We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    102
    69
    84
See reviews for
142
97
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Maybe I am luckier or easier to please than other travelers but I really cannot share the negative reviews, we had a decently pleasant stay here.
For our Arizona trip we chose a cheap, easy stay for the first night, it included breakfast which would make the start into the first real travel day simpler, and that is exactly what we got here, and we got in a surprisingly nice way.
Welcomed very friendly at the desk, I was surprised by how spacious and nicely furnished our room was. It was not fancy but I had seen cheap places a lot simpler and, well, cheaper looking, this room was good: big, comfy bed, clean, big writing desk, fridge, microwave, a well working heater, shower showed a bit wear and the shower-head made a squeaky noise when in use but everything was clean. I really liked the lotion etc, provided from San Francisco Soap Company (something I hardly ever say about hotel toiletries).
The breakfast was a bit on the forgettable side but for the outrageously cheap rate we paid for two it is almost inane to expect a big selection. You can make waffles but they didn't even offer tea when we stayed, a few healthy options wouldn't heard but as I said we paid so little even ditching the breakfast will get you a good deal.
You are close to the highway but a bit further from the train. It seems Flagstaff is a bit difficult when it comes to noise level and sleeping in a hotel, this one wasn't quiet yet it could have been worse. But the town itself is very cute, make sure you get to see it and have dinner and a drink in of those great places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Rooms are very nice and at great prices. The guys working the front desk are very helpful, they have great knowledge of whats around and will let you know where are great places to visit to have a good time overall they're good people. Wifi works and maids keep the rooms clean and they are pet friendly... Great place to stay for the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brutus2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is an absolute dump. **Do Not Stay Here** the middle eastern manager (Habib) is an absolute jerk, he needs to have an attitude adjustment. Very poor customer service, very rude. The hotel is old and very run down. The TV and phone did not work, the carpets and bedding were disgustingly filthy. Online, they said the room was a suite. It was only a suite to a homeless person. A card board box is better than this. My children were terrified. Never again will we stay at this place or a howard johnson again. Please do not stay at this dump!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raiderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Albuquerque
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The guy at the front desk told us we were getting one of the newer rooms. The floor was uneven. A horrible smell, I went to Walgreens and bought a can of Febreeze. that made the smell tolerable. The shower was stained at the bottom with what looked like layers of soap scum in he corners. The bathroom door would not latch, and really would not even stay closed. The bed would have been nice, had the box spring not been lopsided. I like howard johnson generally, but feel maybe they should remove their name from this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank James K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nothing worked. Nothing. Not the "free wi-fi and two saunas" advertised on the roadside sign. Not the heat (freezing in winter time). Not the ice maker. Not the tv remote. Not the vending machines. Not the wash machine and dryer. Hot water scalding to the point that children are in real danger. Nasty stain on the rug and veneer peeling from the furniture. Nasty staff robbed us upon leaving. Refused to refund our money. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

(1) You will freeze! The heater in our room wouldn't warm it beyond 62 degrees. (2) Almost everything is broken; the Wifi, the saunas, the ice machine, the washing machine. The vending machines were enpty. None of the buttons on the TV remote worked. (3) Snow removal is haphazard; snow and ice on walkways is a pedestrian hazard; large lumps of ice block both entrances so that only those with 4 wheel drive can proceed without risk. The new management is rude and interested only in your money, not your comfort. I have traveled the world in my 68 years on the planet and this is my worst hotel experience anywhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#25 of 65 in Flagstaff
423 reviews
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
1.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Address: 801 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6262 (Formerly Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Flagstaff
Travel Motel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing