We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Mansion in the City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
262 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Quaint Mansion in the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

I travel frequently to Buffalo for business so I called the mansion to inquire if they would match the rate of some of the more 'business type properties' and they said no problem. Room was nice and large with a comfy bed. The hotel staff was eager to please. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    78
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
51
244
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

We loved our stay at the Mansion on Delaware. We stayed in 2 rooms- one for me & my husband, the other for my parents. The small details were appreciated to make our stay comfortable & special. I loved the shower- very relaxing. The bed was very inviting. The butlers were very helpful and friendly- from their recommendation of a restaurant to please my parents' palates, the complimentary ride to the restaurant so we didn't have to worry about driving & parking, and easy to follow directions to go to Niagara. The breakfast was very satisfying- a variety of tasty choices to satisfy everyone. The architecture & grounds were beautiful. It was a wonderful stay as our stopover to Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CaliforniaCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

Saturday the 17th was my first visit to The Mansion on Delaware. It’s an understatement to say I loved it. It very well may have ruined any hotel visit in my future. A butler met me curbside, welcoming me and carrying in my luggage. You know the expression, “They had me at hello”? The Mansion, whose history was revealed to me by the aforementioned butler, was a single family home built in 1869 was restored into its present state in 2001. Beautiful woodwork, soaring ceilings and cozy fireplaces are married seamlessly to modern furnishings and amenities. My room, a grand, was large and comfy with a beautiful view down Delaware avenue towards downtown out of impressively large windows. I relaxed in my room, enjoying a deep, whirlpool bath complete with yummy spa toiletries, fluffy towels and an embroidered robe. While the butlers were available to make dinner recommendations and reservations, my dinner arrangements were prearranged by a local friend. I did, however take advantage of the cocktail hour (actually 2 hours). One of the butlers mixed a perfect cosmo for me while I watched a couple play pool and relaxed on a couch by a nice warm fire (perfect for a 5 degree evening). I understood that aside from the complimentary cocktail hour, the bar would remain until midnight or so, set up on the honor system. A nice touch. I accepted a ride in The Mansion’s Land Rover driven by yet another one of the butler staff. I don’t know if it was by design, but each butler I met was very attractive. Whether by design or coincidence, the result worked for me! My friend drove me “home” after dinner, though a butler would have been available to pick me up. I retired to my room, took yet another bath and enjoyed hundreds of TV channels. The bed was SO COMFORTABLE! Great pillows and luxurious sheets. I should have mentioned that when I returned to my room, the bed had been turned down, my ice bucket filled and there was bottled water and delicious cookies for a midnight snack. After a restful sleep and a steamy shower, powered by 3 shower heads, I headed down for the complimentary breakfast in the Billiard’s Salon. There was an assortment of pastries, breads, fruit, yogurt, cereal, rice pudding and a few savory items as well. It was a really beautiful spread. After breakfast and consulting with the Butler staff on where I should spend my afternoon shopping, I said goodbye to The Mansion. With all of the amenities and complimentary items, it was a great value and I loved how welcoming and homey it was. It really was like being a home away from home. A LUXURIOUS home away from home! I would highly recommend staying at The Mansion. The experience can’t be beat!

  • Liked — the butler staff
  • Disliked — that I couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NycLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

The level of attention and service is exceptional; the accomodations eclectic and superb. The afternoon complimentary bar and the delicious European-style breakfast are marvelous. Even though I've only stayed here three times, once each year, the staff remember me and treat me like I'm a weekly guest. This property is an absolute delight and is a bargain. In a larger city, like Chicago or New York, this would be a $700+/night property.

Buffalo is an under-appreciated city. There is so much to do here with neighborhood festivals, sunsets at the lake front and the arts.

  • Liked — The staff (butlers), high level of service, rooms, open bar and breakfast.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

The friendly staff at The Mansion made our stay delightful. The Butlers anticipate your needs and pamper you throughout your stay. Our room was spacious and clean. The whirlpool tub is fantastic after being out in the Buffalo cold all day. The hotel has no restaurant. The butlers take care of this by delivering food you may want from the many restaurants nearby. The hotel is very sophisticated. Free cocktails in a parlor each afternoon with music from the 30s and 40s playing. Personally I would prefer a plasma tv with sports and more up tempo music to set a more social tone but everyone has their own preferences. If you are looking for a relaxing experience with great service, this is your place. If you are looking for a higher energy stay, you may consider other choices.

  • Liked — Exceptionally friendly and accomodating staff
  • Disliked — Music in the parlor lowered the energy level of the guests
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DrCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

We have stayed at the Mansion previously and knew right away it was the perfect place for our wedding. Two years later, we made good on that promise. The Mansion, quite simply, is Western New York's premier hotel and facility for such an occasion. Bar none. It has no equal. Not only did we have an unbelievably perfect event (which is the point, right?), but wedding guest after wedding guest after wedding guest commented to us how it was the best wedding they had ever been to and the best food they ever had at a wedding. The staff was great- perfect, really. The owner personally checked in with us several times and they treated our friends and family just as well. It was the perfect choice for us and our wedding and we highly recommend anyone stay there / have an event there.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schroeider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

When choosing a hotel in the city of Buffalo, there is the Mansion and then there are (how should I put this?) other choices. :) Back in March 2008, we stayed one night at this magnificent hotel through the "Pamper Your Palate" E-Special on the hotel's web-site. On the day we arrived, we called the hotel in advance to see if we could arrive a little early; and it was no problem. From the moment I parked the rental car in front of the hotel, there was someone to greet us and valet park the car. Another person, the Butler, also greeted us, took our bags, described the property, and showed us to our room. What a place! The hotel is a fabulous restored mansion dating back to the 19th century (just exquisite) and each of the guests rooms is unique. After settling into our room (the most basic), we went down to the parlor area for complimentary cocktails (very nice!), rested a little, and then received complimentary transportation to our selected restaurant, Hutch's (excellent!). We rode in a Land Rover, and our driver, Marty, was terrific. He even asked us if there was anything special we wanted to see in the area. He'd be glad to take us there. After dinner, he returned to Hutch's and took us back to the hotel. Although our room was a little small, it was very cozy. The television was great, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was grand (especially the shower). I think the next time I visit the Mansion, I'll try one of the more deluxe rooms to compare. The next morning we enjoyed the fine European continental breakfast and headed off on our way. Awesome place!

  • Liked — Outstanding in every way, but the service is "out of this world"
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dk2bflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.9 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Buffalo
The Westin Buffalo
#13 of 23 in Buffalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Property: The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing