We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This motel is well positioned centrally in Flagstaff and has affordable budget tariffs. It is no more than just Ok, with reasonable rooms for the price. Outside of building is not very impressive and showing much neglect, but for convenience quite a good option. Cleanliness both inside and out was only just average. Across the other side of motel car park is the Route 66 Galaxy Diner, which is a real marvel of a place. This is your must for dinner, where meals are plentiful, well prepared and good value. Of my 3 nights at this Howard Johnson, I had dinner in this diner on all of them. Very popular though with locals and so can get easily full despite being of fair size.
The breakfast area at this Howard Johnson is quite small and the food choice is limited, but I ate sufficiently to start my days off well. Service was a bit "hit and miss", nothing to really complain of, but staff were well relaxed in attitude. Usually the Howard Johnson's have a courtesy internet terminal, but this motel didn't. So in summary what do I think. Well there was a full car park each morning, and I guess many of the guests were staying for a single night with breakfast just being an add on if time. Personally, I would seek a better hotel if staying in Flagstaff again and would not recommend, but on price will probably not do better if wishing to be so central.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 375 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank bigdinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was the worst motel/hotel that I have ever stayed in. I don't travel a lot. Build is old but that is not an excuse. Showers are so small you could not take a shower, had no wash cloths and they didn't have any to offer. Left a camera in the room when we left and called back two hours later and this is the answer we got "We didn't find it". Very poor excuse for a Howard Johnson Motel. They should be ashamed to call it one of theirs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Iris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was obious that they knew this weekend was going to be busy. The rates did not match the accommodations. The quality of the facilities were unfortunate. From my HOT and COLD shower to the heat smelling like burning tires for over an hour to the hair in our beds. I can take bad but this was make an X on this listing bad. As I do not like to say such unpleasant things I would like to say that the location was convenient. There is the lining to the black cloud.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bobby A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#26 of 65 in Flagstaff
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#20 of 65 in Flagstaff
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Address: 801 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6262 (Formerly Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $61 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Flagstaff
Travel Motel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing