We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Little America!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved Little America!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2006

I don't really understand why there are recent negative reviews. We travel all the time and we loved it here! No, it does not have a "southwest" modern flair. The decor is very early 90's in french proventional style. But- it is very tasteful and very comfortable. The rooms are nice and clean and you feel like you are staying in someone's guestroom rather than in a hotel room. We felt very much at home here and it was great for kids. It is roomy, quiet, and there is a large swimming pool and hot tub. There is a nice playground area for kids. The property is set on a pretty wooded area with 2-3 mile hiking trails. This makes you feel like you are away from the city--it is truly very peaceful and pretty. At night, there are tiki torches lit up all around the property with nice walkways. There are plenty of open grassy areas where kids can run and play (our family played tag football). Yet, it still remains very quiet inside the rooms. We never heard other people or trains coming and going. Don't be fooled by the outside as you drive up. When we first drove up to the property I thought it looked like a truck stop. BUT I was pleasantly surprised when we walked in, especially when we got inside our rooms. The gift shop is also very nice. I purchased a turquoise ring and necklace for a great price after shopping downtown and in Sedona finding everything to be expensive!

Have an open mind when you go and I think you will really like it here. It feels like staying in a home, rather than a hotel. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — room service took forever
  • Tips/Secrets — skip room service - it takes too long
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank beachlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    775
    186
    44
    27
See reviews for
784
973
93
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

I too booked this hotel on the advice of other T.A members - since being here the reviews seem to be more negative. Sorry to add to them, but....

I also cannot put a finger on what is wrong with this place. It is literally just off the motorway, but our room faces away from the road, so noise is not an issue. It seems to be made up of 4 blocks, like linked sausages (!) and perhaps it depends on what room you get as to your decor. We are in 274, which is in block 3, and I have to say the room decor is good - king size bed (we requested), nice drapes, bed linen, Frenchified furniture. But it's things like the bathroom that hasn't been updated. There's a roundish (deep) 70's style tub with 70's taps, a long cheap looking sinktop area.... excellent mirror facilities and the room(s) is bright.

It's as if they have plonked all this furniture in a motel - weird.

We ate in the restaurant last night, we're Euro's, so didn't dine til 8.30pm - we were the last and the staff were suprised that we wanted to eat! The food is very basic and average - order chips, they can't go wrong. The breakfast cafe was an interesting experience. Very American cuisine, very amusing trucker's conversation.

I wouldn't stay here again, I just don't like the motel atmosphere.

  • Liked — Nice 2 mile trail out the back
  • Disliked — the dining room and bathroom and long corridors...
  • Tips/Secrets — Find somewhere else - just the other side of the freeway are many more hotels
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

I wanted a large, clean, modern place to stay for our visit to Flagstaff. We have four children and needed space and amenities to make our vacation to the Grand Canyon, Meteor Crater, Sunset Crater and Wupatki pleasant. I chose Little America because of the online compliments, the online pictures and the amenities listed online.
Well, we had the opportunity to arrive in Flagstaff a day early. We couldn't get a room at Little America for the night, so we went to the Hampton Inn for the first night. We went and did our thing the next morning, seeing the Grand Canyon and went to Little America at the end of the day.
Sure, we had an apt suite, so the rooms were large... but get this, there was only ONE tv in a suite with two bedrooms and a livingroom. ONE tv and it was ancient, like out of the 1970's. Thank God we just happened to bring alone the car dvd outlet plug so the kids could go lay on a bed in one of the rooms to watch movies at the end of the day on a 5 inch screen. That was SOOO annoying!!!
And the carpet was disgusting. Unclean. I made the kids wear socks at all times. AND the kitchen was just junky, like very low rent. AND there was no elevator to our room. SO, here we are, a family of 6, two parents schlepping all of our stuff up to the room up a flight of stairs. No help from the hotel staff WHO by the way were not very friendly.
Here's another example of how inconvenient the stay at Little America was... Ok, so, my husband and I are unwinding in front of the only real tv in the livingroom. Two kids will need to stay in one bedroom, two kids on the couch, we'll stay in the second bedroom. So, kids get tired. We have to turn off the tv and let two of the kids go to sleep in the living room on the fold out couch while we, the adults, have to go to our room which doesn't even have a TV. Now, don't tell me that two adults were going to be getting a wink of sleep on that fold out couch and that we should have slept on it. No way. We would have been up all night on that. Our old backs need a real mattress. So, we unfolded the couch, and no kidding, the sheets were dirty. So I called down to housekeeping at 10:30 pm and asked for clean sheets. I was so annoyed. It took them a half an hour to get to the room and they OOZED attitude.
Needless to say, we left Little America and went back to Hampton Inn which is smaller, but has TWO tvs, a much more modern feel, modern kitchenette, FRIENDLY staff, great free breakfast, indoor pool, clean carpeting, an elevator and just felt cleaner than Little America for HALF THE PRICE!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — ONE tv.
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid Little America until they update furniture, get more tvs, replace carpeting and redo kitchens
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jennhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

I'm not sure I can pinpoint what is missing at Little America in Flagstaff, but it felt like something was. The location was convenient close to the expressway, but my room was very quiet. The room was fine and clean. the staff was nice and helpful. The food ok. But it all just seemed a little out of time -- not down at the heels out of time but sort of old-fashioned. The room seemed like something from a different era...sort of quasi-French provincial where most of the hotels in the area seem to go for a Western theme -- not bad in itself, just odd. The restaurant was good, but a little pretentious -- lots of French on the menu. Again, ok, just strange there in the middle of Northern Arizona. I suppose it was a nice change from Southwest/TexMex fare, but it just seemed like a late-50's sort of motel elegance. In fact, while I was staying they were hosting a rally of Buick Riviera owners, so the parking lot was fittingly full of cars from the '60s and early '70s that seemed right at home.

Overall, the grounds were nice (though it was too dry with a threat of fire) to walk the trails. The gym is inadequate and small. The pool looked nice. Huge gift-shop selling everything "western" you could imagine. The breakfast was adequate. In the end, it was an interesting, old fashioned kind of place that you just don't see much of out on the road anymore. It also seemed expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

Little America is a good hotel for short stays. This complex is quite large, the rooms are very large by todays standards. The adjacent shop / cafeteria was appreciated and used.
The main negatives about this hotel would have to be the decor. The appearance of multiple expansions are obvious. Each set of buildings are connected to each other but change in style from one to next. The building is in need of updating. The furnishings are at least 30+ years old. While maintained, they are extremely dated. Almost retro unintentionally. I can recommend this property only for it's price. You won't be overwhelmed, merely satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirbytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

If you're a trucker then this is your paradise. Located just off the freeway the property is adjacent to a truck stop. Don't worry the 1970's feel is still there buried under years of smoke and dust. Viva Las Vegas from the 1950's the red carpet is unbelievable. The smell is beyond description. If you own a company, give your lowest producer a week at this gem!!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Billy2673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2006

Just returned from spending 2 nights at Little America and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms have been recently redone and were bright and comfortable. The price was great $134 for a King Suite with a couch 2 chairs, a glass table with 2 additional chairs, and a plasma TV. The bed was also very comfortable. The room I felt was better than the JW Marriott in Las Vegas. We stayed here as a drop off point from taking the Grand Canyon Railroad. It is about a 30 minute drive to Williams from Flagstaff. The gift shop is quite nice and the food in the coffee shop was fine. This hotel is also nestled in the trees which is nice and close to downtown and a variety of restaurants. I have stayed here at least 3 times over the years and will continue to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank ladybug5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
1.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Property: Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-6019
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing