We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Little America Hotel one night on our way to the Grand Canyon. Check-in was quick and the staff friendly. The rooms were very large and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The entire hotel looks very old fashioned, which we found quite fun and cute. We had supper in the restaurant. The menu offers a large variety of food and the quality was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Switz_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Switz_traveler-

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Little America!

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    752
    177
    44
    26
See reviews for
748
914
89
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a great experience! We were so impressed with both the facilities and the staff. They were very helpful and polite. The food, particularly the bread pudding, was the best I've ever had! The proximity to the trees and hiking was what I loved the most. As an outdoor lover, my husband and me really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Lisa S-

Thank you for your review of The Little America Hotel in Flagstaff, we appreciate your feedback. It is nice to hear how much you enjoyed the hiking trail by the property. Again, thank you for such a nice review Lisa!

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Definitely worn out hotel; probably hasn't seen any renovations since the '70s (at least, it looks that way). The bed was incredibly comfortable and the pillows perfect. The TV had serious problems though; maintenance couldn't fix the audio issues.

We had dinner and cocktails as well as breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Frankly, the service is deplorable. The only decent service we experienced was while sitting at the bar for a light dinner. The other two experiences were sorely lacking. This F&B operation needs closer scrutiny by management, and the team deserves training in hospitality and service 101.

Oh, and a heads up to anyone who uses in room glassware and coffee mugs: Wash them before you use them. I witnessed housekeeping washing these items in the guest room sinks... Nasty opportunity for cross contamination! (Think about it... those hands that are washing you mugs are also cleaning the toilet!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

All the reviews are accurate. We stayed, unfortunately, for only one night at Little America. The room was spacious and although dated (style wise) everything was immaculate. Mattress superb--great night's sleep. Staff is extremely friendly and the hotel is incredibly quiet. They also have a lovely gift shop.

There is a truck stop across the property where we able to get coffee very early in the morn. In addition, breakfast buffet there was excellent.

We did not have time to use their hiking trails or the pool.

Highly recommend the hotel and would definitely return and stay longer.

Room Tip: This is a two floor hotel and they do not have an elevator. We requested a room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was huge! The rooms were split into different lodges and we were in lodge 3 as part of a Thomas Cook tour. When entering the room we thought wow at the size of it, it was like a suite. There was 2 queen size beds, a small dining area, seating area, large storage cupboards with a safe, a dressing table with mirror perfect place for doing hair and make up and a very large bathroom.
You could walk to the main area of the hotel without going outside but the corridors were never ending! The restaurant was really good and as there is not much around the hotel we had dinner here the 2 nights we stayed, great food and very large portions! The staff were very friendly, Nikki was a great waitress and made us feel very welcome. The bar area was lovely and a nice place to sit and have a few drinks and relax after a busy day. There was a nice gated pool area out the back but unfortunately we didnt get to use it.

There's not much around the hotel, just a few petrol stations but its a great hotel to stop off at on your travels especially if you are wanting to visit the Grand Canyon which took us about 1 hr 40 to drive there on the coach.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, was a nice touch getting a cookie coming off the coach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmac_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

It's a rare treat to experience once again what a quality hotel stay used to be in terms of comfort and cleanliness--which is why my partner and I appreciated staying at this property on our Arizona vacation this past week. This is not a glitzy hotel that attracts celebrities (or those who think they are) nor does it offer high-style urban décor or cutting-edge fragrance lines in the bath. Rather, this is a pleasantly surprising glimpse into what hotels ought to offer its guests--spacious, immaculately clean and comfortable accommodations in a quiet, dignified environment that facilitates rest and relaxation. The floor plan of this two-story hotel is divided among various wings (called lodges) connected by breezeways, and the room décor is 1970s chic complete with French provincial bedroom furniture, pastel-colored bathroom tile, and busily-patterned carpets. The bathrooms are huge, with tons of mirrored wall space and 10-foot long marble countertops--and it's been awhile since I've seen amenities such as a bottle opener or a trim-line wall phone in hotel bathrooms (neither of which we used) or the very nice touch of a marble vanity plus upholstered bench in the dressing area--all of which created an old-fashioned sense of attention to detail. I will admit that on our arrival, we were perplexed by the noisy activity of a girls' soccer team roaming the public areas as we were checking in--but the desk clerk assured us that our room would be in a lodge apart from them, and he was true to his word. Our sleep was uninterrupted and we often felt as though we were the only people on our floor, though that was far from the case. The ambience seems to appeal to an older clientele and we heard many different non-American accents among our fellow guests-- all of which contributed to a friendly, informal and international experience. Above all, we found the accommodations to be not only comfortable but cleaner than many high-end hotel chains we typically use. The convenient dining room (Western Gold restaurant) has a menu that emphasizes comfort food (roast turkey dinner, etc.) over gastronomic creativity--which suited our discriminating palettes without any problem, as our daily itinerary included several late-night suppers for which simplicity was the rule. The breakfast buffet is a winner and the reasonable prices can't be beat. We would recommend this hotel as a convenient and comfortable base for northern Arizona parks and attractions over any national chain and we will return when we travel to the Grand Canyon again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Pleasant hotel on amazing property with their own maintained hiking trails. Large clean room that needed refurbishing and some painting. Helpful front desk staff, large lobby. We did not use any other hotel services. Located minutes from main north south Arizona highway. Maybe a fifteen minute car ride into downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
2.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel Flagstaff

Property: Little America Hotel Flagstaff
Address: 2515 E. Butler Avenue, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-6019
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#10 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little America Hotel Flagstaff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Little America Hotel Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Little America Hotel
Little America Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing