We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bang for your buck!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great bang for your buck!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights on our recent trip to Arizona. This is a no frills motel that offers large, clean rooms and all the bare essentials. We had a king room that was very clean and comfortable. The outside of the motel looks a little dated and might look questionable to some people, but we're really glad we stayed here, especially for the price! The motel has outdoor room entrances, which might make some people nervous, but the motel seems to be in a good part of town. Lucky Lane is just a road of motels, a Cracker Barrel, and a Wal-Mart. We slept very well here after our long days exploring the area. Highly recommended for anyone visiting the Flagstaff area, as the motel has large, clean, cheap rooms that provide the perfect base camp for exploring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevermore52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    210
    247
    148
    99
See reviews for
351
207
63
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in September 2011.
We found the accomodation very clean and equipped with all the amenities you would need, fridge, microwave, coffee maker etc. Overall we would thoroughly reccomend this as a budget accomodation stay in Flagstaff, Arizona.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_somerset_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

These is the least expensive hotel I have ever stayed in. If you are looking for a value for a one night stay this is it. Sure I could pay $100 more for maybe softer towels, but this hotel made me happy to save my money. Slept well on comfy bed and even had good oj and waffle for free in the morning. If your priority is saving money, this is a solid choice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyacinthcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2011

There are fancier motels in Flag, and a few slightly cheaper ones too, but I can't imagine there's a better value for the money. I got a notably clean, pleasant, quiet, secure-feeling basic room for $36 a night (AAA rate) even booking on very short notice. Microwave, fridge, in-room coffee, free Wi-Fi, frequent flyer points on Southwest, and a nice big tub with plenty of hot water on tap: what's not to like. Normally Flag is just a gas stop on the way for me, but sometimes for one reason or other I have to stay there, and next time I will certainly try this place first.

--Joe

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AdAbsurdumPerAspera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is my go-to place in Flagstaff. I have always been able to get a great rate at this hotel, and rooms have been consistently very clean and comfortable. This place is very convenient to I-40 and old Route 66, and it's easy to get to downtown Flagstaff. We were traveling with a dog this time, and although there's an additional $15 fee for pets, this place was still the best option for the money by far.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesocyclone2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I struggle with this review because this was probably one of the cleanest rooms we've stayed in, that demonstrated the utmost pride in housekeeping. Truly refreshing to see such care in room condition.

However, our phone in the room was not working. I see that as a security hazard. Sure, we are in the age of cell phones, but when I tried to contact the room from off-property, the phone kept ringing. I was extremely concerned and returned immediately. Turns out the phone cord was busted. The front desk's solution to this problem was to switch rooms at night in below-freezing weather with two small children. Not an option. Land-line phones are still important as cell service may be spotty or non-existent.

Otherwise, heard zero train noise and zero interstate noise. Beds were comfy, and the fridge and microwave were great. (except for the jerry-rigged fridge base!)

Wish there was more of a problem-solving attitude here!

Room Tip: LOTS of other options in Flagstaff ~ stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertDweller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Pros

Cheap clean greAt soft beds good wifi, no bedbugs i checked

Cons

Dated, seeing its age

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Flagstaff I-40 Ex 198 Lucky Lane
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn - Flagstaff / East Lucky Lane
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#22 of 65 in Flagstaff
1,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites - Flagstaff
2.3 mi away
Super 8 NAU Downtown Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane

Property: Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane
Address: 2520 E Lucky Ln, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-8505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 65 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 East Lucky Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Flagstaff i-40 Exit 198 e. Lucky Lane Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing