We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the location, price, or views from this campground.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medora Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Medora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Medora Campground
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Medora
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location, price, or views from this campground.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We got in at about 730pm and pulled up to the office where we were greeted by a really nice young man who got us our camping spot close to the river. ( Please note that no camping spots are ON the river, there is a berm you have to go over and a little field you walk across). We got to our spot which, if you have a huge family or tent, you might have issues, but our little tents and car fit perfectly between the berm and the road.
The campground is quiet, and people are pretty respectful of their neighbors due to the fact the sites are very close together...but that didn't bother us...the way you put your tents and situate the picnic table can give you your own area. We had two dogs with us, as the campground is pup friendly with no fee!
The showers: I didn't feel as if there was a problem with the showers, but I am a night time shower-er and took mine around 9pm, didn't run out of water or anything. The showers are individual rooms so you don't have to worry about people in there with you. It was nice to have a little privacy. Bathroom was abuzz in the morning, but nothing out of the ordinary for people taking off early (6-7am). All in all this was a great place to stop, town and chimney park are a stones throw away, and you get to see the beautiful Little Missouri River. Don't pass up on this experience just because how small the campsites can be. We had a memorable stay, and I believe you will too. You can't beat $20 a night, and we heard the train but it wasn't god awful loud or anything.

Room Tip: I personally would choose a campsite on the outer side of the campground, they were grassy and seeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    23
    15
    6
See reviews for
47
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We camped here as a couple for one night in North Dakota. Well priced at $20 per night. Clean restrooms and showers. The map shows the little Missouri river near the campsite, however it is dried up. Very close to Theodore Roosevelt NP and downtown Medora. While we stayed , the quiet hours were not followed and people were still talking loudly after midnight too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Preeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandan, North Dakota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Medora Campground a few weekends ago. Compared to hotel costs in the area the tent price ($20) can't be beat. It was early in the season so the nearest tents were 3-4 sites away from us which was very nice. Most people were very courteous, I'll get to the exception a little later.

Check in was pretty slow, which the clerk blamed on being new and issues with the computer system. If you have reservations have your confirmation handy and it will help. There is a place in town to get attraction tickets, and I'd recommend doing that there instead of the campground. They also have some convenience store items at convenience store prices.

Our site was nice, just a short walk to the river behind us. The bathrooms and showers were fine. Late in the morning only had a lukewarm shower... well really a pretty cool shower... The main shower building did have knobs rather than push button like another reviewer mentioned.

There are grills and tables at each site, but no campfires allowed at individual sites. Only in fire pits in certain areas.

And a heads up... The local police and sheriff phone numbers are posted in the bathrooms, but not outside the office. We had some EXTREMELY loud, drunk neighbors who thought chopping trees and building a fire behind the office would be a great idea at about 2a. The number for the on site campground attendant was disconnected and the other numbers at the office were business hours only. So take note of the phone numbers in the bathroom. Hopefully they won't be needed, but if so you'll know where to find them.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AMC8380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Medora Campground for 2014 memorial day weekend. The camping trip was spur of the moment but even on that Saturday morning they had plenty of spots left. To put up a tent was only $20 a night which we all thought was very reasonable. There were only two fire pits near us, and since you cant have a fire in your own spot this proved to be a bit of a hassle. The camp sites were plenty big and all appeared to be pretty close to the bathrooms. The bathrooms and shower stalls were cleaned every morning and were well kept. Cant beat the location. Right down the street from downtown Medora, and right around the corner from the park entrance.

Room Tip: request a spot on the back side of the camp near the river. Less noise from the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
463 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was not what I expected after reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor. Check-in wasn't bad as a nice young man waited on us, answering our questions about the campground. When I asked if there were available discounts (Veteran, Good Sam, AARP) an older lady replied, rather nasty, that there were no discounts. We were assigned a "short" 50 amp drive-through, which was okay in length, but, they stack rv's in like sardines. We were so close to the folks next to us, their awning was almost touching our bedroom slide out. When they sat outside, they were within a couple feet of our 5'er. The far restrooms, which were closest to our spot, had fixtures first used during WWII or earlier. The showers are controlled by a single push button, so no temp or flow control. It runs for about 20 seconds and then requires you to push the button again. The bugs in the area run the restrooms over at night, so be aware if you need to make a night run. I must have pushed the button once to many times because it stuck and I had to notify the maintenance folks who eventually locked the whole restroom down. There are not many options if you want to stay in the Medora area, so they kind of have you over a barrel. I wouldn't stay here again, but there aren't many options...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank OregonStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have camped at Medora Campground many times over the last 11 years. It is situated along the Little Missouri River, very close to the town of Medora and to Theodore Roosevelt National Park.

Medora Campground is a typical camp area that could have been used by range riders in the 1890s. Of course, it now has modern hoodups for trailers and RVs. There are some large cottonwood trees for shade.

We enjoy the truly Western flavor of the town and the campground. They offer WIFI and cell phone service.

Reservations are handled by the Medora Company. We book ahead by telephone and purchase our tickets for the Medora Musical at the same time. We have always found the personnel to be courteous and efficient. The lady at the desk in the campground was very nice about finding us the site we liked best. We camp with a 34 ft Airstream trailer.

I know we will go there, again, and enjoy the rustic charm of the town and all it offers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAF20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were hesitant of booking and even more anxious as we approached the park, but all was well after we settled to our site. The check-in process was unnecessarily long as local "attractions" are pitched in the process. The sites are unpaved but quite roomy. As a side note we purchased the Medora Musical tickets (as these were highly recommended to us) - we left the show at intermission - however the views of the countryside and Teddy Roosevelt National Park is totally worth the stop. If in the area we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TennLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medora hotels
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Medora
0.7 mi away
Rough Riders Hotel
Rough Riders Hotel
#1 of 4 in Medora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amble Inn
Amble Inn
#2 of 10 in Medora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medora Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medora Campground

Property: Medora Campground
Address: 3370 Pool Drive, Medora, ND 58645
Location: United States > North Dakota > Medora
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Medora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Medora Campground Hotel Medora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing