We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed last night and had very helpful and informative staff / Butlers. Great recommendation with transport provided by a Butler for dinner. Complimentary breakfast not quite to our preference but of a high standard. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloandNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    78
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
51
244
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We hosted an event here ten years ago for my parents' anniversary and were very impressed at that time with the facility, staff, and food. We just recently spent two nights in a suite and were even more impressed. The service is very attentive and every need is anticipated and met without question. This is without a doubt the best hotel in Buffalo!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you want a small, intimate, comfortable place to stay that is also a beautiful piece of mid-19th century architecture, then I highly recommend The Mansion. It is a world class small hotel built in 1869, The rooms, service and general ambiance were superb. My nephew and our wives stayed here recently. He and I love to shoot pool. There actually was a pool table in one of the two high ceiling parlors. We shot pool for a few hours while our wives sat conversing on a comfortable couch enjoying fine wine in front of a fireplace. It felt as though we were back in the 19th century living the lifestyle of the new money industrialists. My only recommendation to the staff was that they get a short cue stick to avoid damaging their painting near the pool table on certain shots.
The breakfast buffet was interesting and delicious. A definite highlight of this hotel is that it is centrally located among several streets with incredibly beautiful and interesting 19th century architecture. I suggest you walk the neighborhood streets to view the structures, but particularly Franklin St.

Room Tip: If you want the most historically preserved ambiance, I suggest you reserve one of the two rooms fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is one of our favorite hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Very clean rooms and they provided transportation to nearby restaurants and plays.
A must stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cureed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Mansion is a very good place to stay and the service is excellent. The only problem with an old Mansion is the structure itself. A lot of work has been put into this building but you still encounter a bit of an old home musty odor and a large gap under the door to the room. This is getting picky. You are greeted with wonderful staff that accommodate your every need. We were even greeted by a staff member quite late at night.
The valet service is wonderful. We enjoyed the cocktail time as well as the wonderful selections from the continental breakfast. The artwork gives it a museum flair. The staff works hard to make your stay a wonderful experience (very attentive),and they will share a bit of the history of the house with you! This is a great change from a large chain hotel. Yes, you may have a bar and restaurant at a larger hotel, but this is not why you would select a place like this. We will visit the "Mansion" again.

Room Tip: There is a selection of different rooms. It may be a bit quieter in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This place is awesome. I've stayed there a few times and can't wait to get back. It's like a vacation all by itself, with fabulous breakfasts, a gracious staff, a fireplace-lit living room with a make-it-yourself stocked bar, and wonderful rooms with great beds. The fact that they provide transportation to nearby restaurants means you can go out and have some wine without worrying about driving later. Kudos to that place, they really know how to do everything right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pshea_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were at The Mansion again with two grown daughters for a visit with family members who live in Buffalo. We all loved every moment there. We had dinner brought in one night and the staff brought it in and set it up for us in a separate room. Our butler took us to and from restaurants on the other nights. Breakfast, as always, was healthy, beauiful and delicious. Our spacious rooms were spotless. Can't wait to get back! Yesbut

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.9 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Buffalo
The Westin Buffalo
#13 of 23 in Buffalo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Property: The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing