We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT PLACE TO STAY! ONE MINUTE FROM T. ROOSEVELT NATIONAL PARK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Medora
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Medora
Reviewed May 8, 2010

First I will address the train issue. Others have complained that this hotel is too close to a train track. While that is true, this ENTIRE town is close to a train track. The town is only 1 block long. So, no matter where you stay here, you are going to hear the train. The train did not bother me one bit. It came by a couple times at night, but, again, was no bother at all. If you don't want to hear a train, don't come to Medora - because the train is here to stay. The hotel clerk said it doesn't run as much during the summer months, but I don't know about that.

Now, about the hotel. It is perfect. It is not the Ritz, but there isn't a Ritz within 500 miles!! My room was a double and was very big, with a desk, 2 chairs, nice TV and a little closet for your clothes. Comfy bed with very clean sheets. Couldn't ask for more. The bathroom is small, but clean and is fine; sink outside the toilet/tub. The other hotels in the area seem that they would be "rustic", but this hotel really has the feel of maybe a Fairfield Inn or Hampton. There's a good breakfast in the morning and great housekeeping staff. There is also a community washer and dryer to do your laundry. I have no complaints at all.

The best part is convenience to Theordore Roosevelt National Park - about a block away. But all the hotels/motels are close to the park because the place is so small.

If you are a person with any kind of disability that would prevent you from climbing stairs, be sure to ask for a bottom floor room. There is no elevator at all in the hotel.

If I HAD to have a complaint, it would be the wi-fi. A little weak, but it mostly worked fine. They have a computer in the lobby to use if the wi-fi isn't working, so, that wasn't even really an issue.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Lodge & Suites Medora
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 375 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2009

Liked everything about this motel. A beautiful stone fireplace when you walk in with a bison head greets you as soon as you walk in, giving you your first taste of the Old West. The staff is very friendly, the room is clean and well appointed and a very nice breakfast with sausage gravy, waffles, etc. is complimentary.

The pool is warm enough to walk right in and nice to have a motel with a hot tub that functions.

The town is pretty much shut down during the winter.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Probably the best of the options in Medora considering location and amenities.
Relatively new hotel. Lobby is nicely decorated. Rooms are quite large and have small refrigerators; bathrooms are adequate. Location is convenient to town of Medora where there are several choices of restaurants. Internet access is available in lobby but it is not very private. This is a two story building with NO elevator so disabled, elderly or those with lots of luggage should specify ground floor. Large bus tour groups use this facility so it is important to make reservations. Breakfast is served in a separate room and had ample choices. One negative.... staff was not particularly welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamainatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Overpriced, noisy trains, average breakfast, sort-of clean rooms. Just your average chain hotel, which really takes away from the historic charm of Medora. You're better off going to the Roughrider (which is being ruined by an effort to 'modernize' it) or the Badlands Motel (retro 60's, not fancy, but pretty cool).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biplanepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We spent the night of July 28th at the AmericInn in Medora. We were upgraded to a 2 room suite. It was very comortable and clean. The continental breakfast was quite good and there was plenty of space for all to sit in the breakfast room. Trains go by occasionally during the night, but they added to the ambience of the westen theme. We enjoyed our stay, and hope to visit Medora and the Americinn again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Other than the occassional trains that others complained about we had no problems with this lodging. I got a rate of $74.00 plus tax and was happy with the facilities.

I would stay there again. Pool area was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. There was some mud on the carpet but it was constantly tracked in by the hikers coming back from the T R National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Two words, "trains" and "expensive" describe this hotel. We paid $180 for one night to listen to 5 trains blast through town every 2 hours. Apparently they can charge this rate and stay in business but I'd suggest a better option of buying a tent for $100 and pitching it 8 feet off interstate in the ditch as a way to get a better night's sleep and saving money.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank benjamin_wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Medora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Medora

Address: 75 East River Road South, PO Box 648, Medora, ND 58645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Dakota > Medora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Medora
Price Range: $87 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Medora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Hotel & Suites Medora, North Dakota the ideal location for your next stay, whether you're traveling for business, pleasure, or enjoying our brand new Badlands Conference Center. We are proud to provide the amenities you want most and deliver them at the highest level possible starting with comfortable, quieter guestrooms. Our Medora hotel offers a variety of room types including suites with whirlpools. Wake up each morning to our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and stay connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. We are conveniently located within walking distance of historic downtown Medora. Located at the gateway to the Theodore Roosevelt National Park, let the Medora AmericInn be your host during your western shopping adventures or while you observe firsthand the untouched habitat of buffalo, wild horses, elk, deer and prairie dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Medora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Motel And Suites Medora
Americinn Motel & Suites Medora Hotel Medora
Americinn Hotel Medora
Americinn Motel Medora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing