We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Badlands Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trappers Inn(Belfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WoodSpring Suites Dickinson(Dickinson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1026 Oasis Inn(Dickinson)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Dickinson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
61
66
45
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
66
45
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin towntheodore roosevelt national parkmini golfroom was cleanwithin walking distancelocation is greatside by sideonly reason i didn't giveeasy access to everythingsmall townstay there againstep back in timeground floorthe staff was friendly and helpfulcable tvnorth dakotaboots bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 187 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very large room with king bed that was very comfy to sleep in. Quiet room - no noise at all. No breakfast but we knew that going into it. I gave it 4 stars not 5 because the shower is very dated and kind of funky. No curtain and that's fine but the shower head is something from the 60's. super dated and not a strong wash. Otherwise great town to visit. Loved being there.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank seetheworld010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We paid almost $150 and were sorely disappointed. The rooms were dark, very badly lighted, cramped, and the beds were so uncomfortable, the management needs to invest some of their high price rates and buy decent pillows.
This motel is the biggest rip-off I have had the misfortune to stay in. We will NEVER stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We enjoyed very much our trip to TRNP and the stay here. I agree with others who pointed out it's an older motel and the AC is loud, but we enjoyed it very much. There's an amazing kids playground behind the motel that the kids LOVED. My son called it the best he's ever seen! Great stay for a family trip. Bring shampoo and conditioner -- not included in the cool shower.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Older motel, but clean with updated decor, furnishings and linens. We were given a handicap room which the front desk did not warn us when we checked in. I was very surprised since I made reservations months ago.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetT1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The rooms are older, they are clean....but we had several issues. First of all, the air conditioner was so loud, we couldn't here the t.v......complained twice, then just gave up. If you plan to wash your hair, bring your own hair dryer, none in the room. Also, for whatever reason, the phone and all lamps were unplugged.....spent 20 minutes on my knees, looking for and pulling in cords!!!!! If you decide to take in the entertainment, ie: Medora Musical and the "Pitchfork Fondue", you get a $40.00 gift card to a list of about 10 stores, which are all owned by the same people. The fellow forgot to put the money on the gift card, so when I went to use it, the woman looked at me, as though, "really, what are you trying to pull?" Had to go all the way to the desk, wait another 15 minutes for them to fix the error. Check in is painfully slow. The show is quite good ($35.00 per adult) and the pitch fork fondue is $30.00 per adult, so not a cheap evening......go early for the fondue, and prepare to run to line up when the dinner bell rings. There were 3 bus loads of people, so the line up went on forever. Food was good and over abundant. Take a jacket for the show, we went in June and it was breezy and cold. You can have steak,(one line goes to steak table) or 3 kinds of meat, chicken, buffalo and ribs, (another line goes here) Most people took the pitchfork steak fondue and it was delicious!

Room Tip: There are 400+ rooms, so odds are you will get one, but some are closer to the road if you want to walk to the little shops.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsallgood-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews