We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lenox Hotel and Suites
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Concord, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed September 14, 2008

The Lenox is not your typical full service hotel. There isn't an ice machine on every floor and you are not going to get turn-down service with a mint on your pillow. I'm sure back in its heyday (1900?) it was a grand Hotel in the full American tradition. Over the years it has fallen on hard times. I was told it was recently purchased and the new owner has dumped a bunch of money into it to bring it back into fashion. The rooms are not deluxe but they are clean and comfortable with a microwave, mini-fridge and cable tv. There are laundry facilities on the first floor along with an Art Gallery and a bar called North. The college age staff was very helpful and gave me some suggestions for good and cheap eats! (Always trust a student for good and cheap eats.) Some of the rooms have been turned into apartments and can be rented for longer stays. I would say this is a true travelers hotel in the grand Bohemian tradition.

What the Lenox really has going for it is its location. I'm sure this is what the new owner saw when it was purchased. It is located between two of the most popular neighborhoods in Buffalo : Allentown and the Elmwood districts. This is where you want to be if you are looking for shopping, eating and nightlife all within walking distance. Oh, and if you are looking for wings, the Anchor bar is two blocks away. in my opinion, this is the place to stay if you are looking to actually experience Buffalo.

  • Liked — Location, staff & guests
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DDDRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    17
    14
    31
See reviews for
18
23
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I see the horrible past reviews of this hotel but some are several years old. Apparently, there has been major renovation going on since that time. My sig-other & I stayed there one night on the way back from a few days in Niagara Falls, Ontario; we had an early flight back from BUF and wanted to stay closer to the airport, yet near downtown Buffalo which can be busy/fun in the early evening.

Front desk woman was most pleasant. The room on the 7th floor was large, bright, comfortable and IMMACULATELY CLEAN. It's not a luxury place; what they call a tourist hotel in Europe. Flat screen TV w/ cable, small refrigerator, comfy bed, great in the window a/c. Oh, did I say IMMACULATELY CLEAN?? We were impressed.

Fine overnight stay for $99.00 in a great neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank robpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2008

The oldest hotel (over a century) still in operation in Buffalo, the Lenox has been through many owners and managements. The current owner is committted to returning this proud, old lady to her former stature and restoring the reputation and physical plant - both of which had been allowed to deteriorate under former regimes.

The Lenox is about half-and-half spacious, boutique-ish hotel rooms and comfortable apartments. I came here in July of 2006 as an apartment tenant and am still very happy I did.

First, understand that any building having a substantial part of its facilities dedicated to permanent residents MUST maintain a commitment to quality and service; we're here 24/7 and can't be avoided or ignored.

That commitment shows up in the hotel side of the business. While still in the process of completing major renovations, The Lenox's service and staff are tops, as are the facilities, appointments and accessories in the rooms. It's only blocks away from Buffalo's "artsy-antiquey" district, with clubs and restaurants nearby.

And, while the rooms are easily competitive with the best hotels in town, the rates are much more reasonable.

Check it out before you finalize your plans for accomodations in Buffalo!

Gregg Mayfield

  • Liked — reasonable rates, great location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — no significant negatives
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregghm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2008

very nice old place loved the rooms the view.
place needs some work no hot water in my room.
very frendley people working at desk.
75 out of 100

  • Liked — the room and the view
  • Disliked — no hot water
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flashgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buffalo hotels

rump
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2008

I stayed here in August 2006.

This was by far the most foul experience of my life. The idiots who run this place should be ashamed of their putrid waste of a building. Plus they dont do triple rooms and the blind was broken. HIDEOUS!!!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank RumpJib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I read the reviews here and booked the hotel through a booking portal which also had some reviews. I was charged $5 to book through them which I thought was reasonable since the price for their single occupancy room for my event was $69 vs the $112 for the Hyatt Regency.

The entrance was under renovation. The staff at the front desk were courteous. If you are out late, you have to buzz and the desk will let you in. There is a Wal-green half a block away.

I found the building charming including the elevator. The hallways are dim.

There was a tv, microwave, and bar fridge in the room. As well, there was a good size table with ice bucket for me.

Personally, I was happy. It is not a 5-star. It is a place to store stuff, sleep and go out and tour which fits my requirements nicely.

  • Liked — Price and location to my principal event.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cuddler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Lenox for four days this month along with some friends. Our room was on the 6th floor (620) and had recently been renovated. It is an old hotel but the kitchen was nice with a small stainless fridge, stove and microwave. Our beds were fine although they are noisy since they sit on flimsy metal frames. I looked for bedbugs but didn't find any!!

Our friends ended up on the non-renovated 8th floor. It was a horrible room, small and dingy with only super hot water in the shower. They really ran the risk of being scalded in there it was so hot. The hotel staff moved them to the 6th floor (room 630) which was "just" finished that day and was quite nice. The new rooms have window a/c.

The lobby is horrendous. It smells of stale cigarettes, there is an old planter in the center that is full of dirt and no plants and it looks like a bank lobby from the 80's. My sister in law got stuck between floors the first day when using the elevator to the left side of the lobby. They responded immediately and fixed it but we noticed that elevator was frequently "being enhanced" (nice way of putting it) throughout our stay. Definitely use the elevator to the right side of the lobby!!

All in all not a horrible experience...hopefully they'll continue the remodeling and the Lenox will be consistently nice.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalCrowesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
1.3 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel and Suites

Property: Lenox Hotel and Suites
Address: 140 North St, Buffalo, NY 14201-1519
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lenox Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lenox Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing