We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
Save
You added Hostel Buffalo-Niagara to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Glenmont, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed solo,week of 8-13 thu8-17-12, safe ,clean,secure, freindly staff,good wi-fi, highly recomend,kept my bycycle in room no problem,lots of movies to watch on tv, showers clean plunty of hot water, kitchen clean all hallways painted nice and very clean, elevator clean and works well,very very reasonable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenmonttom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
6
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I checked in to this Hostel in order to stow my things and attend a last night's bit of festivities at the yearly gothic convention, Convergence, before catching a 4am train to NYC.

It's a three-story building with a basement with elevators. The front desk keeps specific hours, but check-in was easy, quick and courteous.The kitchen was large, clean and well equipped, and the quiet adjacent lounge was nicely furnished. The basement 'entertainment lounge' featured a TV with VHS-tapes and a tape player (which probably eliminates any theft issues with movies), a pool-table and a sort of bizzarre laundry room, apparently available to both patrons and staff for personal and linen/towel laundering. Not a bad thing, just oddly haphazard-looking.

I was assigned to an 8-person dorm-style room allotted to women with four reasonably clean bunk-beds, most of which were empty with new, clean sheets. Each dorm-room had a key-card lock, and all dorm-rooms had a shared restroom with showers on each of the floors. Getting around the room was interesting because patrons' luggage and personal items were scattered around their beds due to the smallness of the in-room lockers. There's no way to fit even a modestly sized suitcase into a locker at this hostel, but it seemed pretty safe. I put my small suitcase under a bed. It was fine.

The neighborhood Hostel Buffalo-Niagara is in is a business district, and even the local CVS and Rite-Aid close early on Sat/Sun. It's located on Main Street, which is not an automotive thoroughfare at all. It's used for the local trolley. I never heard the trolley. It's whishper-quiet, but there are a large number of downtrodden/homeless people who tend to populate Main Street, many of whom tend to panhandle near the trolley's many stations, but overall, it was a nice experience to be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dunebuggy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

In my two visits to Buffalo I stayed at this same hostel. Very clean and relaxing place. Even if you arrive very late in the evening staff will leave everything prepared for you (you just have to call them and they will give you safety instructions to get in and start enjoying your stay). I want to say thank you to Jonathan, Jessica, Bryan and Emily for their kindness and efficiency, and all the information they gave me.I saved money and time and was able to visit many more places than I expected. Guys: you are the best! Thanks again.
Miguel Arca

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great for solo hostettler! Safe area, secure building, professional staff. Extremely affordable price for excellent accommodations. Give it a try alone or with your family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Excellent hostel and great location too. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The common facilities are well equiped and also very clean. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable of things to do in and around Buffalo; especially Jessica. Also, there is lots to do in Buffalo, you just have to be clued up! Elmwood and a few street close to the hostel are worth exploring. There are also many unique food places and independent cafe hangouts to explore! A stay of up to 2/3 days in Buffalo is sufficient to experience Niagara Falls and explore downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaszanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had booked in advance and had instructions of what to do when we arrived, unfortunately no keys had been left for us so we couldn't get into our room until the guys arrived anyhow. The location is good, we hired a car from the airport and used it to visit the falls but there were a few others offering seats in their cars to see it. The room was big and airy and comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped with a coffee machine and lots of utensils. The living rooms comfortable and full of useful hostel things like board games and a guitar. There is laundry facilities and a pool table.
Buffalo is quite a quiet place, the road the hostel is on is a bit like a zombie movie where all the shops have moved out in a rush.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Obviously it is a cheap hostel so do not expect too much.
The photos they have on their website look much better than they truly are, but overall my stay was alright I havent had any pb and the staff is very friendly.
BE VERY CAREFUL ON THE HOUR YOU ARRIVE AT THE HOTEL THOUGH, THEY DO NOT OPEN BEFORE 8 OR 9..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miletaxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.8 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,631 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Buffalo-Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

Property: Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
Address: 667 Main St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1404
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host to backpackers, travelers and out-of-towners, domestic and abroad, this independent & non-profit hostel is in the heart of downtown Buffalo's Theater District. We offer a communal homestead with our fully equipped kitchen, spacious lounges, laundry facilities, free wifi, book exchange, free store, complementary bag storage and a movie room with the finest selection of VHS tapes, oh and a ping pong table! Our local Buffalonian staff love this city and will gladly help you get from point A to point B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing