We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Online menu is not what you get!”
Review of Greek Islands - CLOSED

Greek Islands
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Santa Clara, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Online menu is not what you get!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We love Greek food and after reading the online menu, we were excited about this place. When we got the menu we asked what about the octopus, etc. that we saw online? The waiter said someone made that up and they had no control over it. What a bunch of BS! That is called false advertising. We knew it was small but thought it was a cozy little place. It is a dump! It looked like a guy's dorm room after a 3 day drunk. Month old newspapers piled on a counter, the junk/cleaning supply room was very visible from our table. They had closed in the patio to make more room since the temps had dropped. The food itself wasn't too bad (that made the rating Poor, not Terrible), but we won't be back. There are better places to get mediocre Greek food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It is a MIxed Bag of Greek”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Mixed in that the location and decor are totally against the place but the food and service makes this a place you should go to often. If you find the location and decor are just too much, order take out. The food is true Greek - full of the flavors and taste you would expect from a fine Greek Restaurant. The portions are enormous so don't over order. They do not have wine but it is fine to take your own bottle(s). There are other Greek restaurant in town willing to over charge and give you white table clothes, ambiance but not anything interesting to eat. This is the real deal...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pdwrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is not the type of place that attracts you. It's small and in a somewhat dicey looking area. I only went because my daughter drug me there. And how happy I was that she insisted on going!!

First, a very big plus is that the restaurant is open late. Almost everything in Flagstaff closes at 9 pm. We went after a show and shared a heaping plate of feta french fries that were hot and beautifully seasoned. We also had a salad platter that came heaped with all sorts of delightful appetizers - all of which this vegetarian could eat!

Service was, as others have noted, a bit slipshod but everyone was smiling and gracious.

The restaurant doesn't have a liquor license, so bring your own bottle of wine or six-pack.

This is just a great, happy place with tasty food and an international groove. I loved it and look forward to going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Footloosewomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Fork
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always great food!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are local to the area and when we get to Flagstaff this is ALWAYS were we go for lunch. One of our favorite restaurants in Northern Arizona.Not a fancy place, its small and in a hard to find location, parking can be tough, sometimes the service can be a bit slow as the server is often making the food too, but we are never disappointed by the food. VERY Large portions and always fresh. Always extra food to take home with you!! I usually get the falafel platter. Large just made falafel, rice, salad and hot pita and the best taziki sauce ever. My husband always has the gyro platter. Lunch for two with drinks and tip just over $20. The location is close to a college so they seem to offer great lunch specials. TIP: Don't park in the lot were the NO PARKING signs are posted as your car will be towed!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Onegirlashfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What A Find”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very small place tucked into a side street south of downtown. But it is well worth finding. The food here was really very good. Everything was fresh and tasty. For all that, it is extremely reasonably priced. If you get weary shopping in downtown Flag, cross the tracks and find this place. You will be very glad you did.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucsontiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing