We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Flagstaff
1 review
“Worst experience ever”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have never been to a hotel where I actually have not felt safe before it was horrible. The staff were eating so they were to busy to help. The room was confirmed on my reservation for 2 queens but they only had a king available. I actually refused to stay and currently working on getting a refund.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    64
    103
    70
    85
See reviews for
144
99
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This motel is well positioned centrally in Flagstaff and has affordable budget tariffs. It is no more than just Ok, with reasonable rooms for the price. Outside of building is not very impressive and showing much neglect, but for convenience quite a good option. Cleanliness both inside and out was only just average. Across the other side of motel car park is the Route 66 Galaxy Diner, which is a real marvel of a place. This is your must for dinner, where meals are plentiful, well prepared and good value. Of my 3 nights at this Howard Johnson, I had dinner in this diner on all of them. Very popular though with locals and so can get easily full despite being of fair size.
The breakfast area at this Howard Johnson is quite small and the food choice is limited, but I ate sufficiently to start my days off well. Service was a bit "hit and miss", nothing to really complain of, but staff were well relaxed in attitude. Usually the Howard Johnson's have a courtesy internet terminal, but this motel didn't. So in summary what do I think. Well there was a full car park each morning, and I guess many of the guests were staying for a single night with breakfast just being an add on if time. Personally, I would seek a better hotel if staying in Flagstaff again and would not recommend, but on price will probably not do better if wishing to be so central.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was the worst motel/hotel that I have ever stayed in. I don't travel a lot. Build is old but that is not an excuse. Showers are so small you could not take a shower, had no wash cloths and they didn't have any to offer. Left a camera in the room when we left and called back two hours later and this is the answer we got "We didn't find it". Very poor excuse for a Howard Johnson Motel. They should be ashamed to call it one of theirs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Iris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Mesa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was obious that they knew this weekend was going to be busy. The rates did not match the accommodations. The quality of the facilities were unfortunate. From my HOT and COLD shower to the heat smelling like burning tires for over an hour to the hair in our beds. I can take bad but this was make an X on this listing bad. As I do not like to say such unpleasant things I would like to say that the location was convenient. There is the lining to the black cloud.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#25 of 65 in Flagstaff
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
0.3 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 65 in Flagstaff
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Address: 801 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6262 (Formerly Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Flagstaff
Travel Motel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing