We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cottonwood Falls' Millstream Motel is the best kept secret in Kansas!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millstream Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cottonwood Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millstream Resort Motel
Wichita, KS
1 review
“Cottonwood Falls' Millstream Motel is the best kept secret in Kansas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

My husband and I discovered the Millstream Motel in Cottonwood Falls several years ago and have returned numerous times since then. Not only are the proprietors (Richard & Sharon Clute) warm and welcoming, the Millstream is like turning a page back in history. It blends well with the town of Cottonwood Falls in that you feel as if you are lulled into an earlier decade of all things "good and kind." The Millstream sits on the Cottonwood River with tall, magnificent trees, peony bushes, Rose of Sharon's, and other perennials dotting the grounds of this wonderful place. The rooms are tastefully and comfortably decorated, and with the sound of the river falls right outside your window, it makes for a deep night's sleep! We've recommended the Millstream to many friends - all whom have returned grateful for us letting the "best kept secret" in Kansas out of the bag!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trip_enthusiast67212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
23
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

I am a single mom with three children (11, 13, 15) and we LOVE going to Cottonwood Falls, KS and staying at the Millstream. We first heard about the Millstream 3 years ago, and try to go as often as we can- and my kids don't ever want to leave once we are there. We love the beautifully decorated rooms, the relaxing & quiet atmosphere, and especially the wonderful and friendly owners, Richard & Sharon - they treat us like family. Each room has a coffee pot, refrigerator and a microwave. These rooms are VERY Clean! They go over-the-top in customer service at the Millstream. It is worth the trip whether you are staying one night, or two. (Haven't had the opportunity to stay a week, but would love to sometime), It is an awesome place to go and get away from the everyday hectic & busy life-style at home, without having to travel very far. There is a lake near-by too that my kids love to go and swim at and have a picnic in the hot summer months. "The Millstream Rocks", as my kids say.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, KS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

We spent our New Year's Eve celebration at The Millstream with an atmosphere as welcoming as a B&B. The rooms were very clean, neat, and tastfully decorated. We appreciated your directing us to the quaint local shops in town and the fabulous celebration dinner at a local restaurant. Thank you, Richard and Sharon, for making us feel right at home in such peaceful surroundings with the soothing sound of the river in your very own backyard. Coffee was left at our door step in the morning; what a treat!

Thank you for a most memorable and relaxing New Year's Eve.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbaumgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

My husband and I have been going to the Millstream for about 3 years now and absolutely love it. The rooms are decorated is such a way that you immediately feel like you're at home. Richard and Sharon, the owners are very accomodating and we've become good friends just from our visits.
The motel and its' surroundings are extremely relaxing.

Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyjoOverlandPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

The Millstream is located close to the Tallgrass Prairie Preserve, and is just off the Scenic Byway of Hwy 177. The room was impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. The historic building is fully modernized (wireless internet, phone, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave) while maintaining a unique character. I was able to slip into a world that is more relaxed and filled with the sounds of nature. The building is of native limestone, the floors are solid wood, and the decor is classy and gives you a feeling of being in a home or B&B, not a cookie-cutter hotel. With a balcony that overlooks the river, dam, and historic bridge in Cottonwood Falls, it is easy to relax and let the stress of the world slip away. The owners operate the motel, so the hospitality is incredible. Shops and places to eat are only a few blocks away, and the historic Chase County Courthouse is located just down the street. Each room is uniquely decorated, and the sheets are like crawling into a piece of heaven! This is a true hidden gem in the Flint Hills of east central Kansas!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karmshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
?
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

I have stayed at this charming motel many times while visiting family in Cottonwood Falls . The friendly owners, clean and carefully decorated rooms, and beautiful grounds have made my visits much more pleasurable than they would be otherwise. I love the hand carved doors and hardwood floors. The spacious grounds along the river have allowed our family to visit together for picnics, barbecues etc. The nearby bridge over the falls is a delightful place for gatherings as well. The location is ideal for the short walk to the unique main street. The price is very reasonable and makes my trips very affordable. I always look forward to my next visit. RK

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cottonwoodfallsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cottonwood Falls
17.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Emporia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
17.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Emporia
Comfort Inn Emporia
#5 of 15 in Emporia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
17.8 mi away
Emporia Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emporia Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Emporia
17.4 mi away
No photo provided
8.8 mi away
Clover Cliff Ranch Bed n Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstream Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstream Resort Motel

Property: Millstream Resort Motel
Address: 401 Mill Road, Cottonwood Falls, KS 66845-0126
Location: United States > Kansas > Cottonwood Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cottonwood Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country get-away. Walking distance for restaurants and shopping. Picnic area, walking trail. Great location for touring the The Flint Hills of Kansas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millstream Hotel Cottonwood Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing