We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very refreshing experience!

I had a great time on this tour! I had never done a bike tour before and the group was very small... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
mrsdeathberry
,
Buffalo, New York
via mobile
B side rides

I enjoyed the bike tour very much . Mark was very knowledgeable about the history of the places we... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
kathy w
,
Buffalo, New York
via mobile
Read all 50 reviews
  
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
50
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews awesome tour sites stories ride information
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 50 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018

I signed up for this bike tour at the last minute as the title was intriguing and I had a free morning. Buffalo has no shortage of interesting architecture, landmarks, and neighborhoods to tour, but this tour had such a unique twist by going for the alternative sites and stories that are more infamous than famous. Marc did a fantastic job of being knowledgeable and entertaining all while keeping us together. He thoughtfully started with introductions from everyone which kicked off multiple conversations throughout the experience. I would highly recommend this to residents and out-of-town visitors alike!

Thank karenkW9347YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc M, Owner at Buffalo Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much, Karen! Glad to have you on the tour and appreciate the review. Definitely part of the purpose of the tour is to highlight our lesser told stories and glad it provided some new perspective.

Stay tuned as we gear up for next year – hoping to add a couple new rides. Thanks so much and hope to catch ya again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Just had a great time riding with Marc all around town and learning more about the city's past. This tour is special because Marc's sharing his research and lesser known aspects of Buffalo's "alternative" culture of activism. We covered places, stories and art about anti-war protest, abortion rights, minority rights, gay & LGBTQ culture and more. Areal rainbow of our colorful past. What a great way for my teenage daughter and I to get out exploring on our bikes.

1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc M, Owner at Buffalo Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aww, thanks so much, John! Glad you and your daughter enjoyed the ride. That's wonderful to see multigenerational groups attend and enjoy the tour. That truly makes all this work super rewarding :)

We'll be regrouping after this season and consider how to expand next. So stay tuned and hope to see you guys again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Marc, our guide, made the late Saturday morning bike tour so enlightening and enjoyable. The ride is extremely easy, and the knowledge that was shared about the history of Buffalo was so interesting that it made me want to come home and do more research. You could live in Buffalo your entire life and I am sure you would learn something during Marc's tour that you never knew before.

Thank Roam640608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc M, Owner at Buffalo Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Fantastic, thanks so much! Glad to have you on the tour and appreciate the review.

That's amazing and heartening to hear the ride inspired you to dig a little deeper into Buffalo history. There's a lot of ground to cover and I'll have to regroup after this season and consider how to expand next.

Thanks so much and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

B-Sides is exactly as the title advertises--the alternative history of Buffalo. You can tell that Marc really cares about researching and sharing the lesser-told narratives of the city. The tour is around 8 miles long, and the bike riding in between the tour stops is a great time to get to know the other people in the group! Would love to see an extension of the tour that goes more to the east side, but this tour was also an ideal amount of time and land covered. Thanks Marc!

Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc M, Owner at Buffalo Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aww thanks, Nina! It was great having you on the tour and appreciate the review.

Will have to regroup after this season and consider how to expand next – an East Side ride that delves into the Polish/ German/ African American history would be interesting!

Hope to see you again and stay tuned for more tours next season!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Marc is very polite and knowledgeable about the history of the City of Buffalo. His groups are small so you do not have to struggle to hear his presentations. I truly enjoyed the ride and the information.

Thank littltlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc M, Owner at Buffalo Bike Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the review – much appreciated :) Glad you guys could join the tour and that you enjoyed the ride.

Hope to see you at an upcoming Slow Roll! Stay tuned for more tours next season!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews