We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent Value!
From the outside, the hotel layout is very similar to an apartment complex and our room was equivalent to an efficiency.
Great Points –
Fast free internet, complimentary breakfast with wide assortment of choices, (i.e. toasted almonds and granola available for oatmeal,) comfy bed, convenient parking, friendly check-in, complimentary washer and dryer (laundry soap provided), clean carpet, clean kitchen, clean refrigerator and microwave, clean/new looking utensils and plates (I wasn't afraid to use them!) Non-scary location. (Across fancy golf course/country club)
TV was old-timey but I didn't mind considering the awesomeness of the room!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LubbockC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel. Here at the Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, our staff is dedicated to providing you with that very experience you described. I've shared the comments you and our other guests have posted with our staff and they find a great deal of pride and pleasure in being able to provide you with a good quality stay.

Your descriptions of our rooms as being very similar to an apartment are very apt. Our rooms are designed to give our guests a home-away-from-home experience. To that end we try very hard to provide for our guests the amenities they would enjoy at home. We especially enjoyed your comments about not being afraid to use the utensils. Our housekeepers were thrilled to hear that you appreciated the care and attention which goes into ensuring everything is inviting and helpful for you.

We hope you will enjoy your future stays with us as much as you did this last one and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    250
    81
    32
    13
See reviews for
427
311
30
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed here twice with my husband and friends when visiting the Grand Canyon. It is an ideal place to stay which is good value and not too far from the Canyon yet not in central Flagstaff. Both time we have stayed in a suite with two bedrooms and a kitchen/lounge area. The price has been reasonable. The rooms are always clean. I do find the beds too soft, but that is personal preference.
Breakfast is included and there is a good selection of food, better than at other hotels I have stayed at. It isn't top quality but it is nice enough. The one thing I dislike is that it is served on paper/plastic plates and cups with plastic flatware. I do not like this as I just hate thinking about all that plastic going into landfill, and it feels kinda weird eating breakfast off a paper plate with a plastic knife and fork in a hotel. The price and location make this hotel worth a stay though.

Room Tip: If you are going with friends or family, the suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jactoff63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We were so happy to host you during your stays here in Flagstaff. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location was convenient for you to make your trip to the Grand Canyon.

While we appreciate your gracious understanding of bed preference, your comfort comes first here at the Sonesta ES Suites. Because we understand that every guest has different tastes in beds, we have tools available on property to provide additional support for those who prefer a firmer mattress to sleep on. For your next stay, please call ahead and inform us of your request to provide extra support for your mattress and we will do all we can to give you the best possible night's rest.

You will also be pleased to hear that we are currently expanding our recycling program here at the hotel. Like you, we are very conscious of the need to play an active role in caring for our environment. Our renovation will introduce newer, more energy efficient appliances, but not content to wait until then, we have already begun changing to more energy efficient lights and as always we have promoted water saving efforts here in the arid southwest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

For our final night in Flagstaff, we stayed at the Sonesta ES Suites, and enjoyed the very pleasant home-away-from-home experience. The lobby was extremely impressive and offered everything from complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, iced tea, and cucumber water upon check-in. I noticed a sundry store, as well as computer access, and complimentary newspapers. Very helpful staff pointed out the fitness area, and the location of our room. The facility resembled an apartment building as there were several units that were accessed by going to the corresponding building number. I noticed a pool area that had been covered over for the winter, as well is a very nice picnic area that featured a couple of grills and plenty of seating.


We were grateful to see sidewalks and stairs clear of ice and snow as our suite was on the second floor. Upon entering our suite, we were greeted by a warm and inviting room that resembled a studio apartment. There was a fully stocked kitchen and a living room area complete with spacious couch, chairs, table, desk, and complimentary Internet access.

The rest of the room was comprised of a queen bed, tables, drawers, and a spacious bathroom, which had the sink and counter areas separate from the toilet and shower.


The flat screen TV was on a swivel, allowed viewing access throughout the room regardless of where you were seated. HBO was included in the options and pay-per-view programming was available as well. Some channels came through very clearly while others did not. Thankfully TV was not on the agenda during our trip, as coming from an afternoon of skiing, it was nice to change and relax before heading out to visit the Lowell Observatory.


We decide to stop by a grocery store on the way back to the room to take advantage of the suite’s kitchen. We could see we how an extended stay at Sonesta would be a very economical choice as we were able to prepare dinner and pick up snacks for $10.00 which was a considerable savings over dining out. Being able to relax and eat at our leisure made dinner a more enjoyable event considering how tired we were from a very busy day.


The bed was extremely comfortable, and we enjoyed the ample hot water and water pressure that the shower provided. We made our way down to the breakfast area in the lobby, and were very happy to see the numerous dining options that were available to us. There were homemade waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage patties and biscuit and gravy. We also enjoyed the beverage options of milk, coffee, tea and juices. Lighter, healthier fare included cereals, fresh-baked muffins, fruit and oatmeal. I enjoyed the fact that I had the option to put sour cream, salsa, cheese, and onions with my eggs, and that there were sugar-free options available for the waffle syrup as well.


The breakfast was included with the room and although the dining area was busy, we enjoyed an unhurried meal. Some guests opted to enjoy their coffee and complimentary paper next to the warm and comforting fireplace in the lobby. We learned that some of the 102 suites offer a

fireplace and I hope that we can experience a suite with one on another stay. Following breakfast it was time for us to head back home. The hotel staff made the expedited check out easy and pleasant, which completed our stay with top marks. Sonesta ES is conveniently located off I-40 with easy drives to Flagstaff’s some of the city’s tourist attractions like the historic downtown, Arizona Snowbowl and Lowell Observatory.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garethmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are so glad that your stay here with us at the Sonesta ES Suites in Flagstaff was a pleasant one. Your thorough and helpful review of the hotel will surely be of assistance to fellow travelers who are looking to make the most of their stay in Flagstaff.

We hope to see you again the next time you come up to the cool country to explore all the amazing locations here in Northern Arizona. We look forward to providing you with a nice home-away-from-home during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I used to stay here when it was a Residence Inn, and was very happy. It was clean, safe, close to the interstate but far enough away to not have traffic issues, and quiet, without blaring horns from the trains (train horns are no longer such a big problem in Flagstaff). You need a car to get around in Flagstaff, so the fact that it isn't "near the action" isn't a problem for me. For my last trip I was surprised to find that it was now a Sonesta, which I had never heard of. Still, how much could it have changed? I found the same positives as always, though I agree with other reviewers that the rooms need updating. The staff were very friendly and responsive. However, everything was scented and perfumed, including the guest room. I asked to be moved to a scent-free room and was told that there were none. It is chain policy to use perfume in all rooms and common areas. When I told them that I (and many other people) have serious medical issues with perfumes, specifically that perfumes trigger headaches and migraines, the staff could only reiterate that all of their rooms in all of their hotels are scented. I will never stay at any Sonesta again. My other problem was that the TV was old and clunky with poor reception. I cannot imagine doing an extended stay with such a crappy TV.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with scents and perfumes, stay away from here. If staying very long, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyFromTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay with us here at the Sonesta ES Suites.

We were happy to hear that you were pleased with the hotel for the most part, but were concerned you had difficulties with the deodorizer that was used in the rooms. Being an experienced traveler as you are I am certain you are aware it is standard practice for most hotels to use a deodorizing spray in their room to provide guests with a fresh room. Most hotels are also able to accommodate special requests for guests such as yourself who require a scent free room. We here at the Sonesta are quite happy to make arrangements for guests who request scent free rooms given the time necessary to prepare. Provided we have the requests prior to the day of arrival we are able to take the steps necessary to arrange for many special requests for guests with particular needs to provide them with a great stay.

You also brought up the need for our rooms to be updated (especially the TVs) and we agree. It is due to feedback of guests such as yourself and our own desire to provide the best possible stay for our guests that we are planning a complete renovation of our property (including the TVs, rooms, appliances, and much much more). This renovation is being planned so as to inconveninece our guests as little as possible and take their needs into consideration. As you stated, our move from the Residence Inn to Sonesta ES Suites was a recent one and we are looking forward to making the changes needed to improve the quality of stay here in Flagstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

hotel associates were very friendly and helpful.
the room and property were very clean.
bed extremely comfortable.
fireplace and kitchenette were very handy.
plan on staying here the next time we are in flagstaff.
very nice hot breakfast daily.
close to attractions and highway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your stay here at the Sonesta ES Suites in Flagstaff. We hope you'll come up to join us again as the weather heats up in the valley and enjoy the cool clean mountain air in Flagstaff. Spring and summer are wonderful times of the year to enjoy our BBQ pits and relax poolside.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen and living room with fireplace....we were very pleased with the space, cleanliness and helpful staff. The kids loved the full breakfast and 3 tv's in our suite. The location was great...right off the highway, about 90 mins to grand canyon, maybe 30 mins to Sedona . I would definitely recommend this property. Also helps I got a great deal on groupons :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kicker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We were so glad you and your family could spend your vacation here with us in Flagstaff. Here at the Sonesta ES Suites in Flagstaff, we know there are lots of exciting things to see and do in Northern Arizona and our helpful staff is here to make sure every trip you have to our area is a great one.

For your next trip to our area, your kids might enjoy some of the additional amenities we provide to help families keep their trip a happy one. We offer board games and cards that can be checked out from our Front Desk as well as some sports equipment for our ball court and the small park which adjoins our property. Don’t forget the entire family is invited to join us for our Social Hour in our Lobby where games, light snacks, soft drinks, beer, and wine are all provided free of charge every Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel is set up like an apartment complex. Rooms have exterior entrance doors, not ideal in this colder weather. Laundry facility is in a separate building. Lobby, workout room, and breakfast room are in still another building. Pool and hot tub are outside. Pool was covered so apparently closed during winter months. Hot tub was open and working but very difficult to use considering the temperature outside and the distance from the rooms to the hot tub. You could possibly use it if you had a bathrobe to wear when you travel between them.The laundry room had 4 washers and 4 dryers that had coin slots but were actually free. Free detergent was also provided. The exercise room was very small. It had 2 treadmills, 1 elliptical, 1 bicycle, and free-weight dumbbells with bench. It also had a TV and water dispenser but no fan for cooling off.The room is spacious and is set up like an efficiency apartment. Kitchen had a dishwasher, coffee maker, stove, toaster, full-size refrigerator, and a microwave. Also, glasses, dishes, silverware, and pot and pans. Bathroom had a hairdryer, large mirror & vanity, and a ceiling heater. Water pressure and temperature were very good. Room was clean and well-maintained. Continental breakfast was good except for the eggs being a little cold.Room had wired internet and a sleeper sofa which were not used.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenbouck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collin A, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of our facilities! Your observations of our property are sure to be helpful to guests who are looking at staying at the Sonesta ES Suites here in Flagstaff. Your comments were also helpful to us here at the hotel by identifying areas where we can improve our guests’ experiences.

Other amenities that you may find useful during your next stay include complimentary wi-fi and guest use computer in addition to the wired internet connections you mentioned. We also have a friendly staff well trained to help guests such as yourself who are seeking Outdoor Adventures, Museums, Great Food, and places where you can blend in with the locals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
4.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 64 in Flagstaff
971 reviews
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Address: 1400 N Country Club Dr, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#4 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Flagstaff, AZ hotel offering studio suites and two bedroom suites featuring a kitchen, living room and free WiFi. Guests can enjoy an outdoor heated pool, fitness center, business center and daily breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing