We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
868 results
Traveler rating
95
230
269
164
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
230
269
164
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleangrand canyonbagelsfridge and microwavewalmartnau
Filter
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 868 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2011

If you can get a good price at this hotel it is worth it. The rooms are worn but clean and a good size. Maid service and WI-FI were good. Breakfast room is really small and there isn't too much of a selection but there is a cracker barrel next door if you need a big breakfast. Location is close enough for day trips to Sedona and the Grand Canyon and convienient to I-40.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpbpete78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Basically, the title of the review says it all. We paid $25 plus tax for a double that was reasonably clean and had a free basic breakfast. As we were at this motel for a total of 9 hours, we didn't want to shell out the big bucks for a 4 star hotel when we could do that down in Sedona on our way back to Tucson from the GC. By the way, flights were $80 bucks cheaper to Tucson than they were to Phoenix for us in the month of January.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurel7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We liked this hotel and would definitely stay there again. We took a week long road trip to Arizona on a budget during the winter time off season, and decided to stay in Flagstaff because of its central location to the Grand Canyon and Sedona. The Howard Johnson was only $30 a night for a King non-smoking room. Our room was very spacious, even with the extra furniture. We not only had your typical chair and table, but also a full desk, and it was nice to have the extra counter space. Plus FREE WIFI. There was a microwave/refrigerator unit in the room, which came in handy storing leftovers (those restarurants in Arizona give huge portions). It was very clean - so clean in fact that I felt comfortable taking a bath in the tub. The continental breakfast in the morning was fine, and included a waffle maker. The breakfast room was very small, though, so you would be better off bringing your food up to your room. Very good value. I would have paid up to $45 a night here and not have felt ripped off. The location of the hotel is not near much of anything, except a string of other budget motels and a gas station, but you can get to Downtown very easily if you have a car.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank treehugger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We used this hotel as a base for few days, and as a budget hotel is served it's purpose fine. The complimentary breakfast wasn't upto much, but there is Denny's and other options a short walk/drive away. You are close to the Main H/way, but we were at the opposite end of the motel and it didn't bother us at all. The safe didn't work in our room, so we chose to leave the DND sign all through our stay, as it was 3 nights only this wasn't an issue and fresh towels & toilettries were freely available from the front desk.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trailblazer_uk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights, as we intended visiting the Grand Canyon, Monument Valley National Park and the Navajo National Monument, which is close to Monument Valley.
The Hotel is just off the highway, we had a room on the second floor which was large, clean, quiet and very reasonably priced. The Continental Breakfast which was served in the Reception area was more than adequate.
If you are visiting the Grand Canyon, we would recommend that you leave Flagstaff on Highway 89/Route66 and turn off onto Highway 64 and enter the Park at the East Entrance. Your first view on the Canyon will be at Desert View (which does not get as crowded as Grand Canyon Village), it is one of the few viewpoints where you can see all the way to the bottom of the Canyon and see the Colorado River, the Watchtower is well worth a visit, you can then drive along the rim to the village and stop at as many viewing points as you have time for.
We found the village end very crowded and there was a good deal of it closed off for alterations and construction projects.
You can the leave the Canyon on Highway 64 and return to Flagstaff on Route 1-40.
We decided to drive from Flagstaff to Monument Valley and back in a day, which is a trip of over 300 miles. It is very do-able and well worth the effort, Monument Valley is amazing, there is a dirt track around the park which is rough in places but can be driven in any car, the local Indians do trips in old pickups if you don't want to risk your car.
We stopped at the Navajo National Monument on the way to Monument valley, it is well worth a visit, we met the local Navajo Indians who were weaving, painting and making pottery, we also walked at short trail to the Betatakin Overlook, where you can view the hugh alcove which enclosed the ancient housing settlement.
We would recommend this Hotel for a comfortable, good value stay in Flagstaff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank di947red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews