We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed October 9, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ALAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 802 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

.
The service was good.
We were given the last room at the end of the hotel where the traffic noise was the loudest.
We had to use ear plugs..
The location was the best but the room location was the worst.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were a bit worried when we realised this motel was close to the main road but it was very quiet and very convenient. The staff were friendly, the room clean and spacious. There was a pool and it had sun loungers with padded seats which was a nice touch. Breakfast was more than enough and it was a very clean breakfast area with lots of room. A choice of toast/cereal/fruit/cake with juice tea or coffee. A good experience and would stay again here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank witcheshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room was okay but the mattress was worn out and in very poor shape and the carpet was badly stained and worn out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 541Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is older. The room is very large. It has a nice desk area, microfridge, analog tv with 60+ channels. With the HVAC system on, we did not hear any traffic.

Breakfast was good. Waffles, toast, pastries, coffee, juice. It did not have oatmeal. There are resturants and a Walmart nearby.

The did have a USA today.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georden7 W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My Mother and I drove from Colorado to California and we stopped here for 2 nights to make a quick stop at the Grand Canyon. It was perfect for what we had in mind! We had a double queen room so each of us had their own bed, we enjoyed the heated pool at night before going to bed and it was easy getting arround to the Grand Canyon. Should I ever do this trip again this will be the place for me to stay!

Room Tip: Only 1 hour drive to Grand Canyon
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn00py85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nine hours of driving from Los Angeles via Route 66 gave this reviewer plenty of time to worry about my first ‘HoJo’ experience. How wrong I was. First impression of the room was extremely favorable. Impressive even. Remember one tends to manage expectations when it comes down to low end hotel chains and the stereotypes they can throw up. Do so here, but I actually found mine exceeded. Usual format for my reviews: room itself, the good, the bad, the conclusion. If in the area again, I would be back. And, with one caveat, would urge others to consider it.

The room? Basic. Clean. Generic. For this price point, manage expectations down. It is a HoJo after all. Bed was comfortable, fridge was empty and of a good size. The room had a microwave in it together with in room safe and iron. Useful. Wifi was free with no password required and worked at good speeds. Ample parking available. Towels were on the rough side, though not approaching sand paper. The TV was not bolted down to the stand which I took to be a good sign. Floor was free from marks. Room A/C old school but efficient.. A lot of tourist literature, snack machines available 24/7. Breakfast is normally included though healthy options were limited. It is c70 miles south of the Grand Canyon. There is an Albertsons / Starbucks 5 minutes drive up the road.

The good?
1. Good size fridge, microwave and free wifi for an extremely competitive price point. Wifi is a pet peeve of this reviewer and this hotel offers decent, albeit basic, facilities.
2. Price point: This reviewer has stayed at several lower end hotels and this one left a very favorable impression given what the rack rate is. Book on the hotel website as it had the best deal(s). Given the purpose of the trip was to photograph northern Arizona, and I had a car, it proved an excellent base.

The bad?
1. Location. Other reviews claim to be able to hear I 40 noise. It is audible, yes, but not overly so in this reviewers opinion. The issue is truck’s use their air brakes when exiting the 1 40. Tip to get around this is ask for ‘middle’ of the hotel, not either end: one end has said I 40 whilst the other has train tracks seem to move freight goods towards Los Angeles 24/7. To be fair, that is not the hotel’s fault. It is also worth noting that several other budget(ish) hotels (Super 8, a Holiday Inn, Motel 6 among others) are all congregated in the area (Exit 198) so they have the same will all have the problem. Here is the caveat I mentioned. Ring ahead and request a room in the ‘middle’ and this problem is somewhat negated.
2. Linked into the above, which the hotel cannot control, it is worth noting ‘downtown’ Flagstaff is a 7~10 minute drive away. It would take 20~30 minutes to walk. Amtrak station is in the middle of Flagstaff and is too far to walk too in this reviewers opinion.
3. Other reviews have mentioned front office staff that, to be kind, are a bit hit and miss. This reviewer concurs: two hits and one miss for me. Check in was gruff, check out was nice. Still. It’s the room I care about not a harried front desk. .

Conclusion? This reviewer would return. Its location is not something that it can help and let’s face it, most people who come to Flagstaff – in itself a delightful little town – have a car. For the price point, outstanding for a short stay. 140 mile round trip to the Canyon is an hour each way, but manageable. Lots of options a mere 10 minutes away in downtown Flagstaff mean this hotel demands a second look.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the MIDDLE of the hotel.. Doesn't matter whether that would be up or down stai...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyes_Wide_Open01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
0.4 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#22 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lucky Lane
Comfort Inn Lucky Lane
#38 of 65 in Flagstaff
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Address: 2520 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-8505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range: $63 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing