We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice mansion, but bring warm clothes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nice mansion, but bring warm clothes!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed on a cold weekend at the mansion. Beautiful building, excellent service, but even with a fireplace the room was very cold. The bathroom has no heating in it, so going there during the night was like going in north pole. The heating system is so noisy that it kept waking me up. I shut it off so i woke up at 3 and it was 44 degrees in the room...the room was on the small side too and the fan in the bathroom could have used dusting. But service was excellent.

Room Tip: Bring your flannel pajamas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_Principe, General Manager at The Mansion on Delaware Avenue, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your glowing comments regarding the excellent service you experienced at The Mansion. I apologize for the discomfort you experienced in your guestroom. I assure you that all bathrooms are heated - I do believe we were experiencing a particularly cold snap of weather during your stay, though. I'm sorry the unfamiliar sounds of the heating system were bothersome - the heating/cooling units in each room have individual temperature controls for the comfort of each guest, and when you shut the system off you are shutting off all heat to your room. With your choice to turn the heat off, I'm sure the room became very cold on such a blustery winter night. My apologies, as well, for a dusty bathroom fan - we hold very high standards for both guest comfort and cleanliness, which we fell down on a bit during your stay. We hope you will choose to stay with us on your next trip to Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    78
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
53
248
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My hotel stay with the Mansion on Delaware Ave was a WELCOME surprise. When I booked the reservation I figured it was just a nice bed and breakfast that would give me a great night's sleep before I took a 6 hour road trip back to NYC, however from the moment I stepped into the building I knew this was not your ordinary B&B, not a B&B AT ALL but an AMAZING boutique hotel who has perfected the art of superior customer service and treating a person like ROYALTY. From the valet to the complementary open bar ( during happy hour) to the restaurant concierge.... This hotel was AWESOME. I loved the valet to the restaurant chosen, the ameniteis in my guest room as well as the breakfast the following day. You get a really GREAT bang for your buck at this hotel. I HIGHLY recommend it. I won't tell everything, some things need to be experienced on your own... ENJOY!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lori j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_Principe, General Manager at The Mansion on Delaware Avenue, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're so glad you found The Mansion on your trip back to NYC. You are correct, The Mansion is a luxury hotel - we are Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel. We agree that the many complimentary services and amenities offered to guests - valet parking, afternoon cocktails, breakfast, 24-hour Butler Service, downtown Range Rover transportation and many more - provide a "really great bang for your buck". We look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully next time it's on a visit to, not through, our beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just spent our fourth visit to The Mansion and have never been let down. The staff is always friendly, hospitable and professional. We called ahead and ordered a cheese plate, which was waiting for us when we walked into the room. The cheese and berries were absolutely delicious. The atmosphere in the guest rooms is always elegant and very cozy. The décor is a perfect blend of the historic mansion feel along with some modern chic trends.

One of the perks we love about The Mansion is the shuttle service – it allows us to enjoy a couple cocktails at local establishments and events by providing a driver to pick us up.

Even though we live in the same city, when we feel like being pampered, we treat ourselves to a night at The Mansion. It is top notch and one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geno_Principe, General Manager at The Mansion on Delaware Avenue, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Mansion...and thank you for your continued visits. Many of our guests are Buffalo and suburban Buffalo residents who enjoy a 'get-away' to The Mansion to enjoy a great night on the town. The Butlers are so knowledgeable about the Buffalo region and the many attractions, restaurants and events....and to your point, the complimentary Range Rover transportation is 'a great perk'! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about our stay at The Mansion. It was a last minute travel due to a death in the family, and they accommodated us to the fullest. SO incredibly helpful and each employee over extended their services. We will, without a doubt, stay at The Mansion in the future! Thank you for the wonderful experience and for taking away ANY added stress :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StacySLaurens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Valet parking, 3 mile shuttle, cocktail hour, 24hr coffee and many smiling faces!!
From the moment I contacted them about tours & adding an extra day to the doors of the Mansion magically opened, welcoming us in until they printed us directions to the last places on our intinerary, the Butlers at MoDA made our stay wonderful!! We didn't have a big room, but it was comfy and airy, just enough for the 2 of us.
If you are from the GTA and are looking for a great 36 hr get-away, there is A LOT more to Buffalo than cross-border shopping and the staff at MoDA helped us get around the historic downtown area (their shuttle service).
We also got a free cheese tray (Thank you Trip Advisor coupon!) that lasted us 3 days! The Butlers wrapped up the tray once we were done nibbling during cocktail hour or whenever we asked for it! As needed, they even replenished the crackers and some of the fruit every time they brought it back to us!
Staff remembered our names and made many inquiries into our daily activities. We enjoyed our stay, the historical building, the personalized stationary and the yummy cookies found in our room after a busy day of touring.
Looking forward to a return visit to MoDA!

Room Tip: Phone them instead of booking on-line...they will find out your needs & wants, and accomodate yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Many of our wedding guests stayed here and loved it. We cannot give enough thanks to the staff at the Mansion--including but not limited to Gino--for making our wedding reception so perfect. Many of our friends/family, including several food/wine/city "snobs," told us that the Mansion was the best wedding reception experience they had ever had. I realize this may sound like a backhanded compliment, but it was not intended that way by those that said it. Gino and his staff's attention to every detail, including the start of the reception when everyone was arriving from the wedding ceremony, was flawless. The food, from the passed finger-food during the cocktail hour, to the dinner food itself, was absolutely amazing. The waitrons even made a point of bringing both of us our own plate of cocktail-hour appetizers, and then desserts at the end of dinner. They knew how difficult it is for the wedding couple to actually eat! The Mansion was an important part of our wedding, and we will never forget it! Thanks Gino and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This "5" star Hotel is an unfriendly, unaccommodating, unprofessional, and very expensive for what you will experience. Upon arrival the staff are very friendly, waiting for constant tips, and extra cash. However, upon departure there was nobody around to help. Directory says 24 hour dining available, but its not! There is only 1 person on duty at night, who is very unfriendly...again. Bartenders were unable to serve "shots" because they could get sued, but were serving minors alcohol!!! European breakfast from 7:30-9:30am, we were on vacation, and it was a weekend!! Nobody wants to wake up early on vacation, and the staff serving were very inflexible with those times. Earplugs are supplied to help drone out the extremely loud noises that the heaters made. We were up every hour. Beds and pillows were not comfortable at all. Cleaning staff knocked on our doors one minute after check out time. Definitely not going back.

Room Tip: Room are all cold, and too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank moif69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
1,772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Buffalo
The Westin Buffalo
#13 of 24 in Buffalo
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Property: The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing