We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
13
8
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
8
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchengrandma's housewasher and dryerplace to staytheodore roosevelt national parkwagonmarywoolylaundrypulllodgingdickinsonbedsbadlands
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 24 of 24 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We read reviews prior to booking, and the cleanliness of the house was mentioned. This is important to us. However, this house in not clean! The oven looked like it had years of grime inside, the refrigerator was dirty with old food, the ventilation grilles were covered in dirt wiht dust balls in front of them. The front yard was poorly maintained - the weeds must have been 2 feet high. Noise from the lower level travels right through the ductwork. Not well inslutated for a 2 unit building. The price is a bargain, and the full kitchen and laundry is a bonus, but otherwise this would not be a place we would choose again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingGranny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were looking for somewhere reasonably priced to fit 6 people comfortably and we found it at Custer's Cottage. We rented the upstairs which had 4 bedrooms, living area, kitchen and bathroom and had plenty of room. We arrived in 90 + temperatures to find the house was cool and extremely comfortable with a very efficient air conditioner. The kitchen had everything we needed including a microwave, fridge/freezer and washer and drier and there's a nice outside area with some shade. The house was clean and the beds comfortable and for the price we paid it was an incredible bargain. I would recommend it to everyone who is looking for a clean, comfortable, low priced place to stay within walking distance of the town center. The only negative we found was a leaky, slow-filling coffee pot, but that won't put us off going there again.
A definite recommendation from all of us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brit57730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This SO MUCH MORE THAN A HOTEL! You actually get a HOUSE with more than one bedroom, a kitchen, bathroom, TV/living room, and LAUNDRY! There is also a charcoal grill, if you like. Okay, so the look is 70s, but who cares? It could not be cleaner or more comfortable! My daughter actually got a HUGE kick out of the decor. When we arrived, we picked which rooms we were going to use, then the extra room was shut and locked. (You pay by th enumber of rooms used.) The day we arrived it was over 10 so we watched cable and did our trip laundry (free- bring your own detergent). You can also cook your own meals, but BRING FOOD WITH YOU. THERE IS NO GROCERY STORE IN TOWN. We paid $1.29 for an orange so my daughter could have fruit! And bread was over $4 a loaf at the nreaby campground grocery. As a bonus, I did (sometimes) get the wireless signal from the capground next door. We stayed in Libby's Loft, there is also Custer's Cottage with an upper and lower unit.

Room Tip: CALL AHEAD - do not rely on emails
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ridgebacklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Stayed here several years ago, but will be back. Good location to see the Theodore Roosevelt Nat'l Park, south unit. In the historic town of Medora, ND. Summer musicals, good food in Medora.

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Codite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews