We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HISTORIC HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lenox Hotel and Suites
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HISTORIC HOTEL”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A few veterans in town for the golden games , were welcomed by General Manager Molly Mangas. Clean rooms , good service from staff ,nice grill next to , was almost like a home away from home. Good parking ,nice walking neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRED S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    17
    14
    31
See reviews for
18
23
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Climax, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

An older hotel with many appartments and 20 hotel rooms.
My room was equiped with a stove, fridg, micro-wave and flat screen TV.
Room was very clean but older decor.
The lack of a pool and spa was made up for by the cordial and professional
management and help. The hotel resturant is excellent.
The manager, Molly Mangas gave us cheerful and personal service.
I would recommend it for someone who wants a change from the super modern
high rise hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This place is the opposite of fancy....complete dump that I am pretty sure was a insane asylum turned hotel. Rooms tiny and smell like death. Avoid...you are better off sleeping under a bridge with some nice bums.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buffalo hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Have a dog? Stranded in a snowstorm in Buffalo? This is your place :-) The attached Lenox Grille is open until 4am. Serves food until 3am. Free parking. Great entrance. Very classy. Tons of dogs. I wonder why. But it's fine with me!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet7lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

How should I start. Was it the pair of mens dirty shorts in the closet, or the hovel of a room I was put into for the night till my room was ready the next day.The room across the hall was intertaining hourly guest all night long. "KNock Knock, door opens closes, repeat and rinse. Did I say ALL NIGHT LONG!!!

Requests for a luggage rack unheeded. Microwave did not work except to beep, no cups for coffee and when I did get one it was not replaced with a clean one.

I have the almost best for last while seated getting ready for bed a cockroach ran across my shoe. So I check out and on my way to another hotel I find not one but TWO BED BUGS. Do not go here. This grand old lady is not grand ANY more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MariaT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A friend of ours booked this hotel, so my husband followed suit. I then checked it out on Trip advisor and he was concerned as well. He checked around for other hotels in the area but couldn't find a room. The bonus: free parking and good location for partying in Allentown. . The lobby is lovely until you get to the front desk - not that you would hang out there. Our friends said there was no carpet in their room - like someone had rolled up a dead body in it and removed it. We had a hell of a time finding our room as the room numbers aren't in any kind of order. There were dark stains on the carpet throughout the hall (blood?). Halls were kind of creepy - painted an awful green and no art or anything to take your eyes from the wires hanging along the ceiling. Room was a decent size but stunk so had to turn on the noisy, in-window air conditioner. Only there long enough to get changed and go out thankfully. Fortunately were well oiled upon our return so sleep came quickly. Woke up in the morning to people talking in the hall - walls very thin. Friend said they had a great view out their window. Ours was too dirty to see out of. I found the paintjob in the bathroom curious until I realized it was peeling paint. It did have a mini fridge and microwave, but decor was atrocious.

Room Tip: Go to the Holiday Inn next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmcdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is up front and honest about being the oldest operating hotel in Buffalo. All of these bad reviews must be from people who went for the cheapest price they could find and didn't bother to do their homework before booking their room.

This hotel offers rooms by the night, week, month or year. There are many suites that are people's apartments/homes. This is not your standard hotel experience and we thought it was great.

There is very little about this place that can be considered "Modern". I loved the fact that I had a real key to my room. There was no goofing around with "the computer" didn't set my key right or any of the usual antics that always happen to me with the key-cards in other places. We did have a 32" HDTV in the room and a fridge. What more do you want? This is Buffalo, not Paris.

The shower was our biggest challenge. Original 1890's fixtures (!) aside, the old building had trouble getting a good mix of hot and cold water up to the 8th floor. Our shower was mostly hot water with a slight touch of cold that made it almost bearable. This is the only real complaint we have about our experience at the Lenox. The five foot tall window IN THE SHOWER was interesting and offered an amazing view of the city. We weren't brave enough to open the "window curtain" while showering, for fear of frightening the neighbours in the side wings of the hotel, who would have had no problem watching either of us in the shower if they were so inclined.

The ancient elevator is no joke. It takes forever to get to the 8th floor but it does offer plenty of time to chat with the friendly locals who live here on your way up.

I would have been happier if the Lenox was a few blocks closer to the downtown core of Buffalo but for the rates compared to the rest of the hotels in town even with the cab rides we took out at night we still ended up saving a lot by staying here instead of say, the Holiday Inn or The Adam's Mark.

I would have given an "excellent" rating but I think we paid about 20% too much to stay here. I expect rates during the winter will be more reasonable and more in line with the experience that the Lenox offers.

Room Tip: Great unique view of downtown Buffalo from the 8th floor, but getting cold water in the sink or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hockeyfan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.3 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.4 mi away
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel and Suites

Property: Lenox Hotel and Suites
Address: 140 North St, Buffalo, NY 14201-1519
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lenox Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lenox Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing