We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Lancaster, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have stayed at many hotels over the years and this was the worst experience ever. It was cheap but not even close to being worth it. First of all the rooms are very small and bathroom in tiny. The hotel looked very run down but we figured we would try and tough it out since we made reservations for 2 days. When we got to the room, we discovered we had absolutely no ac outlets with the exception of 2 in the bathroom.... no way to plug in a laptop, tablet, cell phone, etc. If it wasn't late and we hadn't made reservation we would have looked for another room, but figured we would give it a shot. I did go to the front desk and complain about the outlets and the clerk looked surprised... but I think she knew. The maint man come to the room and ran an extension cord from the multiple outlet... not ideal but figured it may get us by. After checking the room out further, we found mold under the bathroom sink, a filthy and very small shower, cobwebs in the corners or room, the bedspread was dirty (we removed this from the bed). The more we looked the more we realized just how disgusting this place was. We did bring disinfectant which we sprayed everywhere including the entire bed, and used our own pillows.

The room had a small table with one chair. I guess we had to take turns using it.

When the guy came to hook up the extension cord, I showed him a print out of the hotel and picture of the room. I asked him what room that was. He actually told me it was a Photoshopped picture... unbelievable.

Even though we reserved 2 nights, we decided we would spend one night there and leave in the morning. Before checking out, I turned the shower on and the water barely dripped out... unbelievable.

When I checked out I was told that I had to give a 24 hour notice. After explaining why we would not be staying another night, they told me I would need to take it up with upper management and they could not refund the 2nd night. After explaining how ridiculous that was especially when it specifically stats on the Wyndham website that we could cancel before 6 pm and not be charged he asked me for a printout... told him several times it was ON THE WEBSITE.

After arguing and explaining how disgusting the hotel was they finally gave me a refund for the second night. No refund for the first night but I didn't care.... I just wanted to get out of there.

I have now learned my lesson and will never reserve rooms in advance. I will now ask to look at a room first...

I would rather sleep in my car before staying at this place.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff2014, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello D C,

I am sincerely regretful that we failed to provide you accommodation sufficing your preference. I assure you that I will accelerate your concerns so that this will be further evaluated and addressed properly. Trust that our management will look into your concerns and will implement necessary corrective measure/s to avoid further inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us. I hope to see you again and allow us to offer you improved services in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    100
    67
    82
See reviews for
137
96
38
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Nice Clean Good for a night or two
Promo Prices were very attrctive as we were just traveling thru Az

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LeeMNovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff2014, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hello LeeMNovak,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff as your primary choice of hotel during your travels. I hope you and your family had a comfortable time staying at our hotel. The next time you travel through Arizona I hope that you would continue to choose Howard Johnson for your accommodation needs! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Room is really great. Includes a microwave and a refrigerator. Bed is comfy, too. The location is good -- close to historic area of Flagstaff. Room was clean and staff helpful. Note that I was quoted a price at the desk that was $10 higher than I'd seen online at tripadvisor.com As soon as I mentioned that, she matched that price.
To our amazement, the front desk phoned us within a half hour of our arrival to ask if everything was okay. What a nice touch!

Room Tip: You can request either first or second floor. We found the first floor quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFlagstaff2014, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hello M J B,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful time staying at our hotel. It is so nice to hear that our dedication for customer satisfaction has certainly paid off. Thank you again for choosing Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff. We look forward to having another opportunity to provide all your accommodation needs in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 64 in Flagstaff
419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
0.3 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#16 of 64 in Flagstaff
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Address: 801 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6262 (Formerly Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Flagstaff
Travel Motel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing