We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed December 24, 2009

A pretty typical motel. The room was very clean, smelled fine, and the front desk people were nice. Breakfast was okay but not great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _aesacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 812 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2009

This hotel is clean and comfortable. The free breakfast is very nice and the hotel offers free wi-fi. It is a basic room, but it is very clean and comfortable. I am extremely pleased for the price paid!! Great value! Conveniently located to Sedona (drive is beautiful), Grand Canyon, and many other area attractions.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank gidgetsemporium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

I paid $86 for two nights. AARP rate again. I did a motorcycle trip from Austin to Sedona, and, tightwad that I am, I'm not paying an arm and a leg for some place to crash. Hey, this Hojo has a hair dryer! That should make the ladies happy, but I know it won't. I got a king bed...a helluva lot softer than the two Motel 6s I stayed in the previous two nights, and the pillows were softer, too. And free breakfast! Yeah, you know what Hojo has...but it's *free*. You want a big breakfast? Go down the street a couple of blocks and eat at Denny's, and pay. It's off-season, too, so there were no stupid noisy tourists (there were still a bunch in Sedona, though). There was a bit of traffic noise, but with the fan going, you don't hear it. Plenty of hot water, too. And free wifi. The housekeeper cleaned my room nicely, and all my stuff was still there. I have no complaints. (Oh...if you find the wifi slow, which I didn't, just leech off the Super 8 next door.)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

The rooms were relatively inexpensive for traveling on a budget. We had no issues with the rooms. The breakfast was fine--your usual free breakfast with pastries, juice, coffee, and self serve waffles. Not a lot of meat, but that's not uncommon for a free breakfast I have found. One of the clerks at the front desk acted as if my coming to get change for the washer/dryer really put him out, but other than that we had a fine stay. We would consider staying here again if in Flagstaff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We've stayed here a couple of times. We like it because it's pet-friendly, there's usually a vacancy, and there's a Denny's a few doors down. The rooms are surprisingly large, which works for us because our two dogs are 100lbs. each. The room surfaces are clean enough, but I wouldn't walk around barefoot. The beds are middling comfortable, a little softer than I prefer (we have a Tempurpedic at home, so anything with springs is an adjustment). If you're traveling with a dog or with dogs and you book online, double-check the pet rate. The website I used when booking the room stated $10 per pet/per night; at check-in, the clerk tried to charge $15. When I protested, he did give me the $10 rate. And to be fair, a sign on the lobby desk lists $15. However, $10 was what I saw advertised, so that's what I wanted.

The wi-fi here is iffy, as it seems to be in most lof the 2- and 3-star places I've stayed. Best bet for getting connected is to get a room nearer the office. If your room is in the back, farthest from the office, you'll probably have trouble getting Internet access.

The motel is on the east side of town, in an industrial/commercial area. It's not ideal if you want to be able to walk to most of what Flag has to offer. That said, Flagstaff is still small in area and it only takes a few minutes to drive to NAU or the downtown area.

(This motel is managed by the same people that manages the Super 8 next door (or was when we stayed there in '08). I don't recommend the Super 8, though. It's dirtier and we experienced problems, including a dead battery for the entry system that required waiting for a locksmith to get back into our room one night.)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momsroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

This location is a good motel for the value.

Clean, adequately-sized rooms. Comfortable beds. Easy access-- IF-- you choose the correct one. DO NOT go off the signs on I-40 west. You'll end up at the other HoJo. After just walking in to the lobby, I wouldn't stay there...

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We were unsure of what to expect when we mistakenly arrived at the 'other' motel also located in the Flagstaff vicinity last night.... What a HAPPY SURPRISE to find this Howard Johnson's quiet, very clean and so much closer to the interstate we used for our daytime side trips and downtown Flagstaff area for meals.
The room is small but a room air conditioner and a functioning stand up fan are within. The king bed mattress is comfortable. Electrical outlets are sparce so consider bringing your own surge protected multi-outlet panel for recharging cells, and using laptops. The bathroom towels are older and we needed to call for more as only one bath towel was provided, but the shower head output is strong and the water is immediately hot with no varience when the toilet is flushed.
All in all, this place is a winner.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
0.4 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#23 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.3 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Address: 2520 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-8505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $62 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing