We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best location, friendly staff, complete and big kitchen, comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best location, friendly staff, complete and big kitchen, comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

In my two visits to Buffalo I stayed at this same hostel. Very clean and relaxing place. Even if you arrive very late in the evening staff will leave everything prepared for you (you just have to call them and they will give you safety instructions to get in and start enjoying your stay). I want to say thank you to Jonathan, Jessica, Bryan and Emily for their kindness and efficiency, and all the information they gave me.I saved money and time and was able to visit many more places than I expected. Guys: you are the best! Thanks again.
Miguel Arca

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
6
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great for solo hostettler! Safe area, secure building, professional staff. Extremely affordable price for excellent accommodations. Give it a try alone or with your family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Excellent hostel and great location too. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The common facilities are well equiped and also very clean. The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable of things to do in and around Buffalo; especially Jessica. Also, there is lots to do in Buffalo, you just have to be clued up! Elmwood and a few street close to the hostel are worth exploring. There are also many unique food places and independent cafe hangouts to explore! A stay of up to 2/3 days in Buffalo is sufficient to experience Niagara Falls and explore downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaszanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had booked in advance and had instructions of what to do when we arrived, unfortunately no keys had been left for us so we couldn't get into our room until the guys arrived anyhow. The location is good, we hired a car from the airport and used it to visit the falls but there were a few others offering seats in their cars to see it. The room was big and airy and comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped with a coffee machine and lots of utensils. The living rooms comfortable and full of useful hostel things like board games and a guitar. There is laundry facilities and a pool table.
Buffalo is quite a quiet place, the road the hostel is on is a bit like a zombie movie where all the shops have moved out in a rush.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Obviously it is a cheap hostel so do not expect too much.
The photos they have on their website look much better than they truly are, but overall my stay was alright I havent had any pb and the staff is very friendly.
BE VERY CAREFUL ON THE HOUR YOU ARRIVE AT THE HOTEL THOUGH, THEY DO NOT OPEN BEFORE 8 OR 9..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miletaxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

A very clean reliable hostel. On the city free tram route. About 15 minute walk to recommended restaurants. Bit hard to find, the entry is off the tram track street ( not car access street where taxi will drop off).IN the middle of theatre district. On Sat - Sun deserted of people except for showtime.
We do not agree with 'stay here - go to Niagara Falls'. You cannot be in Buffalo & know the weather in Niagara. In mid May it was thick fog in Buffalo - clear at Niagara. On weekends there are about 8 busses are day $3 return, 60 - 90 bumpy crowded minute ride one way. You can walk to Buffalos' Niagara bus stop. The big problem is the return bus to Buffalo bus can be FULL leaving Niagara Falls terminal, so you risk NOT getting on a bus. On a Sunday, busses run 90 minutes apart. So trying to save money/time, you could be stranded in Niagara. So we do not agree with Lonely Planet who say " stay in Buffalo - not Niagara ' - Niagra is a nice tourist town. It is twice the distance from BUF airport compared to Niagara Falls.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janellesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

This hostel has great facilities such as sofas, board games, dining tables and a well equipped kitchen. Cleanest kitchen ever! The walls of the dorms are freshly painted with paintings hanging on the walls. The beds are alright though abit squeaky. Best of all, by courtesy of the hostel, bicycles were provided for free, which we used to tour the city. The staff was generally friendly and attended to our needs. This place has a homely touch.

Room Tip: Make use of the free bicycle rental!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geolpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.8 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 22 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Buffalo-Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Buffalo-Niagara

Property: Hostel Buffalo-Niagara
Address: 667 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host to backpackers, travelers and out-of-towners, domestic and abroad, this independent & non-profit hostel is in the heart of downtown Buffalo's Theater District. We offer a communal homestead with our fully equipped kitchen, spacious lounges, laundry facilities, free wifi, book exchange, free store, complementary bag storage and a movie room with the finest selection of VHS tapes, oh and a ping pong table! Our local Buffalonian staff love this city and will gladly help you get from point A to point B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing