We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is for sale & the owners seem to be ready to bail out”
Review of Eagle Ridge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Medora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagle Ridge Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Medora
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place is for sale & the owners seem to be ready to bail out”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Judging from my stay versus comments from prior visitors, this place is slowly sliding into disrepair from neglect or costs associated with upkeep. Yes the view is wonderful and the concept is lovely. But the proprietors have cut out extras (such as no spare roll of bathroom tissue in the room) and have neglected necessary maintenance (such as wobbly steps on wooden stairs.) If you are okay with rustic conditions for high prices, you will have a unique experience. Not recommended for anyone with mobility restrictions, night time vision issues, or weighs more than 200 pounds (plastic chair collapsed while sitting on it.)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sillysal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This place is not worth the money. As a part of the accommodations, which are at a premium price given the area, meals are to be provided. When we checked in, the owners told us dinner would not be served and we had to go to town for a meal. They still charged us for the meal and would not agree to compensate us for our dinner tab (8 people). The next night, we were asked to stay out of their way as they held a party for another group not staying at the lodge. This put a damper on each night we stayed there and its a good thing we did not give them another evening to ruin. At face value the owners seemed nice, but do not have any concept of hospitality. We love Medora, but would never stay here again. Nor would we recommend the lodge to our friends. Five star price for less than you'd expect from the local motel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AvidBiker84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I hate staying in motels or hotels if I don't have to . I love adventure and when I came around to finding this gem I knew it would be wonderful. Joann and Paul were fabulous from the moment we met them. They said come and go as you like and we did. The food was outstanding as were the other guests that we met, we actually left with new friends. Thank you Joann and Paul for everything, I plan on coming back every year.

Gerri Rose

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowgirlupmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, NJ
Level Contributor
171 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We had a wonderful two night stay at Eagle Ridge. The location, view and food was as advertised and the location and ride out to the Lodge added a great deal to our North Dakota experiences. Our only surprise was the fact that our new room had only a claw foot tub and a hand shower. There are handsome and easy to install shower kits for claw foot tubs and this would have been helpful to have as an option. Overall a great experience and we very much enjoyed Roosevelt National Park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

The view of the magnificent badlands from the lodge is amazing (you're right there!), and the far wall of large windows captures it all. We did sit out on the deck after we arrived to take in the view, and relax after a long day of driving through the Dakotas, sipping a glass of wine (we'd brought our own bottle).

When it came time for dinner, though, we were quickly disappointed. We'd dreamed of steak all day long & the day before (I seemed to remember that grilled steak was advertised as the dinner fare, plus a glass of wine or beer) - but instead the set menu was deep-dish lasagna with coleslaw and bread; and we were pointedly offered water or coffee to drink (I guess they were afraid we were booze-hounds). A far cry from steak dinner. The morning breakfast: baked french toast and fresh melon. Again, no proper meat. The food that was served was good and well-prepared.

Our bedroom was fine - a beautifully-made and comfortable bed, with homemade quilt in pretty purple colors. The lighting was insufficient: we had to lean over to read from the bedside lamps. There was little privacy. Our bedroom door didn't even close properly, nevermind lock.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacksonrosebnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
616 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Eagle Ridge Lodge is a unique property on a ridge with an incredible view of the Badlands of North Dakota. Paul and JoAnn Douglas do a great job of making you feel at home and helping with any travel or tourist questions. Paul is a charmer, and JoAnn an excellent cook. Both make you feel very welcome.

The rooms are very adequate, beds comfortable, wonderful common areas, and a deck that makes you want to sit and look forever.

They serve both breakfast and dinner, the best food in Medora for sure, at prompt times of 8 for breakfast and 6 for dinner.

While the Lodge is off the beaten path, it is easily findable if you follow their directions. Do not try to find it without them! It does take no more than 10 minutes to get from Medora to the Lodge once you know where you are going.

If you like great views, a quiet television free peaceful reading conducive telephone free lodge, good food, nice company, and a place to recharge batteries, this place is for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

The Eagle Ridge Lodge is by far the best place to stay in the Medora area. The lodge is perched on the edge of valley with beautiful views. The rooms were large with plenty of room to spread out luggage. There was a wirelss connection too.

Paul and Joanne were fantastic and cooked amazing meals too, if you go hungry it is your own fault! Other reviews mentioned that you cannot use your navigation system to get here and that is true.... however there are directions available in the town which are extremely easy to follow.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TABrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eagle Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Lodge

Property: Eagle Ridge Lodge
Address: 3653 W River Rd, Medora, ND 58645-9607
Location: United States > North Dakota > Medora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Medora
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing