We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were in Flagstaff for NAU graduation. This was a great place to stay. Had the comforts of home and the staff was exceptional in their service. It snowed the day of graduation. The staff kept the sidewalks cleared off and had the parking lot cleared too. Breakfast was very good. Even though there was a large crowd the staff kept every thing well stocked.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
There are newer reviews for Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

I recently visited Flagstaff on business and was placed at the Sonesta ES Suites. I had never heard of this particular hotel, but it turned out to be someplace I was already familiar with, and one of the best parts of my trip.

As previous posters have mentioned, Sonesta ES (which stands for “Extended Stay”) Suites was formerly the Marriott Residence Inn across from the golf course. Their takeover of the property was quite recent (August), but they’ve already made their mark on the place. Upon check-in, after a long day of travel, front desk agent Lucas was friendly and welcoming. He even upgraded me to a fireplace suite; a definite treat, and one of the benefits of traveling in the off-season.

At the Sonesta ES Suites, for about the price of a traditional room at most mid- to higher-end chain hotels, you get something more along the lines of an apartment: all units have a kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker and even a dishwasher. Their cabinets are fully stocked with dining utensils and cookware – and I’m talking the nice, brand new stuff, not something someone picked up at a garage sale (I’ve stayed at places that had stuff like that in their so-called kitchens). My room was clean and inviting. The bed was super comfortable with a fluffy white duvet and 3 big firm pillows to snuggle up in. The bathroom was stocked with plenty of nice thick towels and a line of toiletries I actually liked using; most hotel soaps, etc. are a little too harsh for me, but the brand Sonesta uses is pleasant smelling and fairly mild.

Complimentary breakfast is included in your room rate at Sonesta, and here’s where I am always a bit dubious: most of the time, when hotels say “complimentary breakfast,” they mean “sugar-and-carb-fest,” but to my pleasant surprise, Sonesta’s breakfast included scrambled eggs, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, and sure, the usual items like cereal and bagels. They also had a make-your-own waffle station, which you’d think would get messy, but Marisol and the other ladies that oversaw the breakfast room kept everything spotlessly clean and well-stocked. They also varied their egg offerings up every day, one day featuring breakfast burrito fixins, the next day eggs Florentine and mini potato pancakes. They take a lot of pride in this and it shows.

Oh, and what a great idea this is: next to the front desk, Sonesta has what they call a “pantry store” or “E-shoppe.” If you’re wanting some munchies (potato chips, candy bars, etc.) or a soda late at night, or need an aspirin, Alka-Seltzer, something like that, you can come down to the lobby, grab what you want off the shelf and pay the front desk. It’s available 24/7, and of course, you’d pay more for that 3 Musketeers bar or pack of 2 aspirins than you would at the Circle K, but worth it at 2 AM when you don’t want to (or shouldn’t) drive to the Circle K.

I was in Flagstaff for a total of 4 days/3 nights, and coming back to the Sonesta to relax and unwind was something I came to look forward to after every busy day of meetings, training, etc. It was almost like hanging out at home. But as they say “nobody’s perfect,” and there were a few inconveniences, albeit minor ones. Permanent signage has yet to be installed, so if you’re not familiar with the hotel’s location, you might miss it. The biggest “con,” which has been mentioned by previous posters, is the TV’s. They’re old and ready to be put out to pasture. Sometimes my remote worked, and sometimes it didn’t. When mentioning this to the management, they stated that the property is slated for an extensive renovation next year, and replacing the TV’s with contemporary flat screen interactive models is tops on the to-do list. The shower was somewhat disappointing as it took a long time for the hot water to heat up and the water pressure was a bit weak.

Some find the hotel’s location to be a drawback. It is situated a few miles away from the Historic Downtown area, which is considered to be “where the action is” in Flagstaff. I found that to be a positive aspect – no train noise (but in all fairness the city of Flagstaff has made major improvements on that front), and the golf course makes for a nice morning walk. For those who want to get into the Historic Downtown area, which is very cool and worth a visit, fair warning: driving there is a nightmare! Lots of narrow one-way streets, parking spots virtually nil, strictly enforced tow-away zones, etc. – you’ll tear your hair out, trust me. But there’s a local tour company called the Grand Canyon Store has a free on-call shuttle that will pick you up, bring you Downtown, give you a walking map (and a pack of coupons for different stores) and let you explore at your leisure. When you’re done, you simply go back to the Grand Canyon Store, and they’ll take you back to your hotel. They offer this to all local hotels for free, too, how cool is that? But I think it’s only seasonal (spring/summer/fall), so you may have to use Mountain Line (bus) or local taxi if you’re traveling in winter. Don’t quote me on that though, check with the desk if you visit between now and the end February.

If given the opportunity, I would stay at Sonesta again in a heartbeat. They already have a lot on the ball, and it sounds like things will only get better. If you’re looking for a nice laid back place to hang out for a few days, Sonesta is perfect for that. Again, great place to “come home” to after a day of sightseeing (Grand Canyon, Lake Powell, Sedona, Petrified Forest can all be done as day trips from here) or what have you. If the prospect of eating out night after night doesn’t appeal to you, this place is great because you can do your own cooking. But then again many local restaurants deliver here too (they give you a list of them when you check in), so if pizza for breakfast is your thing, go for it!

Sonesta ES Suites is an international chain with properties near everything from Disneyworld to Machu Picchu to the Great Pyramids.

Room Tip: Rooms that face Country Club drive have pretty view of Golf course across the street
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K-Bot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A little hard to find as the GPS gremlin leads the traveler astray, but well worth the search. On the east end of town in a park-like location. Rooms are terrific with full kitchens: range with oven, microwave, full refrigerator, dishes,glasses, etc. The tv, sofa and easy chair are given a large space. Although not a separate bedroom, there is a king-size bed with end tables and lamps and quite nice bathroom. Breakfast is far beyond the typical motel fare and offers a wide selection. Evening wine-service also includes large snacks such as sandwiches. Staff is truly disposed to service and was very helpful.

Room Tip: In season you might want a room away from the tennis court and swimming pool.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gladtobethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Good Things:
Not in the middle of town, so it was nice and quiet. Friendly Staff. Clean Room Pool and Jacuzzi.

The Less that good: A little more expensive that our usual favorites. A little to far out of town in that there was not much in walking distance, like restaurants, etc.. Bed was not very comfortable. Seems the pillows were on the Hard side. TV's were ancient and we had problems with the Cable Service turning off and switching to different channels. We reported this, but the staff was unable to resolve the issue for us. Reporting the issue again at check out, we were told they would look into the problem, but they didn't sound too concerned.

We probably won't chose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excellent value, service, and surroundings. The grounds are well kept, pool & jacuzzi maintained, pet area is exceptional. Breakfast service is very good. Evening social is hosted Tuesday-Thursday. We really like the tables & grills located throughout the property. Rooms are very large, clean, beddings fresh, towels fluffy, and we appreciate the smoking area being set far from room entries. An added bonus is the laundry is free. We have nothing bad to say, and will be loyal Sonesta patrons.

Room Tip: Request rooms at the back of the property for quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HulaSueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently stayed four nights as we visited the Grand Canyon and the surrounding area. All the staff are extremely courteous and the rooms are very clean. More unexpected extras provided for a really great value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiverTom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were in Flagstaff for a couple weekend getaway and stayed at Sonesta. It is located just out of the hussel and bussel of Flagstaff. It was very quiet and relaxing. The rooms are a very comfortable size and have a kitchen. It was clean and there were many ammenities such as pool, jaccuzzi, tennis court and workout room. We took advantage of the free breakfast which was very well stocked compaired to others I have been at. My only issue was there were so many people there was not enough tables. But I would highly recommend this hotel and would return if I'm ever in Flagstaff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.8 mi away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
4.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,002 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff

Address: 1400 N Country Club Dr, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
#4 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: $123 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Flagstaff, AZ hotel offering studio suites and two bedroom suites featuring a kitchen, living room and free WiFi. Guests can enjoy an outdoor heated pool, fitness center, business center and daily breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Flagstaff Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing