We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

We were an extended family group of 5, visiting the Grand Canyon, etc., who enjoyed staying in Flagstaff at this Little America. It wasn't inexpensive to get a suite, but it was probably the same amount of money if we'd have gotten 3 rooms, ( for Husband & me, Grandpa, and 2 large teenage boys who can't possibly sleep in the same bed.)

It was really nice in the suite because we were "all together" but still had separate sleeping arrangements. The full kitchen & washer/dryer were my dream come true! I made breakfasts every morn., snacks & drinks every night, which saved lots of $$$. Some earlier posts on this hotel have decried the train noise. No one in our group had a problem with it. Grandpa loved it! I felt like the noise was frequent, but very far in the back ground, and it didn't keep me away or wake me up even with the window open.

Only drawbacks with this hotel were NO ELEVATORS, so be ready to carry all your heavy luggage upstairs! Also, I never book hotels which don't have free breakfasts, so I was under the impression that this one had such. What they do have is an expensive, fancy restaurant in the main building and a truck stop cafe in their gas station just steps away from their hotel. Luckily, I could cook breakfast in our suite, but if you didn't spring for a full kitchen suite, you'd be paying extra. I honestly would not have booked this hotel, had I known there were no free breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momziekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    759
    179
    44
    26
See reviews for
756
929
90
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

When we arrived, we were very impressed with the grounds, which are wooded and serene. However, there were several cracks in the facade, as we soon found out! For one, the a/c vents in some of the rooms were not opened after the winter season, so the air did not work for the first 24 hours day until maintenance came. Two, the pool was overrun with kids of all ages, as well as plenty of teenagers and young adults drinking up a storm. It was graduation weekend for N.A.U. so the place was filled to the brim with partiers. Before arrival, the front desk assured us that only parents would be staying on-site. Third, what others wrote about the showers is true. They run hot and cold and hot and cold, so one second you are freezing and the next your're burning! Maintenance blamed this on 68 year old nickel plated pipes that have never been updated to copper. No bottled water is left in the rooms for guests. There is no microwave. The patios do not open up and there is no room to sit on them and relax. Security was powerless to control all the party animals. The maids will knock on your door and call you in your room even if you have the Do Not Distrub sign on the door. Finally, trash from guest's room service meals was left in the hallways for over 24 hours and housekeeping did nothing to clean it up! Definitely not a classy place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kilarney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

My sister and I love Little America for its decor, cleanliness, convenient location and friendly staff. The hotel is located near a highway, making it easy to access when travelling around North Arizona (Grand Canyon, Wupatki etc.) All amenities including a great gift shop, restaurants, gas station and even walking paths are right on location. The decor is vintage but not dated, it's really designed rather than leftover from old times. The park surrounding the hotel adds charm as well, there are song birds, squirells, and wonderful nature right outside your window.

Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bzibzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

We've stayed at some fancy, expensive hotels in the past - but our family of 5 was extremely (and surprisingly) happy with this HUGE room with comfortable queen beds, a separate sitting area with pull out sofa, a separate table, large two sink bathroom, etc. For the price, it's hard to beat. We stayed the first night and last night of our trip around the Four Corners. The decor was lovely, and everything was very clean. The only thing that was 'average' was the breakfast buffet. Great gift shop, reasonable prices. Loved the wooded area behind the hotel. We had 4 inches of wet snow, and the kids went out and played before we left. We had absolutely no train noise - it's pretty far from any tracks.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfhemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

A great, individual hotel, definitely worth a visit if you are in the area and a nice change from the usual chains. We had a lovely room, large and luxurious, and there was a good atmosphere in the hotel, a blazing log fire, comfortable relaxing chairs and very helpful staff. There were no lifts and plenty of staircases.... don't go up the wrong one, check where your room is first! We had a meal in the hotel restaurant as we arrived quite late and this was average, but the service was slow. We made up for it the next morning with breakfast at Denny's, across the road.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

I booked this hotel based on the advice of tripadvisor review and it was worth it!!!! My boyfriend and I wanted to do several activities while in Northern Arizona: Barringer Meteor Crater, Petrified Forest, Grand Canyon, Lowell Observatory, Spa. We were on a budget and wanted a good central location but also a reasonable, comfortable hotel to come back to at the end of the day. Little America was perfect.

It is 1.5 hours from the Grand Canyon, 1 hour from the painted desert and the petrified forest (amazing), 30 minutes from meteor crater, and 5 minutes from Lowell observatory. It is 1 hour from Sedona and the land of spa and sun.

The rooms were AMAZING. HUGE. I booked at the last minute online and expected a rinky dink room. We had a queen bed, fridge, huge bathroom and guest room. Clean and comfortable. The staff were super friendly and the prices for food was surprisingly reasonable (we come from New York City so maybe we arent the best to judge).

The hotel has a great fitness center, pool, and a 2 mile nature walk that allows you to soak in some calm and peace.

We were exceedingly happy with our choice and thanks to tripadviosr reviews for this. Great if you have kids or large groups.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin6877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

This hotel absolutely exceeded our expectations in every way. My daughter and I only stayed one night on our way to Santa Fe. However, because of our experience , we plan to come back and make this hotel our destination. Our room was super large, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed the view of the trees and birds. During our stay, there was an unexpected snowfall which made everything even more beautiful. We walked in the snow along the trail behind the property. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and again, were pleasantly surprised. Our meal was not ordinary "hotel fare" but really tasty and beautifully presented. The hotel gift shop was yet another great find. The selection of items as well as the reasonable prices were amazing. All of the staff that we encountered from front desk, room service, wait staff, and gift shop personnel were friendly, courteous, and extremely customer-oriented. What a great find for us. And the price was extraordinary for the value we received. There were lots of families with teenagers and younger children as well as senior citizens and younger couples. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to be in this area. Super!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
1.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Property: Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-6019
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing