We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surpise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Canyon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice surpise!”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This motel in Flagstaff was a pleasant surpise. The rooms where nicely decorated and had refrigerators and pillow top matresses. It was clean too. Breakfast had waffles, fruit, donuts and bagles plus more. My only complaint was the desk person when I checked out. He must have been still asleep because he just grunted at me and never smiled.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chintz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    203
    239
    142
    96
See reviews for
335
203
59
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
s f bay area
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Rooms were old; doors were a bit shaky ( but for 1 night) price was right. No complaints. Very old TV. Train & bar were close - noisy. IF you're tired which we were, didn't bother us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefcarla200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2009

For just a little more than $50/night, this was a decent value. On the plus side, the room was clean, towels were large and fluffy (and replaced daily, altho' to me that's a waste of precious water), the continental breakfast was better than some (thanks to the waffle-maker and fresh fruit), there was a computer in the lobby available for free internet use, there was plenty of ice in the ice-maker at all times and lots of convenient parking. On the negative side, the rooms are dated in appearance, the (cheap) blanket had holes, and the nearby train whistle is enough to keep a light sleeper awake. (Note that this is a common problem in Flagstaff. Many of the hotels/motels are near the train tracks.) All things considered, we would probably stay here again at this price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This hotel was in pretty good condition compared to some of the other hotels that I saw around Flagstaff. My husband and I like this room. The beds were pretty comfy and seemed big too. The room smelled really clean when we first walked in, and it was throughout the whole room! The front desk staff was polite, but they had someone working who didn't even know there way around town! When we asked for directions we couldn't get one good answer. This actually led us on a little drive, and we had to finally stop and ask for directions at a gas station! The people in the adjoining room weren't very loud, but we could hear them! That was the really only downfall of this place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Vaca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

The price was terrific, so I was a little worried about the condition of the room, afterall I had booked the room for three nights. WOW, I was shocked! The beds are new and lovely. The room was the cleanest I have ever stayed in. I did not try the continenal breakfast, but it smelled decent. I did not try out the pool, but I saw lots of others using it. This is the place to stay if you want CLEAN, comfortable, reasonably priced and friendly innkeepers. We had neighbors on both sides two out of the three nights and we heard nothing, very quiet! I know you might wonder if this is a true review, but it is really true. I have not done a trip advisor review before, although I use this site every single time I travel. So, believe this Howard Johnson is a keeper!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa az
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

My overall experience was very positive. The staff is excellent , check in and check out a breeze, the room was very clean, and the room amenities are very good; especially the quality of the bed. We much appreciated the fact that there were toiletries, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, microwave, extra sink, coffee pot, desk, dinette, free internet. The quality of the room and the great service are definitely a cut above and at a very reasonable price. Location is very convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

The only disappointment was that the room was not as quite and it could be. We could hear the TV, conversations, and guests from the adjoining rooms. In all fairness this could have been because a high school basketball team was staying there. There is also some road noise and noise from the train. Most unfortunate for such a lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattiangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We didn't expect too much after getting a great deal for the room on expedia. But the front desk staff was polite, the room was clean and spacious including refrig/microwave, and the area was nice with a few restaurants that you could walk to including a cracker barrel. I would stay here again.. Thanks for the comfy night howard johnson!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maf320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen InnSuites Flagstaff / Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
0.1 mi away
Comfort inn Lucky  lane
Comfort inn Lucky lane
#39 of 64 in Flagstaff
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Property: Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Address: 2520 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-8505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing