We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic 2 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy here. About what you'd expect in a 2 star place. A little worn looking and right next to a busy road, but the heat and air works, the bed was fine, and the bathroom was fine. The room felt a bit dark, but with all of the lights on, it was fine. We paid $55 for a night here and the value fit that price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 810 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked this Ho Jo location in Flagstaff due to it getting prior good reviews, boy was this a bad decision. We got to flagstaff at about midnight and the night clerk put us up in room 217 which is right next to a major roadway and train tracks. The room was very old and outdated in dire need of a remodel. Throughout the entire night all we heard was trains rolling down the railroad tracks and cars flying down the roadway next to our room at high rates of speed. Neither my wife or I got any decent sleep the whole night due to the noise. When we got up to take showers one of the towels had a long black hair on it GROSS!! The breakfast is OK with a waffle maker and coffee. I will not be staying is the hotel again and should have asked for a refund.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jackwabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Accommodations were a good value for the money. The room smelled as if it had been a smoking room in the past, otherwise ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have never been a big Howard Johnson patron, and this most recent visit hasn't helped with my view.

Just outside of Flagstaff off the interstate, so location is good for overnight stop. Rooms as fairly basic, but was clean and the bed was decent (score of 5/10 when compared to more upscale hotels) - the view of the mountains out our door was breathtaking, so that was a plus -- rest goes downhill from there...

Front desk staff was rude and non-accomodating in anyway.. We were stuck in Albuquerque in a storm and called about canceling due to weather and staying in Gallup instead. Instead of being remotely reasonable, the front-desk response was -- your check-out is at 11:00am tomorrow, be here by then or we charge you for the night anyways. Add to that, the rude tone and it just didn't start the idea of staying here off well...

We pushed through the storm and arrived at 2:00am in the morning -- got checked in, after having to provide nearly every identifying piece of information short of a blood type, we finally got room keys.

Rooms were basic, but nothing wrong with them, decent beds and bathroom...

Breakfast might of well of been non-existent -- only hot food was make-your-own waffles which the machine was pretty sub-par for that task... Eating area is very small, can only handle 8-10 people at a time, cramped, dirty and lacking any real oversight by staff - beverages were constantly empty... We decided to go down the road and have Denny's instead...

Checkout was simple... Overall, will likely pass on this location in the future -- other nicer establishments in the immediate area (next door even)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFootballDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard johnson ... l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Sorry for your experience with a front desk,management will talk to person who check you inn,and we appologies for that,cancellation policy is strict for all most all hotels in this days,reson we notice many time people taking advantage,if you came for breakfast arround 9 or all most by 9 am,because of breakfast time is all most done some times they do not fill up more. management have inform all employees in that sechutation any one even come little after 9 they have to take it out for the guests,we serve all our breakfast according to frenchise recomendation,because of we are not a 5 star hotel we do not serve here hot breakfast like eggs or beacon,when guest comparing breakfast with other hotels they should compare rate also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Got into Flagstaff around 10pm.Check in with no hassle.Rooms are spacious and bed are comfortable.Rooms had iron , blow drier, fridge , microwave and a Coffee pot:) Staff were real nice. I would stay here next time when I bring my kids to visit the Grand Canyon. Restaurant are walking distance from Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonothipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard johnson ... l, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with Howard Johnson Inn,we appreaciate your review and happy to here that you enjoye your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here in October as a base for Northern Arizona/ Grand Canyon, etc. Northern Arizona is quite beautiful and so much to see. This motel was fine for our stay: the room was clean, quiet, and the wifi worked well. The breakfast the next morning was non-edible though. There is a very tiny area and the breakfast was not worth eating. The good news is that you are just a couple of minutes away from downtown Flagstaff, where there are some truly good places to eat. This motel is also fairly close to the train tracks, but we didnt hear anything. On the morning of checkout, a homeless person approached us and asked for money for a bus ride.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallcodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
0.4 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#23 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
2.3 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Address: 2520 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-8505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $62 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing