We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”
Review of Rough Riders Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Medora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rough Riders Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Medora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent one night in the newer Tower section in a King room. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodated our wishes for room location. The room was very comfortable and provided all the amenities we required. The air conditioning worked well but seemed to be locked at a limit of 68 degrees. The large tiled shower was unique and was like showering inside a cave. There wasn't a lid on the toilet and we were fearful something from the shelf above or the sink area would fall into it. The shampoo, etc. were all very nice. Parking was free. The parking lot at the hotel was small, but there was another lot at a restaurant across the street from the hotel or street parking was available. We were sorry we only had one night to spend at this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baileybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Rough Riders Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 394 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Medora provides good access to both units of the Theodore Roosevelt National Park, so it was a logical place to stay when we visited the north unit. Rough Riders is definitely not rough; it was very clean, bright and inviting. It was rather pricey, though, but then the oil boom has many hotels in western North Dakota pricey. Our room was pleasant and quiet, so we were able to sleep well. We felt that the dining room was over-priced, so we chose other options for our meals. All in all, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were staying at the Rough Rider while in Medora for a wedding. We had called a few months before and requested the wedding party block rate. The reservation person had a hard time figuring things out but then confirmed that we would get the block rate. We were supposed to get a confirmation email, but it never came (big mistake). When we got there, we asked why we didn't get the block rate, and pointed out that another member of the wedding party got a rate that was $50 less than us. We got nothing but rudeness from the front desk clerks, which included 2 clerks on the night we arrived and 2 more clerks (one was a manager) on the next morning when we checked out. They finally gave us $20 off the standard rate, but it was handled very poorly by the staff. However, the place is very nice, the new rooms are excellent and the restaurant/bar is the best in town. Just be sure you get a confirmation of your rate!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent two nights here. Our room was on the third floor in the tower section of the motel. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and we especially liked the television being mounted to the wall where it was up higher for viewing than most motels we have stayed at. Another thing that stood out to us was how quiet our room was. The walk in shower was great and overall we had a good stay. The only complaint we would have are the bed pillows are about half the size of a regular pillow so next time I would take my own. We also liked the fact there is a restaurant and lounge in the motel and everywhere you want to go in Medora is within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arney262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Spent 2 nights on a girl's trip to Medora. We were in the newer Tower section, which was lovely. The room was large and the bathroom was perfect, especially the shower! Great place to base out of to see all that the area has to offer. Medora is a special place and it's wonderful to be able to stay in this historic and beautiful hotel. The staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliswell252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Medora. We stayed two nights. Our room was located in the newer tower and was clean, comfortable and cozy. In the lobby/library there is a big fireplace with comfortable chairs and sofa to curl up in and visit, read, etc. The restaurant is fabulous! The best prime rib we have every had. We will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJDykstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great little hotel. Without a doubt the most formal and complete Hotel in Medora. Hotel was updated in 2010 and the effort has made this a great stay. Probably the best meals in town. If you ever liked "cowboys" this is a must stop for you.

Room Tip: Get a room on the East side, which is off the street.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_PeteBurnsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medora hotels
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Medora
0.1 mi away
Amble Inn
Amble Inn
#1 of 10 in Medora
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Badlands Motel
Badlands Motel
#3 of 4 in Medora
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rough Riders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Riders Hotel

Address: 301 Third Avenue, Medora, ND 58645
Location: United States > North Dakota > Medora
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Medora
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Riders Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury accommodations with the feel of the old west. The historic Rough Riders Hotel offers Medora visitors 68 new Tower guest rooms with all the modern comforts and elevator access, as well as 8 fully updated historic rooms in the heart of downtown Medora. Rough Rider guests enjoy one of the most luxurious lodging options in the area and access to multiple outdoor swimming pools. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing