We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain good food”
Review of Cowboy Cafe

Cowboy Cafe
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Medora
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
West Fargo, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Plain good food”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you just want a good cup of coffee, eggs, bacon and toast for breakfast, this is your place. Staff is very efficient at getting you in and out. Prices are reasonable. We ate there both mornings before sightseeing. They also have a pretty good lunch menu.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RhondafromND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    86
    48
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Local chow”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Fun place for breakfast, friendly staff, usual assortment at a reasonable price. Booths are a bit straight backed, but you're not there all day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frederick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stopped at the Cowboy Cafe after visiting the Theodore Roosevelt NP. Small (12-15 tables). Mens restroom has an outside entrance while womens is inside. Food was pretty good. I had a buffalo burger. Waitress was pleasant, friendly. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyerInMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Third Visit - Great Food Each Time”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

There's a lot of places to eat in Medora but we found this little old café set off the main street and we love it. The owner, chef, is personable and the staff is very helpful. All the food is home cooked, prepared with care and very reasonable prices. We'll be back time and time again. Don't expect luxurious surroundings, but the ambience is truly old wild west décor. The pies are delicious, don't forget to have a piece after your meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller200247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The best place we ate at in Medora, which doesn't say much. It was really a luncheonette with a little character. Was not impressed by the wait staff. My wife had a decent BLT and onion rings. My buffalo burger was above average.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mafischl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowboy Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cowboy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing