We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel choice”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I were invited to a birthday party at the Buffalo Club in downtown Buffalo and decided to stay at a hotel for the evening. We had heard of the Mansion and decided to stay there the evening. Over the years we have traveled through much of Europe and the United States and stayed at many hotels and resorts. We have never experienced the level of service and personal attendance provided by the hotel personnel at all levels. Also, their cordial attitude and responsiveness was excellent. The rooms, although not comparable to suites in high priced hotels, were very clean, spacious, comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alphonso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    79
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
53
254
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elmvale
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The staff at the MODA were top notch from the private butler greeting me outside at my car to the dinner order that was placed and delivered to my room. The building is beautiful but in all honesty the room was a little less than spectacular despite being told I was provided with a free "upgrade" I found it pretty basic with a bed, a t.v. an arm chair and a desk. I asked what the upgrade actually was and was told it was room size and the arm chair. It was an arm chair-it was not upholstered in gold!
The bad was the comfort of the beds. The matresses were either very old or inexpensive. They lacked support.The good- having a selection of pillows to choose from.
The ugly was the fact that each room has a self contained heating/cooling unit that was like sleeping next to a freeway all night. This unit roared all night long and this seriously affected my sleep.I did call down to report this and was told to adjust the settings which made the unit
cut in and out throughout the night which made things worse as when it clunked on it woke me up. The couple I ate breakfast beside expereinced a similar night's sleep despite their unit being housed in the bathroon as opposed to right across from the bed!. When I mentioned this in the morning I was offered a meager room credit that basically said "too bad about your restless night!"
The complimentary breakfast was very nice, croissants were delicious and once again the service staff were very hospitable.
Would I give the MODA another try? I think so, but I would request a room that had the heating unit in the bathroom in hopes that with the door closed the noise would be significantly reduced.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep this may not be the place for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east amherst
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I couldn't think of a better way to spend a local weekend, Upon entering the classically decorated lobby I know that we made the right choice. The staff was equally charming and extremely competant-even able to obtain dinner reservations that I couldn't secure on my own.The rooms are spacious and well appointed-the shower/spa tub was an especially nice amenity. We also appreciated the convenience of being driven to and from dinner after enjoying the complementary Happy (2) Hour. We'll definately be staying there again-soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2extradirties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I visited Buffalo 3 months ago. I made a reservation at Mansion and I just did the best.
Very clean, great staff and a sense of luxury everywhere. I will return at my next visit to the area. I loved Buffalo and The Mansion on Delaware Avenue.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittanykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park WI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our stay at the mansion far and above surpassed all our expectations. When we travel for pleasure we avoid standard hotel /motel stays, and search to find unique properties with character.We have enjoyed many nice places, but nothing that was as enjoyable as the mansion. The mansion itself is beautiful, The staff attended to our every need with great care. It was truly a perfect stay,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's a charming place, contemporary innards with an historical exterior. Quirky, fun, accomodating, easy. The owner greeted me and moved my car for me when I parked in the wrong lot next door. He carried my bag upstairs and was very friendly. Nice wine happy hour with good wines. Great breakfast. Just lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

An inn of this calaber would cost much more in most locations in North American. The mansion is a stunning 19th century premises lovingly restored. It has little elecletic artistic touches throughout the common areas and rooms which are well appointed. The staff is focused on service and do a wonderful job of making sure your needs are met. The buffet European style breakfast is excellent. The happy hour from 5 to 7 pm is a nice touch too. Overall, we have greatly enjoyed our two stays at the Mansion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Buffalo
The Westin Buffalo
#11 of 24 in Buffalo
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Property: The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing