We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cowboy Up”

Pitchfork Steak Fondue
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Medora
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cowboy Up”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I don't know if cowboys ever ate this way. The steaks are submerged in boiling oil. The oil is a mixture of soya oil and animal fat. The result is a steak with a very different flavor and texture. One that I enjoyed greatly.

The rest of the meal however was not as enjoyable.

The "plates" are metal trays (I don't know if the cow pokes used these). We arrived late and the baked potatoes were undercooked, maybe if we had arrived with the crowd maybe we would have gotten a better potato.

The other food was "okay". At the prices of this meal "okay" many not be good enough.

The view was spectacular and unparallelled.

One of those things you would once, but maybe not "over and over" or even "again".

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davidphoto574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    96
    50
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glendive, Montana
Level Contributor
155 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Old West Dinner in the Badlands of North Dakota”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Dined here on Fri. Aug. 16. If you've never been to a Pitchfork Fondue, then you need to try it once. Steaks are cooked in cauldrons of boiling oil using pitchforks. Childern have option for a hot dog plate instead of a steak and adults not interested in steak can choose to have just the buffet. Buffet includes, bread, baked potato, cole slaw, vegetable tray, baked beans, mixed melons, brownie or mini-donuts, water, lemonade, or coffee to drink. Other soft drinks and adult beverages are available for an extra charge. If you don't like standing in line, arrive early but everyone gets fed. Gerat outdoor setting and dinner music by The Coal Diggers Band was provided.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Part of the Medora Experience.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you want the entire Medora experience - then by all means - you'll want to go. The food was plentiful but average. Everything was well organized. Cups of lemonade, water or coffee included. Stands were situated around to purchase soft drinks, bottled water, wine, or beer. One time was good for us. Next time, we will eat in town and then go to the musical.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Something you have to do once on a nice day”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Get there early, as the wait can be long. They do serve pop and beer,though you will pay extra for them.

Its basically just a small buffet with steaks cooked on a pitchfork on a grill. You don't get to choose your steak and watch it cook, you just get a slab plopped on your plate. Everything was tasty and very filling, but I could do it on my grill at home cheaper. I thought there would be more of a showing of the grilling. But, it was a good once in a lifetime experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique dining”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We opted to do the pitchfork fondue and chuck wagon dinner before we went to the Medora Musical. Because the meals each were almost $30.00 we thought to try both and share. The steak was very good, deep fried in hot oil, yummy.... The buffalo, ribs and chicken for the Chuckwagon meal were also very good and worth trying. The sides for both meals were the same. The steak was served to you and the Chuckwagon meats are part of the buffet so you helped yourself to as much meat as you would want. The cash bar was reasonable priced. The view incredible! Most of the seating is open air so try to pick a clear night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pitchfork Steak Fondue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing