We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed June 23, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 371 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We reserved a Queen room. The "Queen" bed was less that a full size. The air conditioner tried to work but not very well. We were on the second floor the drapes gaped in the middle so people could see in. The bed matrass had burn marks in it so who knows how old it was since the rooms are non smoking. There was concrete missing out of the stairs. It was just bad. I will NEVER stay there again nor recommend it!! I should have walked out when I was checking in and people were coming in complaining they had no electric, no air and several other things and the guy at the desk was not happy about trying to fix their problems, kept telling me people are crazy, The only crazy was actually spending the night there.

Room Tip: Best tip I can give is stay some place else!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Room was musty smelling, air conditioner did not work well and was noisy. Free breakfast was not very good, lacked quantities of items to supply all of the guests. This was a bad choice, I should have spent a few more bucks for a nicer place.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jeff1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are staying in a different place each night for a 2 week road trip. I saw that none of the places got rave reviews so I went with average and not expensive.
We're in 227. Nice, clean pillow topped mattress. Tv is old but works fine. A/C us on and works well. Room darkening drapes.
The far end stares walking up seem a little shaky and in need of repair which would mean a whole redo. Some of the concrete is broken off.
Not sure if we need their free breakfast. Only until 9am. There are only a few chains that have a good and free breakfast.
The wifi works.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grinnellma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#25 of 65 in Flagstaff
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
0.3 mi away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#17 of 65 in Flagstaff
525 reviews
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Address: 801 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6262 (Formerly Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $71 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Flagstaff
Travel Motel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing