting despite its size.

Frank Lloyd Wright's Darwin D. Martin House Complex - a must see - is located a mere five minute walk from the Parkside House and we found an interesting book detailing the project, house, and relationships in the room. Nice touch! We took Chris' recommendation for dinner - another terrific choice - and when we returned we sat on the beautiful porch swing and enjoyed the quiet evening.

Breakfast was served on the porch and my husband, a french toast freak, declared Chris' mascarpone-filled french toast topped with fresh blueberry/raspberry/maple preserves the best french toast he'd ever eaten. It was heavenly, indeed. An absolute treat, thank you Chris!

If you are in the Buffalo-area and want to enjoy classy, authentic lodging in a Frederick Law Olmstead-designed neighborhood, near enough to the action but far enough to be 'away', with gracious hosts, beautiful surroundings, history all around you, and a remarkable breakfast choose the Parkside House. We're delighted we did! It's our new Buffalo home-away-from-home.

Room Tip: If you are looking to visit the Darwin D. Martin House Complex call ahead to make sure they are open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2TrvlLuv2Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife and I had a marvelous experience at The Parkside House in Buffalo. It's one of the most attractive B&B's we've ever stayed at, and we have traveled widely. Host Chris Lavey treated us like long-lost cousins, enhancing the natural beauty of his and John Mora's lovely house. Chris's breakfasts were enticing and flavorful without the too-frequent B&B rich, extravagant offerings that we can't stand. Chris's hospitality extended to all aspects of our visits, including helping us re-schedule our return flight. We'll never stay anywhere else in Buffalo.
John Silver

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jas132hyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Growing up in Buffalo, I used to dream of living in one of the city's Victorian style houses with their grand porches and tree-shaded yards. Now I can at least stay in one for a couple nights at this lovingly restored B&B. For the same price you would pay at a chain hotel in the burbs, you can enjoy the best of city living -- including one of the hottest landmarks in town, the blocks-away Darwin Martin House built by Frank Lloyd Wright -- as well as appreciate the warm hospitality offered by hosts Chris and Johnny.All three rooms have their charms, but I appreciate the Summit Room's backyard view and dream-inducing king-sized bed. Our second stay was even better than the first. And we will be back for a third.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you have any plans to visit the Buffalo metro area THIS is the place you want to stay!

The location is central and convenient to all of Buffalo with quick and easy access to the expressways. It is a 3 minute walk to Buffalo's Delaware Park which also contains the Buffalo Zoo. The accommodations are very clean, comfortable and appealing.

We only met Chris during our stay who was a very kind and hospitable host. Not to mention a fantastic cook! Homemade quiche, scratch blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit, sausage, juice...it was all better than you'd get at most restaurants by a longshot.

There's something about staying in a bed & breakfast that cannot be matched by commercial hotels/motels. The next time I'm in Buffalo there is no question where I will stay. It is a GREAT value. I may even look for an excuse to make the trip if only to stay at The Parkside House!

Room Tip: We stayed in 'The Woodward Room'. It is the largest room and WELL worth the extra charge if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our extended family filled the B&B during a 4 day stay in Buffalo. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Chris and Jonny made us very welcome. Breakfasts were amazing. The location was extremely convenient to just about any place in the greater Buffalo area. We will definitely stay again if when we return to Buffalo.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank 4fromKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Parkside House four four nights in March. Chris and Johnny were very warm hosts. We had the large bedroom with the heated floor unsuite. Extremely comfortable. The hosts were also very good at giving us a hand navigating the local area. The meals were outstanding. Only complaint ? We only stayed four nights. A return trip is in order.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the heated bathroom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
3.4 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
3 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
3.8 mi away
Curtiss Hotel
Curtiss Hotel
#11 of 25 in Buffalo
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.5 mi away
Foundry Suites Hotel
Foundry Suites Hotel
#18 of 25 in Buffalo
78 reviews
4.3 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#14 of 25 in Buffalo
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside House

Address: 462 Woodward Ave, Buffalo, NY 14214-1940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Buffalo
Price Range: $155 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing