We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Night of Superstorm Sandy 2012!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
Save
You added Hostel Buffalo-Niagara to your Saves list
667 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Night of Superstorm Sandy 2012!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Hostel Buffalo the night of the 'superstorm' on October 29, 2012 after a four hour bus ride from Toronto. The staff was great and I was thrilled to be inside and to get a private room. This place is so solid (I have no idea what it used to be) I slept great and didn't hear anything or anyone. Staff was great with directions to airport, places to eat nearby, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FortFrances807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    27
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
6
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The AC was so very loud when it kicks in. Didn't get to sleep until 3am. Otherwise there is nothing to complain about considering the money I paid. Wireless internet worked, room was nice and clean. Big kitchen with lots of shelves, 2 gas stoves. Enough seats in the lounge area. 3 showers and 3 stalls per gender in total on floor 2 and 3. You get clean bed cover, sheet, towel, pillow cover. I didn't use the blanket since it was pretty hot for me. I was going to go to Niagara fashion outlet, but the bus ride would have been too long (1.75 hours bus ride) So I went to Walden Galleria instead (45 min bus ride) $5 for bus day pass. I didn't do sight seeing so can't say much about it, all I can say is everything seems to close early downtown and you really don't see many people about. I took the Megabus from Toronto to Buffalo. This would be the last time I take Megabus. Takes too long to get through border. When I was going back to Toronto, the Megabus was delayed for 2.5 hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lavalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Awesome Hostel. Very helpful and friendly staff, clean and comfortable beds, spacious rooms, better than average bathrooms, central location!
Our stay here was very pleasant, taking advantage of the well equiped kitchen and free pool.
Staff here were very helpful and knew the local area. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomstrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmont, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed solo,week of 8-13 thu8-17-12, safe ,clean,secure, freindly staff,good wi-fi, highly recomend,kept my bycycle in room no problem,lots of movies to watch on tv, showers clean plunty of hot water, kitchen clean all hallways painted nice and very clean, elevator clean and works well,very very reasonable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenmonttom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I checked in to this Hostel in order to stow my things and attend a last night's bit of festivities at the yearly gothic convention, Convergence, before catching a 4am train to NYC.

It's a three-story building with a basement with elevators. The front desk keeps specific hours, but check-in was easy, quick and courteous.The kitchen was large, clean and well equipped, and the quiet adjacent lounge was nicely furnished. The basement 'entertainment lounge' featured a TV with VHS-tapes and a tape player (which probably eliminates any theft issues with movies), a pool-table and a sort of bizzarre laundry room, apparently available to both patrons and staff for personal and linen/towel laundering. Not a bad thing, just oddly haphazard-looking.

I was assigned to an 8-person dorm-style room allotted to women with four reasonably clean bunk-beds, most of which were empty with new, clean sheets. Each dorm-room had a key-card lock, and all dorm-rooms had a shared restroom with showers on each of the floors. Getting around the room was interesting because patrons' luggage and personal items were scattered around their beds due to the smallness of the in-room lockers. There's no way to fit even a modestly sized suitcase into a locker at this hostel, but it seemed pretty safe. I put my small suitcase under a bed. It was fine.

The neighborhood Hostel Buffalo-Niagara is in is a business district, and even the local CVS and Rite-Aid close early on Sat/Sun. It's located on Main Street, which is not an automotive thoroughfare at all. It's used for the local trolley. I never heard the trolley. It's whishper-quiet, but there are a large number of downtrodden/homeless people who tend to populate Main Street, many of whom tend to panhandle near the trolley's many stations, but overall, it was a nice experience to be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dunebuggy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

In my two visits to Buffalo I stayed at this same hostel. Very clean and relaxing place. Even if you arrive very late in the evening staff will leave everything prepared for you (you just have to call them and they will give you safety instructions to get in and start enjoying your stay). I want to say thank you to Jonathan, Jessica, Bryan and Emily for their kindness and efficiency, and all the information they gave me.I saved money and time and was able to visit many more places than I expected. Guys: you are the best! Thanks again.
Miguel Arca

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great for solo hostettler! Safe area, secure building, professional staff. Extremely affordable price for excellent accommodations. Give it a try alone or with your family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.8 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#9 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Buffalo-Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

Property: Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
Address: 667 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host to backpackers, travelers and out-of-towners, domestic and abroad, this independent & non-profit hostel is in the heart of downtown Buffalo's Theater District. We offer a communal homestead with our fully equipped kitchen, spacious lounges, laundry facilities, free wifi, book exchange, free store, complementary bag storage and a movie room with the finest selection of VHS tapes, oh and a ping pong table! Our local Buffalonian staff love this city and will gladly help you get from point A to point B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing