We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for Theodore Roosevelt Park”
Review of Rough Riders Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Medora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rough Riders Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Medora
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best place to stay for Theodore Roosevelt Park”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Labor Day. Stayed in a Tower Room. Very clean, new feel to it, decorated in Teddy Roosevelt style. We thought the tower rooms were just fine size wise, and the bathroom was magnificent. My wife loved the doorless shower. Room was quiet, comfortable. And, oh, did they mention its a couple of blocks from the park entrance. Lobby is high, bright and airy, and leads to nice patio for drinks and maybe some people watching.

The dining room is absolutely first rate. Staff is friendly, knowledgable, and attentive. The meal was big city delicious. Wife loved her Caesar Salad-the dressing was fresh made. Her vanilla brined pork chop was juicy, delicious, and done all the way through, with a great Demi-glacé. My roasted beet salad was great-the greens were dressed with a beet-juice dressing that put it over the top. The buffalo Oslo-buck was tender yet meaty, moist. The horseradish sauce. I think was just right-brightened up the dish but didn't overpower the buffalo. And we loved the crime brûlée we split. Ours was perfect-cool creamy with that nice crunchy top.

Would definitely stay here again, and whatever you do, don't pass up the dining room.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NoVaEmptyNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    118
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
110
194
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spent one night at the Rough Rider when in town to play the Bully Pulpit. We asked for a room in the original hotel. The room was beautiful. The cost is a bit much, but there is little competition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

As others have mentioned the rooms are small but well appointed. The Theodore Roosevelt "Teddy" sitting on the bed was cute, but had a fairly expensive price (that you could add to your hotel bill). We were happy with the food at the restaurant. The servers were from all over the world and were happy to talk about the area, the hotel, their travels, and their home country -- even though they must get the same questions several times a day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LStrassner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the rough Rider Hotel after friends have told us it was the best hotel in Medora ND. Well it probably is the best hotel in town but it does not have much competition. The hotel its self it very nicely decorated but is grossly over priced and has its faults some of which are pretty major for any lodging facility today.
1. There was no desk or area that could be used as a desk or table in the room to work on your computer, ipad, etc.
2. Rooms are small. If more than two persons per room you will be very cramped.
3. Parking is limited. IF you have a large PU or other large vehicle, you will be parking on the street if you can find parking.
4. The hotel staff is probably 80% seasonal workers from other countries. While these staff members are friendly and interesting to talk with they are not trained, and not interested in giving great customer service. They are warm bodies that get the basic work accomplished but do not provide service that you would associate with a better hotel. Service is more like Motel 6 (no offense motel 6).

Too summarize, Nice looking, and friendly people but several short comings and definitely not worth the price.

Room Tip: Stay in the new section if you want a elevator and nicer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnieXXXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The pictures, on line, just don't do the hotel justice. We walked in and were surprised by the magnificence of this "old" hotel. Our room was lovely, small but really just right. The lobby is beautiful and inviting. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking is handy and secure. Their restaurant is fantastic. We hadn't intended to eat much, for lunch, since we had decided to go to the Pitchfork Fondue at the Musical that evening. However the food was so good that we ate more than we had planned to. It turned out to be a good thing, because the Pitchfork Fondue didn't turn out so good, bad really.
The next morning their breakfast was just as fabulous. Hopefully we'll be able to return someday and enjoy the great little town even more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln,ne
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We usually stay at the Americinn but we were able to get a room at the rough rider. Everyone was really great and had our show tickets waiting for us when we checked in.the room is beautiful, they're modern western style, not rustic. The bathroom was really beautiful and I especially enjoyed the shower and nice bath products.
Be aware that after the musical it's really hard to park in the lot!
Also, the bar is open till 11 if you're looking for a nightcap.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlydanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ditch Witch of North Dakota extends a warm thank you to all staff for your hospitality this past weekend. The staff did a wonderful job of meeting our company's entertainment and social requirements. The food was delightful and prices are a value for the quality received. Please keep up the positive processes and we certainly will look forward to visiting with you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Ditch Witch of North Dakota

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffV326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rough Riders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Riders Hotel

Property: Rough Riders Hotel
Address: 301 Third Avenue, Medora, ND 58645
Location: United States > North Dakota > Medora
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Medora
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Riders Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury accommodations with the feel of the old west. The historic Rough Riders Hotel offers Medora visitors 68 new Tower guest rooms with all the modern comforts and elevator access, as well as 8 fully updated historic rooms in the heart of downtown Medora. Rough Rider guests enjoy one of the most luxurious lodging options in the area and access to multiple outdoor swimming pools. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing