We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Mansion is a very good place to stay and the service is excellent. The only problem with an old Mansion is the structure itself. A lot of work has been put into this building but you still encounter a bit of an old home musty odor and a large gap under the door to the room. This is getting picky. You are greeted with wonderful staff that accommodate your every need. We were even greeted by a staff member quite late at night.
The valet service is wonderful. We enjoyed the cocktail time as well as the wonderful selections from the continental breakfast. The artwork gives it a museum flair. The staff works hard to make your stay a wonderful experience (very attentive),and they will share a bit of the history of the house with you! This is a great change from a large chain hotel. Yes, you may have a bar and restaurant at a larger hotel, but this is not why you would select a place like this. We will visit the "Mansion" again.

Room Tip: There is a selection of different rooms. It may be a bit quieter in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    78
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
51
244
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This place is awesome. I've stayed there a few times and can't wait to get back. It's like a vacation all by itself, with fabulous breakfasts, a gracious staff, a fireplace-lit living room with a make-it-yourself stocked bar, and wonderful rooms with great beds. The fact that they provide transportation to nearby restaurants means you can go out and have some wine without worrying about driving later. Kudos to that place, they really know how to do everything right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pshea_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were at The Mansion again with two grown daughters for a visit with family members who live in Buffalo. We all loved every moment there. We had dinner brought in one night and the staff brought it in and set it up for us in a separate room. Our butler took us to and from restaurants on the other nights. Breakfast, as always, was healthy, beauiful and delicious. Our spacious rooms were spotless. Can't wait to get back! Yesbut

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We traveled to Buffalo en route to Canada. The Mansion on the Delaware caught our attention - the price was a bit steep but a winter special was running for a "standard/classic" room with Breakfast. The architecture of the building is very nice - the interior welcoming. The Butlers attentive and helpful... We felt that they genuinely wanted to assist without being in the way - they drove us to dinner / recommended some restaurants, etc. They also attended to questions on what sites to see around town. The room was on the second floor - it was fairly small and was like a standard hotel room but with some personal touches... fresh flower in the bathroom/cookies at sundown, etc. The breakfast was phenomenal.. more than anticipated.. lox/rustic bread, apple tarts, home-made cinnamon rolls, fruit, granolas, coffee, juice, olives... nicely done!!! Overall, we have pleasant memories... ear plugs were provided as sirens were present during the night. Consider staying here as they are definitely putting forth a true effort to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you to all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowOnesNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Mansion for business meetings and thought the property was great. I enjoyed every aspect ( service, architecture, ambiance, location....etc....). I would not hesitate recommending this property.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Mansion on Deleware is a first class botique hotel with a staff that goes above and beyond to make your stay in Buffalo great. The nightly happy hour includes you shelf liquor and craft beer! the complimentary breakfast is of great quality. The hotel is located within walking distance of great restauraunts and nightlife. If you are not comfortable with walking the hotel will shuttle you to local attractions. This hotel should be your first choice for any stay in the Buffalo area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelsmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima
Level Contributor
714 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is our 3rd stay at MODA. This time we brought 2 other couples with us. Once again it was an awesome experience. From parking the cars, to getting settled into our rooms the Butlers impressed our friends. We had three rooms close to each other with pretty much the same decor but everything was a little different when it came to the placement of the desk, bed, bathroom, etc. The rooms were large with plenty of space. We enjoyed the complimentary happy hour. We ordered the pizza and cheese tray to go with the drinks. It was just enough to keep us going until dinner. We enjoyed being driven to the restaurant in a heated car. The only issue was they don't have the larger vehicle they had the last time so 6 of us could not fit so they had to do two trips to and from Tappo. After our return from dinner we were treated to a tour of their banquet facility to include the "Bridal Suite". We found out why that is the only room in the Mansion with a king bed (you have to stay there to find out the secret). For breakfast they had a carb loaded European style breakfast. Bread, muffins, sweet berry tarts, bread pudding, toast, cereal, etc. The only protein was hard boiled eggs. On previous stays there was salmon, cheese and sliced meat. There was lots of fresh fruit to go with cups of yogurt. We still ate our fair share and enjoyed the breakfast very much. Overall the Butlers make the trip to MODA! They run their butts off to take care of the guests. The rooms are awesome. The happy hour and breakfast are a great way to get to know other guests. We can't wait to schedule another trip to the MODA.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sket101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.9 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Downtown/Canalside
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Property: The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing