We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. King bed in a good-sized room, although an older building. It had a frig and microwave oven. The free wifi did not work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
I do thank you for your comments and/or suggestions. I have noted the internet issue and will look into the matter to ensure its properly working for our future guests stay. I do apologize regarding the condition of the place as it is an older property however we will be undergoing a renovation here very soon to get the property up to date. I do thank you again for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    90
    57
    74
See reviews for
116
87
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hot tubs do not work and have apparently been out of service for MONTHS (as in AT LEAST July of 2012) but the sign out front still advertises two spas and a sauna (as of October 2012). The Internet is pretty lousy and slow (even worse at night). The breakfast is terrible. I could have overlooked all of this because it is a fairly cheap motel for the Flagstaff area. However, the staff was incredibly rude and inefficient. This place gives Howard Johnson a bad name.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tat2dagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flagstaff hotels

Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here after their recent remodel. Location was easy to get to and close to the Barnes and Noble, where we spend a of time and close to our son at NAU. This location is quiet and parking is easy. We were able to park just outside our room. The rooms were clean and layed out right. They have a great indoor spa and sauna area! Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Okay place to stay. Bathrooms could be updated. Spotted some mildew in shower, but was slight. Probably was a route 66 era hotel. Would probably stay again for the price of about $50 a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUCSON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A real disappointment! This hotel was so old and run down! We chose this hotel because we had 5 people in our party and needed 3 beds and I thought Howard Johnson was a name I could trust. It wasn't worth it. I wish we had just gotten 2 rooms somewhere else. We had been looking forward to using the hot tub but it was not open- seemed to be somewhat permanently out of order. We were suppose to have HBO in the room but didn't- also there was no channel guide for the TV. The free breakfast had a very poor selection and uncomfortable seating- we ended up going for breakfast at the nearby diner. The whole place just felt rundown and sleazy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank JENNA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Flagstaff University West
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Conference Center Nau/downtown
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#24 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
3.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Flagstaff
2.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West
Address: 801 W Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-6262 (Formerly Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Flagstaff
Travel Motel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing