We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground, but LOTS of noise”
Review of Medora Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Medora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Medora Campground
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Medora
Tawas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice campground, but LOTS of noise”
Reviewed June 24, 2010

This campground, upon entering seems quiet and restful. As we were getting set up, the first train came through. Unfortunately, they continued coming through blasting horns ALL night long. The next day, as we were trying to recover from a very long, restless night, we were surrounded by VERY loud lawn trimmers. If we could have slept through the noise, it would have been a great stay. My small children loved the playground and the staff was very friendly. Unfortunately, it is hard to enjoy on so little sleep. I would certainly try to avoid staying here again, the trains were just too much.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmtd2jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
47
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northdakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2010

As a family we were new to camping, (but I had spent a great deal of my childhood camping) and although I am sure they probably thought we were very inexperienced, they kindly never let on to us about it. They were very, very helpful and the store was nicely stocked. The river was a short walk from our campsite and an amazing place to hangout. I was very impressed with how clean the bathroom and shower facilities were, and the local police drove though the campground several times a day which made us feel really secure. While we were there we did drive through some of the other local campgrounds and decided that Medora Campground was the place we will be returning to this year for our family vacation. Loved the park the musical and the quaint rustic setting of the town. "I can't wait to go back!"

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheoutdoors_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

This friendly little campground provides a great stay in Medora. Although it is near a train track, the treed sites and economical price make it a good choice if coming to the area in summer for the musical. We were thrilled with the quality of the Medora Musical production (which is what you would be here for), but the old fashion western themed town was equally enjoyable. Campground is right in the middle of town and easily manouvered by even the largest rig. Best part of it is definitely when the stage opens at dusk. One of the residents and his wife are decked out in Western attire and play Country tunes from long ago. Lawn chairs and requests are welcome. Don't miss this pleasant stay in the beautiful badlands.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 220pinkflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Overall very pleasant, rv sites could be bigger, the train was some what of a factor the first night. Excellant staff, very friendly and helpful and the manager went the extra mile to help us with a tire issue. The store was nicely stocked and the laundry was great. NO discounts prices were fair GREAT new bathhouse!!!

  • Liked — Bathhouse
  • Disliked — Loud train
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Camper1Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2004

The small town of Medora, ND (winter pop. - 100)offers many attractions & two campgrounds in the summer for the traveling Sr. Citizen IF one can afford them! It was very disappointing that not a single discount (AARP, AAA, Sam's Club) is honored for any of the attractions in this "Foundation-controlled" town. Specifically, the Medora Campground, 1 1/2 mi. S. of I-94, (800)633-6721, crowds campers incredibly close to one another, is noisy, and relatively expensive for what amenities there are.
The Medora Musical, 1 1/2 mi. S.E. of I-94, (800)-633-6721, @ $22.33 per adult, is likewise expensive and offers no Srs. discount.
We will not return & will not recommend stopping in this town to anyone.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Medora Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medora Campground

Property: Medora Campground
Address: 3370 Pool Drive, Medora, ND 58645
Location: United States > North Dakota > Medora
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Medora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Medora Campground Hotel Medora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing