We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, service lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We checked in at 4pm and were told that our ( pre-booked ) room would not be ready for another hour, but that we could spend that time in the bar! We were told, off the record, that they had laid off staff and were very stretched. After protesting, we were found a room, but noticed that rooms were still being cleaned after 5pm.
The room was very nice, a cut above the usual, clean,and well appointed.
Service at breakfast was abysmal, 40 minutes to get oatmeal.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,407)
There are newer reviews for Little America Hotel Flagstaff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,035 - 2,041 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of the tour --- We got King Pacific Suite Room which was good size and cozy but the downside was a bit dated please see photos attached. We had breakfast in the hotel which was only ok because they prepared full buffet breakfast for $ 11.95 +++ seem good price but it doesn't included any egg ie. fried egg, poached egg etc. which we were amazed --- as they called full buffet breakfast ---- but service was very good. We had one dinner ---- again not so good we ordered soup for our starters and then beef burgers for our main course --- we having our soup half way through they brought beef burgers to serve us and we said we still having our soup not ready for main course yet --- the waitress said don't worry I will put it on the hot plate to re-heat it --- by the time we ready for our burgers it was very very dry and tasteless as it has been cooked for long time --- we were very disappointed !! Tip: outside the hotel on the main road on the right hand side (walk about 10 minutes) you will see the restaurant call Black Bart which was very very good (waiters & waitresses are singing on stage then back to serve your food very entertaining)--- ask the front desk for direction if you can't find. Get back to the room it was clean and surprised us with a huge bathroom with corner bath and 2 big wash basins --- Good location if you are on the way to Grand Canyon --- convenience. Overall it was pleasant stay but a bit let down in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLUEWONDER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Flagstaff. This is a clean, comfortable and friendly hotel in an absolutely beautiful setting. The rooms are nice and comfortable (the beds are a little on the firm side), and the restaurant is beautiful and reasonably priced with good food. The wooded grounds complete with wildlife, give a feeling of being in nature.
One of our favorite things to do is to hike the 2 mile wooded hiking/running path behind the hotel. On our most recent hike, we were awed by the sight of a herd of elk crossing in front of us.
I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with Little America Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2BizzyTravlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

On our recent trip to Zion, Bryce, Grand Canyon and Monument Valley, we had a last minute plan to stop in Flagstaff and Sedona. I remembered reading about this hotel in Fodor's travel guide, so I gave them a call. Luckily, we were able to book a room for that night. It does have a slightly strange location right next to huge truck stop, but it also has the advantage of being right off the interstate and next to a forest preserve with walking trails. The lobby is enormous but welcoming, with leather couches and chairs, and a desk with free internet for guests. A very nice gift shop is directly off the lobby, as is a wide hall leading to the restaurant and the rooms. Everything about this place is big. Our room was nearly 500 square feet, so very spacious. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpellatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in a very spacious king room overlooking the forest, well worth the few extra dollars as the room was very quiet despite being close to I40. The room and indeed the whole hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly.
Thye hotel has a nice bar area with a good choice of bar food and the restaurant serves a very good breakfast.
We would definitely stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WizardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

When I lived in Flagstaff, word was that Little America was the place to stay when traveling. Not until I moved away did I find that advise to true. My recent visit to Flagstaff allowed me to stay 4 days at Little America, where I relaxed in absolute comfort amid the ponderosa pines that cover the mountain landscape in this Northern Arizona town. What I found absolutely incredible was the much-improved hiking trail that winds through the pines directly behind the hotel. The trail length has been extended, adding to what was already a very pleasant hike. Service and accommodations are top shelf, and I will accept no second tier exceptions when I travel across the country to enjoy a weekend of fun, relaxation and entertainment.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saipandiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We spent two nights at this hotel whilst visiting the Grand Canyon. Were not quite sure what to expect when we drove through the truck stop but were hugely surprised by this
lovely hotel. The staff were welcoming and helfpful. The room was huge, well furnished and clean. The style made a welcome change from the standard furnishings in many suite hotels across the USA. Had dinner in the restaurant - the food was tasty, good quality, nicely served and a reasonable deal. Enjoyed the well stocked gift shop and the the views from the rear of our hotel (had a front room overlooking car park but was fine). Didn't use pool, but looked welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonerLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
1.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,002 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-6019
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: $139 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing