We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Part of the Medora Experience.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pitchfork Steak Fondue

Pitchfork Steak Fondue
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Medora
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Brainerd
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Part of the Medora Experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you want the entire Medora experience - then by all means - you'll want to go. The food was plentiful but average. Everything was well organized. Cups of lemonade, water or coffee included. Stands were situated around to purchase soft drinks, bottled water, wine, or beer. One time was good for us. Next time, we will eat in town and then go to the musical.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    95
    49
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Something you have to do once on a nice day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Get there early, as the wait can be long. They do serve pop and beer,though you will pay extra for them.

Its basically just a small buffet with steaks cooked on a pitchfork on a grill. You don't get to choose your steak and watch it cook, you just get a slab plopped on your plate. Everything was tasty and very filling, but I could do it on my grill at home cheaper. I thought there would be more of a showing of the grilling. But, it was a good once in a lifetime experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We opted to do the pitchfork fondue and chuck wagon dinner before we went to the Medora Musical. Because the meals each were almost $30.00 we thought to try both and share. The steak was very good, deep fried in hot oil, yummy.... The buffalo, ribs and chicken for the Chuckwagon meal were also very good and worth trying. The sides for both meals were the same. The steak was served to you and the Chuckwagon meats are part of the buffet so you helped yourself to as much meat as you would want. The cash bar was reasonable priced. The view incredible! Most of the seating is open air so try to pick a clear night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clancy, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thursday, Senior Day August 8, 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We try and go somewhere for our wedding anniversary every year. This year we traveled to
N. D. to the International Peace Park and then down to Medora. What a excellent choice we made.
The Pitchfork Steak Fondue was so nice and relaxing. Everyone we visited with were completely
satisfied with their meal and the outdoor atmosphere was ideal. The Steak we had could have
been taken out of the Fondue a minute or two sooner, but absolutely nothing to complain about.
The side dishes were fresh and of top quality. We are now back home in Helena, Mt. and telling
all our friends about this great event. We Stayed at the T.Roosevelt Hotel, and also went to
the Musical. We will be back as we did not see everything there is to see in Medora.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Deep fried steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had to go and try it, you will also. Buffet style food, but the steak was a new experience. A one time affair.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank captaingreybeard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pitchfork Steak Fondue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing