We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Buffalo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Buffalo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's a charming place, contemporary innards with an historical exterior. Quirky, fun, accomodating, easy. The owner greeted me and moved my car for me when I parked in the wrong lot next door. He carried my bag upstairs and was very friendly. Nice wine happy hour with good wines. Great breakfast. Just lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    77
    25
    14
    6
See reviews for
49
236
15
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

An inn of this calaber would cost much more in most locations in North American. The mansion is a stunning 19th century premises lovingly restored. It has little elecletic artistic touches throughout the common areas and rooms which are well appointed. The staff is focused on service and do a wonderful job of making sure your needs are met. The buffet European style breakfast is excellent. The happy hour from 5 to 7 pm is a nice touch too. Overall, we have greatly enjoyed our two stays at the Mansion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you don't have a legitimate reason to visit Buffalo, find one! The Manion on Delaware is one of the swankiest hotels we've ever stayed in, and we've had the priviledge of staying in some very nice hotels. Although we arrived late in the evening, one of the "butlers" noticed we had pulled into the parking lot and raced out to our car. He treated us royally, pouring complimentary drinks as we lounged in one of the mansion's beautiful public rooms and telling us about our options for dinner. He would have taken us by car (also complimentary) to any local restaurant, but we chose to have him pick up dinner for us. He brought it to us in the mansion's parlor, where it was served with china, silverware and white linens (even though it was hamburgers and fries!). The "butler" concept might have felt intrusive somewhere else, but here it was fantastic. Nothing we asked for was a problem. The mansion's public rooms are beautiful, and both have roaring fires. Our guest room was enormous and well outfitted. It even had two fireplaces. Like I said, if you don't have a reason to go to Buffalo, find one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Overall Impression: Based upon the entire experience for our one night stay at the property, my wife and I would recommend the Mansion and we would stay here again the next time we visit Buffalo. I am a native Western New Yorker (we visit the Buffalo and Greater Niagara Region several times a year) and the Mansion is one of two hotels that we consider when selecting Buffalo accommodations. The Mansion has the right ideas and approach for a luxury boutique hotel, but based upon our experience we feel that improvements can be made in order to provide a better overall experience. Please continuing reading for more details on our stay.

The Hotel: We tend to stay in 4 & 5 star hotels that are historic, traditionally decorated (late 19th or early 20th century), and are located in the city center/urban core. The Mansion is a renovated 19th century property that is well located within the city of Buffalo (providing easy access to the entire city). Checking in was straight forward and upon arrival (at 1:15 AM) we were provided with a complimentary welcome drink (there is a well-stocked honor bar in the main lounge). The hotel serves a continental breakfast in the morning but we did not have an opportunity to try it (we never received our wake up call – so by the time we woke up and got ready we missed the breakfast). Standard checkout time is a bit early (11:00 AM) but we were granted a later checkout (noon) upon request. We left our luggage with the hotel staff after checkout (we had an event in Buffalo that lasted until early evening) and the hotel was kind enough to look after it for us. The hotel offered a free shuttle service (up to 3 miles in any direction) although we didn’t need the service during our stay.

The Room: We reserved a Classic Queen room – which we believed was the lowest class of rooms offered at the Mansion. Our particular room was on the second floor, had several sets of windows (great for light), and faced the hotel parking lot. The room had some nice amenities - everything in the room was personalized (welcome letter, stationary, etc.), there were complimentary toiletries in the bathroom, and there was a plate of chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us on the desk (very nice touch) upon arrival. The room itself was small and had a fairly tiny (but comfortable) queen bed (which squeaked every time we moved). The entire room needed a good dusting, but it was in a very quiet part of the hotel. The room had both heat and air conditioning (although the HVAC system automatically switched on and off every 5 minutes throughout the night making it difficult to sleep). There was a television located in the armoire, but it was dated (it was not a flat panel/flat screen). The room did not have a mini-bar (but there is the honor bar in the lounge) nor did it have an iron/ironing board (but we were promptly given an iron & ironing board upon request). The bathroom was big (especially considering the room type that we reserved) but it was outdated (our guess is that it was circa late 80’s or mid 90’s).

The Staff: In a word – Fantastic! Everyone on the staff seemed pleasant and helpful. This was especially true for the front desk staff.

Arriving: We arrived in Buffalo via Buffalo-Niagara International airport (BUF) from Washington, DC. Finding baggage claim was easy. We decided to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel (NFTA buses also service the airport). Taking the taxi was an easy experience – simply exit the main terminal and turn right. The taxi stand (Airport Taxi Service – www.BuffaloAirportTaxi.com) was at the end of the terminal. The 9 mile trip from the airport to the hotel was quick (15 minutes) but relatively expensive (Brussels and Helsinki are the only cities that we have visited that have higher Taxi rates).

Departing: We departed the hotel by car (relatives picked us up).

Tips: Several tips for your stay. The Mansion offers the AAA discount. Visit the Anchor Bar (http://www.anchorbar.com/original.php) for original Buffalo Wings. Enjoy your morning coffee just down the road at Spot Coffee (http://www.spotcoffee.com/). Have a drink at the Pearl Street Grill (http://pearlstreetgrill.com/index.html). Enjoy a meal by the water at Templeton Landing (http://www.templetonlanding.com/templetonlanding/). Take a boat ride out onto the lake (http://www.moondancecat.com/). Finally, make the 30 minute drive to Niagara Falls!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed overnight at the Mansion on Delaware for a wedding. The service was fantastic and the food at the wedding and the next day at breakfast were wonderful. The one place that could use improving is when it comes to the rooms. I stayed at the Mansion nine years ago, then five years ago and now recently, and the rooms and bathrooms look the same as when I first stayed there nine years ago (including the TV), just much more worn (i.e. cracks in the walls, grimy tiles in the bathroom, okay bedding). I love the Mansion and am a huge fan of its success in Buffalo, but if I was paying the full price for the room (not the wedding rate), I would expect more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLynnBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

From the moment my wife and I arrived, we were greeted by name, given a "royal" treatment by Butlers Kent and Marty, and even though we arrived late at 10PM, treated to complimentary cocktails (well made Manhattens!) and Kent arranged for dinner to be picked up and brought to us in the Mansion's Parlor where it was served with china, silverware and white linens. Further, Kent jumped on the phone at our request, despite the late hour, and secured a wonderful full day's tour of Niagara Falls that began and ended at the doorsteps of the Mansion. The following night Kent again arranged for a special dinner served to us in the Mansion's parlor and we were tended to by none other than Gino, the Mansion's owner. At the staff's suggestion we were booked for a excellent tour of the Martin Residence designed a century ago by Frank Lloyd Wright and personally driven to and picked up from the 2 hour tour by very knowledgeable and charming Butler Renee who explained the beautiful boulevards and parks designed by the Olmstead Brothers along the way there and drove us through the fun artsy shopping areas on the way back. Proprietor Gino has selected an excellent staff (that also included Jeff and Josh who were always driving us here and there as well as tending to our needs while relaxing between outings in the Mansion) that seems to intuitively anticipate every need and desire of its guests. We couldn't have been more impressed and appreciative of the constant courtesies extended to us. As Kent would say more than once, "we intend to spoil you at all times". Yes, the Mansion is also very glamorous and beautiful, and the linens divine and the rooms wonderfully unique, but the manner of treatment we received from the staff was the reason we would absolutely return given the ocassion in a heartbeat and look forward to meeting our friends the butlers at the Mansion again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EWFredricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

It was our 19th Anniversary and they made us feel welcomed. The cookies in the room were great! They had a nice keurig coffee maker in the room. They have happy hour from 5 to 7 but we missed it because of our plans. The Butler service was awesome! You parked your car and they took you anywhere you want to go and picked you up. This was nice because you didn't have to worry about getting lost. The only way they need to improve is the internet. The DSL did not cut it. High speed Wifi would be a great improvement to this place. Other than that I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photogal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.9 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 22 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion on Delaware Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion on Delaware Avenue

Property: The Mansion on Delaware Avenue
Address: 414 Delaware Ave, Delaware & Edward Street, Buffalo, NY 14202-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
#4 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#6 Family Hotel in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mansion on Delaware Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo's first and only AAA Four Diamond hotel provides a cosmopolitan, European hotel experience with value added complimentary amenities such as valet parking, breakfast, afternoon cocktails, downtown Land Rover transportation, free wireless and/or hi-speed internet and more. Guestrooms receive equivalent deluxe services and amenities, with size and architectural detail distinguishing each room type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Mansion on Delaware Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion On Delaware Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Mansion On Delaware Avenue Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing