We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers”
Review of Chuckwagon

Chuckwagon
Ranked #13 of 16 Restaurants in Medora
Cuisines: American
Description: Buffet Restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Buffet Restaurant
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Burgers”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I liked and suggest you try the burgers fresh off the grill. You often can smell them from your seat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    20
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't go.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Took my kids for dinner since they like to do buffet. Paid $80 for 5 of us which would be ok if it were better. Think of your worse school lunch room memory. This is the chuck wagon buffet. Food on buffet was old, cold, hard, crusty and generally not edible. It's all frozen and canned stuff. You even get a school lunch room tray. The dining room could be fantastic. As it stands it is more like the mess hall at camp. I'm into rustic but this was dirty and in need of a serious update. I would have made it fun anyway but honestly - I was afraid the food would make me sick. And I am not that picky.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank M27diamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers Lake
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place was perfect for breakfast in our group of 11 that included 5 small kids. We got right in, plenty of seating and tons of room. We didnt wait at all for seating or food which was a HUGE deal with impatient little ones.
The food is decent and fairly priced. Most other places had long wait times and were crowded. If you're on the go or have little ones, this is a nice choice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joshua012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Standard breakfast fare nothing special”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. Lots of it but nothing particularly good. Coffee was mediocre. It is essentially the dining hall for the people who work and volunteer in and around Medora and feels like a cafeteria. But there are few choices in town so if you are there for a few days you will probably end up there at some point.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank amhale611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great! Awesome!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Chicken, Buffalo and Pork ribs...what more can you ask for? Sides include; coleslaw, veggies with Ranch dressing, baked beans with bacon, garlic toast and baked potatoes...lots and lots of food for the money. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kingjewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chuckwagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing