We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating Staff and VERY Spacious Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cherokee Village, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Accomodating Staff and VERY Spacious Room”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were greeted kindly by the desk staff on our arrival following the Grand Canyon two day Mule Ride. One of the staff had done the ride and promptly showed us the hot tub and pool near the lobby as well as gave us some ice cold water. The rooms were well done with lots of storage space, a flat screen tv and a fairly large bathroom. Our room was very quiet. We opted not to pay for the breakfast but it looked good. Lots of folks were staying there on the way from a fancy car show so parking was limited. Had planned to stay two nights wish we could have.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aturnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonFlagstaffAZ, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Aturnee:

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your kind words and your business. Hopefully we'll see you next time your in Flagstaff.

Toby Gladden
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn-Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    385
    135
    31
    14
See reviews for
420
419
79
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The good:
The staff was very friendly. Brandy at the front desk was very cheerful and pleasant. So was the overnight guy at the front desk.
One staff member saw us coming from WAY across the parking lot and waited for us to arrive so he could hold the side door open for us. I didn't catch his name but I think it might have been in maintenance. Every staff member we crossed paths with smiled at us and greeted us warmly. It was very nice.

The room was very nice and clean. It even had a refrigerator and microwave! Free wi-fi!! However....

The bad:
We asked for a non-smoking room, and got one. But apparently on the first floor all the non-smoking rooms are on one side of the hall, and the smoking rooms are on the other side of the hall. Which was very unpleasant for me. The hallway was thick with the stench of stale cigarette smoke. So much so that any time I was in the hallway I had to cover my face with my sweatshirt, or try to hold my breath until I got outside.
Worse still, every time someone across the hall opened their door, a cloud of smoke would escape and seep through the large gap under my door. I had to stuff a wet towel in the gap under the door and leave the window open all night for it to be bearable. Nevertheless, we still got some smoke a several times a night.

Unfortunately our room was located very close to the end of the wing where the room attendant's offices and laundry for the hotel was located. This translates into a lot of noise for several hours early in the morning. In my half asleep state, it sounded like bowling balls were being thrown at the walls around me. In addition to loud conversations outside my door. Good thing there were extra pillows on the bed so I could try to block out the noise.

Another thing that I cant stand when staying at a hotel, and for whatever reason hotel management has not yet caught on to, is the alarm clock. Why is it that every time I am at a hotel, the alarm clock goes off at the worst possible time, obviously set by the previous tenant? This time the alarm went off at 2am, 120db of static that would wake up the dead. Maybe the previous tenant was hard of hearing?
Anyways, I don't understand why the cleaning crew who prepares the room for the next people cant check the alarm clock as part of their duties so this doesn't happen?! It seems so simple to me.

Room Tip: Smokers and early risers, have no fear! You'll be at home here. Every one else, either ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildweaself4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonFlagstaffAZ, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us in Flagstaff. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including items of opportunity. I am so sorry to hear that smoke was an issue during your stay. We know how unpleasant the smell can be for some guests and do our best to prevent the transference from smoking to non-smoking rooms. I also understand that noise was an issue in your room; I know how important a good night’s rest is while traveling and regret we were unable to provide this. I apologize that you're comfort was interrupted by staff and an unplanned alarm and I have shared your review with our team to work towards preventing this issue in the future. Moving forward, disarming the alarm clock will be an item on our housekeeping checklist. I do hope the next time you return to the area you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel was typical Garden Inn variety except for one thing. The Great Grill breakfast was like none other at a Garden Inn. There was no grill for cook to order omlets. The whole breakfast was just a notch above Hampton Inn. But wait...they still wanted the normal charge for a Great Grill breakfast of $9.95. There is a Cocos resturant next door and I saw an employee bringing hot containers of food to the hotel so I assume they use Cocos as there chef.

Room Tip: Hotel sits on a hill so make sure you use the parking brake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zman0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonFlagstaffAZ, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Zman0131:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We apprecaite your kind words about the hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our breakfast buffet. Yes, our breakfast is a bit different than most Garden Inn's and we charge for it, but it’s a full, breakfast buffet with everything you need to start your day off right. It’s not just cereal and a few pastries—it’s prepared daily with fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, french toast, potatoes, bisquits and gravey, waffles, fresh fruits and much more, and its all you can eat.

Please consider giving us another chance the next time you are in Flagstaff. We are eager to show you an exceptional breakfast experience.

Toby Gladden
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn-Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here as a group of 5 adults travelling on a fly drive on the West Coast on 23rd September 2012. Travelled through Flagstaff as a stop over between Grand Canyon and Phoenix. This hotel was great - no problems at all and could of stayed for longer than 1 night. We had two rooms (booked through Expedia) one with a double queen and a king size room with connecting door. Rooms were clean and came with an assortment of soaps, creams and shampoos etc (I have been advised it was a good selection by the females in the group). There is an in door swimming pool and hot tub as well as a gym (no outdoor pool). The hotel is situated off route 66 and is close to various restaurants and large stores. (it is located out of the town/city centre from what I saw as we were only there for 1 night but there are various restaurants around - we ate in the olive garden and it was excellent 5min walk away). The staff at this hotel were also very helpful and pleasant. Complimentary tea and coffee available in the lobby which was handy for late and early arrival/departures.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank francey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonFlagstaffAZ, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Francey75:

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We truly appreciate your kind words and your business. Hopefully we'll see you next time your in Flagstaff.

Toby Gladden
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn-Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Picking out a hotel when you don't know the area at all is difficult. I had read all the reviews and chose the Hilton, which was a good choice. They have a shuttle from the airport which is convenient. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. I only spent one night but this was the quietest hotel I have ever been in. The room was clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay there when I return to hike the Canyon again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonFlagstaffAZ, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your business and your really high praise! Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Toby Gladden
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn-Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel; nothing big. The staff are so friendly (all the people in Flagstaff are friendly for that matter) and helpful. There is a microwave and fridge in the room. Nice part about it they have buffet breakfast for $9 bucks and some change. There is also a washer and dryer on the property $1.00 each to use. Plenty of restaurants near by (Coco's next door - super place to eat and lovely looking desserts) and about a 1/2 hour walk to the city of Flagstaff where they have some nice shops. Interesting little town; would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonFlagstaffAZ, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Catherine987:

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your kind words and your business and hope to see you again soon.

Toby Gladden
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn-Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are very glad we booked this hotel in Flagstaff - which was quite a last-minute decision. Although the hotel is a Hilton Garden, it feels like an owner-run hotel - you are made to feel like a welcome guest rather than a paying customer. We were greeted at the front desk with complimentary bottles of water after our drive (a nice touch as we were both quite thirsty), and the manager gave us a map of the town, and made some suggestions for dining, as well as the best routes to take.

Our room was comfortable and clean. The pool and hot tub were pleasant - although it was very pleasant weather when we were there, I can imagine it would be great to sit in the hot tub in winter and be able to look out of the window at the winter scene outside!

The breakfast buffet was fresh and plentiful and good value at $10.

Overall - a highly recommended hotel - a hotel that is made by its friendly, professional staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltaseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonFlagstaffAZ, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear DeltaSeven:

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We truly apreciate your kind words and your business and hope to see you again soon.

Toby Gladden
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn-Flagstaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.4 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
5.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Address: 350 W Forest Meadows St, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-2918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#1 Green Hotel in Flagstaff
#4 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff leisure travelers as well as the busy executives will be pleased to find everything necessary to make your trip to Northern Arizona relaxing and enjoyable. Our hotel is in the ideal location for exploring all the wonders of Northern Arizona including Historic Downtown Flagstaff,Route 66,the Grand Canyon National Park, Scenic Sedona, Oak Creek Canyon, The Painted Desert National Park, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn - Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing