We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Ulrich's has closed.”

Ulrich's Restaurant
Ranked #392 of 1,044 Restaurants in Buffalo
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, German
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sadly Ulrich's has closed.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Drove past Ulrich's this past weekend with an old friend from Buffalo. I had met the family that owned and operated this restaurant years ago at Waldfest and enjoyed the restaurant. It had one of those old school family feels you know when you walk in you're going to have a fun time and good food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank A R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New City NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great German food and bear”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had lunch - great liverwurst, potato salad, cabbage. Excellent German beers on tap. Atmosphere is nice and old. The waitresses were great, gave us a lot of other places to try in town. All together a nice experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobFNewCityNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Awesome German food.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had the most tremendously good platter of sausages at Ulrich's. The smoked Polish in particular was out of this world. And I was particularly impressed with the selection-- the waitress rattled off maybe as many as 10 sausages that I could choose from! Wish I could go back now for another, but I only had the weekend. Otherwise, Ulrich's is a great spot with friendly people and a comfortable vibe-- just like so many great places in Buffalo!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fenchurch128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I inten on becoming a "regular."”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I was traveling through Buffalo on Business when I stumbled upon this gem. The restaurant has an interesting history- feel free to Google it before you head in.

The atmosphere was pleasant and the server, Brittney, was attentive, efficient, and friendly.

I highly recommend the Schnitzel, it was out of this world! I'll be back...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChachaXIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rib Eye Sandwich”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have been a lifelong Buffalo resident and had never been to Ulrich's. Since I am a Catholic, and Ulrich’s is notorious for their fish, we went for fish twice during Lent this year. When we went for the fish fry, one of the non-Catholics in my party ordered the rib eye sandwich. Three of us who were there remarked on how good the rib eye looked and how we would have to go back when Lent was over to try it out. Unfortunately, we went back this past Friday when the rib eye sandwich was a “special” for the night. Two people in my party ordered the rib eye sandwich. I can’t begin go tell you how disappointed we both were with the sandwich. After thinking about it for weeks we were looking forward to an outstanding sandwich. Much to our dismay, EACH AND EVERY BITE OF BOTH SANDWICHES were nothing but fat and grizzle. The toppings for the sandwich (spinach (cold) , blue cheese (tasted artificial) and diced chunks of sweet potatoes (cold and tasteless)) were also very disappointing. To me and my friend, the rib eye we got didn’t even LOOK the same as the sandwich our friend had. Very disappointing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roselle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulrich's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ulrich's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing