We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”
Review of Elkhorn Cafe

Elkhorn Cafe
Ranked #14 of 16 Restaurants in Medora
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Florence
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great breakfast in a place chosen thanks to Tripadvisor reviews..
We really liked the breakfast in this nice "Far West place".

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FabFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    30
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dickinson, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I just ate breakfast here...the food was great! Service was not terrible. The atmosphere is kind of like someone's grandmas kitchen, not fancy but it was cozy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nichole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Small, but great food. A little pricey for the atmosphere but all in all a good place to eat. Great service.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Montanashar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and good food”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had breakfast here. The food was really good, but what was even more special is the great conversation with the owner and staff. Thanks for a very enjoyable morning!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelaineMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre and Weird”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

After a full morning taking down our campsite and driving the scenic loop at Theodore Roosevelt National Park, we pulled up to the Elkhorn Cafe extremely hungry for breakfast. This was the first place we saw and we were too hungry to check out other options in the area.

Our first impressions were not great... the place is weird, especially for those of us who come from bigger cities. The tables were covered/wrapped in clear vinyl, likely to make clean-up easier. The silverware came in individual small paper bags. We were a little nervous, but went ahead and ordered. I got the scrambled eggs with ham, hashbrowns and toast. My boyfriend got the biscuits and gravy. His meal came out first, and mine was brought out a short time later. They seem to bring out food as it gets done with no attempt to coordinate to make sure a table receives everything at once.

The food itself was pretty good, but prices were high for simple breakfast. Service was decent. This place is definitely a dive, but satisfied our hungry taste buds. Overall, the experience was just OK.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara_MKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elkhorn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing